We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Inn Chester
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 4 November 2017

This hotel is definitely of it's era, but the most has been made of the period features and our room was clean, tidy and comfortable, with modern furnishings.
Breakfast was fab - great choice, and staff were helpful.
10 - 15 minutes walk from the city centre, so good location for exploring all that Chester has to offer.
I booked through Groupon and the stay was excellent value.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a large bay window and raised sitting area in the bay, inside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LB1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2017

Terrible Hotel. The room was filthy, the bin was full from the previous guests. The sheets had hairs from i'm guessing the previous guest. Bathroom was dirty with a stained bath mat and a dust filled broken extractor fan. The thread bare carpet was matched by the thread bare dirty furniture. Spot lights which should have been fitted to the ceiling were bizarrely fitted to the wall, that was a first. Then in the morning breakfast, o dear. At first it was a struggle to find a clean plate and cutlery. The cups were dirty and the coffee was bloody awful. As for the food, as long as you like everything cremated you will love this place. It's safe to say that this is an experience I will never repeat.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Great location opposite the train station. We booked an economy double which was really a single with double bed! Opened the bathroom door and nearly knocked over by the smell of mould covering the ceiling. Straight down to reception given an alternative without any fuss. This was in the attic but nevertheless much better. The skylight however was filthy and had gaps down both sides. The approach to the room once again was showing signs of damp and mildew. The breakfast was the highlight of our visit, the hotel does have a restaurant but isn't used they don't serve food other than breakfast. Neither does the bar serve beer on draught even though it has pumps! Would I go back there? What do you think!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Bit difficult to give a review as we booked on a Groupon deal. Room was spacious but in need of a little talc. Shower was fantastic. Only stayed one night so as far as we noticed everything was there. Location bang on only a short stroll from the city centre and even shorter to the rail station. Breakfast....perfectaly adequate, we were quite late in dining and the ingredients where pre cooked and kept warm on hot plates but even so they were not your cheap ingredients that a lot of places try and make money on.

Overall a pleasant stay. The only reason for a 3 is just a little tatty decor. In our case well worth the price paid.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tom1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

The bed was make shift two different sizes but together sheet to hold them together then two quilts then another sheet to hold them together a quilt cover with two quilts in it making a large ridge down the middle not good,bathroom small with broken toilet holder. Not worth the money we paid the only good thing was the breakfast

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cimber2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
2.5 km away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Chester South
0.8 km away
Travelodge Chester Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Inn Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn Chester

Address: 63 City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: $69 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Inn Chester is a great value stay in a fabulous position within the historic city of Chester, located two-minutes walk from the train station. The hotel offers a range of comfortable bedrooms and excellent customer service. This Green Tourism Gold Award winning hotel is the perfect venue for coach trips, conferences and meetings. Pay and display parking really close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hallmark Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Inn Chester England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing