We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, amazing staff”
Review of La Raza

La Raza
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 28/09
20:00
Ranked #145 of 624 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A basement cocktail bar nestled in the historical center of Cambridge. Specialists in original cocktail creations, fine wine and local craft beer; set to a soundtrack of funk disco, and served with optional Spanish tapas.
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

After visiting here for food and drinks with the girls and getting excellent service where we were made surpirse cocktails when we couldn't decide what we wanted, we decided to return for a night out. While dancing, I was inappropriately grabbed by a male on the dance floor. We reported this at the bar and I was asked to point out the person to security. We were then taken behind the bar out of view while they were escorted off the premesis and informed by staff when they had left so we could continue with our night. Cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

What a fun evening!

We came (as a group of four) for a drink and tapas in the basement, early on a Thursday evening, and then left at midnight. Turned out it was a live music night (impressive bluesy rock from the Dead Geoffreys - not dead, not called Geoffrey but a welcome return to performing, after lockdown), and somehow a rather small space turned into an impromptu dance floor, full of people enjoying themselves. Some of them old enough to know better. A great atmosphere.

A good selection of cocktails, beers and other drinks, the tapas menu choice smallish but well balanced, and the service friendly. The paella (“for two”) was enough for the four of us, with a tapas portion each (and a spare tapas for luck).

That all points towards a score of five out of five. But it didn’t merit more than four, because the quality of the food was a bit iffy. Some tapas better than others. The paella looked the part and had good ingredients, but the rice was seriously undercooked, spoiling the effect. The chef really needs to up his or her game.

So - almost brilliant. We’d certainly come back, and keep our fingers crossed that the chef isn’t having a bad day.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Ancientmariner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 August 2021

Me and my partener we had a table downstairs and we had ordered starter olives and prawns, main paella and a white wine bottle. We arrived at 13:10 and left în 40 min.
There were not busy at all, 4 tables outside with 8 people and downstairs max 10 people including us.
20 min after we ordered, I ask one of the waiters what is happening with our food and confirmed that will come soon, after another 10 min I went at the bar and ask the staff as there no waiters to be seen, to check our table,not even the olives were served.
Finally we gave up and choose to leave, 40 min without any food.
I ask the assistent manager why the food has not been served, her answer was that they had a big party table. Honestly there were 5 girls only drinking and they didn't have any food on the table. Very disapointed with her answer. She didn't bothered to check our table , if the waiters were busy, the assistent manager preffered to check outside rather than check with the waiters if customers were happy.
The manager also was outside and had a look inside, but even him did not bother to check with the waiters.
So, 2 girls in the bar, 2 waiters, 1 assistent manager, 1 manager, could not manage to offer their hospitality.
The white wine was quite warm and was served in a bucket without any ice, we had to request from the bar.
The assistant manager discounted our wine to £15, but still we were hungry and looking forward to eat paella.
Terrible service.
I will not recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank DDaniela01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2021

My Fiancé and I just came out of the restaurant and we’re so dissatisfied and disappointed.

Let me tell you why:
We went for a nice date night advertised as an authentic Spanish tapas with live music….
Well we got there and it is basically just an underground club, very bright lights with tables at your knees (we had to eat off our laps!!!)
The food took 50 minutes to come out and this was just olives, bread and a paella. All of which were sub standard and clearly microwaved.
Staff were non attentive, naive, and when we asked for the bill the waiter replied “do you want to split it?”….how potentially embarrassing for someone.

Anyway atmosphere was shocking and I would not recommend to anyone.
Also a lot of flies in the restaurant and toilets.
I do not believe the other reviews on here are genuine.
Avoid at all costs.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank N522RHemmaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2021 via mobile

Great tapas, lots of gluten free options, excellent service (the waitress went to M&S to get me some gluten free bread! )
The food was tasty, the portions good and great value for money. Highly recommend.
We went at 5pm and it was a lovely atmosphere.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank michellejR8254PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed La Raza also viewed

Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to La Raza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.