We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (761)
Filter reviews
761 results
Traveller rating
137
199
155
138
132
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
199
155
138
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationtown criercity roadbreakfast was buffet stylestayed here for one nightwould stay againbreakfast was excellenttea and coffeecomfy bedshort breakpubzoo
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 761 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Just had a great weekend in Chester. We arrived Sunday at the Hallmark Inn (The Westminster) on City road, Chester. The location to the train station is fantastic, it's just across the road.
We arrived about 11am and as check in wasn't till 3pm we registered and left our bags with reception who were very welcoming and helpful.
The building is extremely old and even historical which is typical of Chester and makes you feel like you have stepped back in time. On our return to the hotel at around 5pm, our bags had already been placed in our room so we just walked into the lift and that was it. Our room was clean and spacious with three full single beds for us three ladies, lovely clean linen and nice and warm and cozy. We had tea and coffees and watched a Christmas movie on the large TV. The bathroom was massive, could have done with some new nett curtains as they were rather grubby and old but that was our only gripe.
We ate across the road at the sister Hotel, The Queens.
The breakfast was great in a lovely grand old dining room and service was perfect. On check out we left our bags once again with reception so that we could enjoy a second days shopping then collected them at 4pm before catching our train home.
I will definitely be booking again for our annual shopping trip next year.

Room Tip: Just the grubby curtains in the bathroom and don't expect great views as it's a city hotel near the station but otherwise, great spacious rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _jogreen91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us here at The Hallmark Inn Chester.

I am pleased to hear that yourself and your two friends enjoyed your time with us and your time in Chester.

It is nice to read that your party felt ‘nice and warm and cozy’ as this is something that we pride ourselves on by giving our guests the feeling of been home from home during your time with us.

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel is shocking. The rooms are not great. Carpet all marked and stained and the nets at the window ripped. Room was far too hot and the heating was not even on in the room. Very expensive for what you get. Would definitely never use again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rhiannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us here at The Hallmark Inn Chester.

We appreciate all feedback from our customers.

We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we send our apologies to you for this.

Every day we try to better ourselves and what we offer both to guests personally and what we provide in our rooms and in all public areas, we are currently looking at ways to improve all aspects of this.

We always try to match our customer expectations and again we apologise that we did not do this with yourself.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

This hotel is located close to Chester Railway Station and is a 10 minute walk to the city centre. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast is excellent. Internal decoration is a little tired but the room was clean and tidy.
There is limited parking in a public car park next to the hotel on a first come first served basis.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angeladawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us here at The Hallmark Inn Chester.

We pride ourselves on our customer service skills and appreciate the positive feedback.

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Managed to book this hotel at a very reasonable price and we were pleasantly surprised as we had no great expectations. We were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist who stored our luggage as we arrived early , we returned to the hotel later in the afternoon to collect our room key. The room itself was small but adequate and clean as was the bathroom. We returned later in the evening and went to the bar for a nightcap , unfortunately the very apologetic barman was unable to provide any beer and only had a small selection of spirits quite poor for a large hotel. The breakfast however was very good, and coffee was replenished on request. Overall a nice stay and I would use the hotel again for weekend visit

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank micksaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us here at The Hallmark Inn Chester.

We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your anniversary weekend with us.

All feedback received from our guests is noted and goes towards bettering our staff and hotels and we are constantly looking at ways to improve.

Our bar is an area that will be reviewed in the coming months and we are sorry that we could not offer you what you had originally requested, alternatively we do provide a full bar service at our sister hotel The Queen which is just a short work over the road from ourselves.

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Room was spotless we booked a double room and were upgraded without asking staff were curtiosy and very helpful I would recommend to anyone to stay here and will be staying here again myself in future well worth every penny we spent

Room Tip: Couldn't complain about anything it was a great stay
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonyah5541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us here at The Hallmark Inn Chester.

We appreciate your positive feedback.

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews