We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Beautiful Brookside!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brookside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brookside Hotel
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Beautiful Brookside!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

My boyfriend took me for my 21st birthday present to the Brookside Hotel and it was fantastic. We stayed in a small double room, and it was so cosy. The room was very very clean, had champagne on ice when we arrived! (that was an extra obviously) It's close to the city and the staff couldn't have been any nicer. The receptionist (Katrina i think?) was so helpful, as was Richard, and a fellow who helped us with booking tickets and bus times behind the reception (man with glasses?) The breakfast was very tasty, but unfortunately we didn't try the restaurant at night, which we would certainly do on our next trip. The hotel honestly made our trip and we couldn't ask for anymore. Definitely going back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    134
    59
    17
    7
See reviews for
61
196
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We spent two nights in Chester and were welcomed warmly at Brookside. The room was quiet and we had a very good sleep. Breakfast was plentiful and kept us going for a large part of the day. We would come back here, when visiting Chester again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpinyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

I had booked for my one nights stay in Chester and so when I found that the conveniently located Premier Inn was full I was directed to Brookside.
A very warm welcome on arrival and a very nice room.
I ate in their restaurant and the food was simple and good, with friendly service.
My room had a newly fitted bathroom which was very nice.
Free WiFi too.
The only negative was the breakfast, apparently locally sourced produce (from the local Supermarket cheap isle is my guess)
This did not spoil my stay and I would visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrnick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lichfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

stayed at this hotel 16-19th oct.staff very friendly on arrival,updated my room at no extra cost.room very clean.this is a gem of a hotel,2 star but could pass for a 5 star hotel.if you need a hotel in chester look no further,only a ten minute walk into town,fifteen minute walk to train station,the staff gave us directions to both places.the food was very good,the curry was out of this world.good bar prices.the hotel cat brookie shows up at night.will go back again,a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staffsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Arrived to a friendly welcome, and shown to the room down some narrow stairs. We must have got the family room as it was a little cramped with so many beds. It was clean but could do with a lick of paint and the carpet was worn. The shower was a little dishevelled, and the bathroom needs a paint and modernization. Overall the experience wasn't unpleasant but as a 2 star it's probably the best in it's class.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stus84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
1.2 km away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#16 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.9 km away
Bawn Lodge
Bawn Lodge
#19 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.0 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
0.9 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
11.3 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Hotel

Property: Brookside Hotel
Address: Brook Lane, Chester CH2 2AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chester
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price range (per night): $143 - $256
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookside HotelDiscover Chester’s Hidden GemWhere Excellence In Service Meets Traditional Style With Modern Day Comforts.An independent family owned 3 *** Hotel which offers free on site car parking and Wi-Fi. Situated in a quiet location and just a short walk from the city centre the Brookside Hotel makes for an ideal retreat. Its cosy bar & lounges offer a selection of wines & spirits draft beer, afternoon tea & lite bites. In our restaurant the dinner menu boasts traditional and continental dishes with full English breakfast the following morning included in all tariffs.All rooms are individually styled & have flat screen freeviev TV, digital radio & hair dryer, beverage tray & room service. Each has its own bathroom with complimentary toiletries and fresh towels daily or upon request.The Hotel has 24hr access & with customer care at the very heart of who we are we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Brookside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Chester, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing