We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Inn Chester
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Hallmark Inn is excellent accommodation. Extremely near to station, really good value for money, comfortable bed, helpful staff and lovely breakfast. It really wouldn't be possible to ask for better!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TerryJOakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us here at The Hallmark Inn Chester.

We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just had a great weekend in Chester. We arrived Sunday at the Hallmark Inn (The Westminster) on City road, Chester. The location to the train station is fantastic, it's just across the road.
We arrived about 11am and as check in wasn't till 3pm we registered and left our bags with reception who were very welcoming and helpful.
The building is extremely old and even historical which is typical of Chester and makes you feel like you have stepped back in time. On our return to the hotel at around 5pm, our bags had already been placed in our room so we just walked into the lift and that was it. Our room was clean and spacious with three full single beds for us three ladies, lovely clean linen and nice and warm and cozy. We had tea and coffees and watched a Christmas movie on the large TV. The bathroom was massive, could have done with some new nett curtains as they were rather grubby and old but that was our only gripe.
We ate across the road at the sister Hotel, The Queens.
The breakfast was great in a lovely grand old dining room and service was perfect. On check out we left our bags once again with reception so that we could enjoy a second days shopping then collected them at 4pm before catching our train home.
I will definitely be booking again for our annual shopping trip next year.

Room Tip: Just the grubby curtains in the bathroom and don't expect great views as it's a city hotel n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _jogreen91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us here at The Hallmark Inn Chester.

I am pleased to hear that yourself and your two friends enjoyed your time with us and your time in Chester.

It is nice to read that your party felt ‘nice and warm and cozy’ as this is something that we pride ourselves on by giving our guests the feeling of been home from home during your time with us.

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is shocking. The rooms are not great. Carpet all marked and stained and the nets at the window ripped. Room was far too hot and the heating was not even on in the room. Very expensive for what you get. Would definitely never use again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rhiannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us here at The Hallmark Inn Chester.

We appreciate all feedback from our customers.

We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we send our apologies to you for this.

Every day we try to better ourselves and what we offer both to guests personally and what we provide in our rooms and in all public areas, we are currently looking at ways to improve all aspects of this.

We always try to match our customer expectations and again we apologise that we did not do this with yourself.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This hotel is located close to Chester Railway Station and is a 10 minute walk to the city centre. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast is excellent. Internal decoration is a little tired but the room was clean and tidy.
There is limited parking in a public car park next to the hotel on a first come first served basis.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angeladawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us here at The Hallmark Inn Chester.

We pride ourselves on our customer service skills and appreciate the positive feedback.

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Managed to book this hotel at a very reasonable price and we were pleasantly surprised as we had no great expectations. We were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist who stored our luggage as we arrived early , we returned to the hotel later in the afternoon to collect our room key. The room itself was small but adequate and clean as was the bathroom. We returned later in the evening and went to the bar for a nightcap , unfortunately the very apologetic barman was unable to provide any beer and only had a small selection of spirits quite poor for a large hotel. The breakfast however was very good, and coffee was replenished on request. Overall a nice stay and I would use the hotel again for weekend visit

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mick saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us here at The Hallmark Inn Chester.

We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your anniversary weekend with us.

All feedback received from our guests is noted and goes towards bettering our staff and hotels and we are constantly looking at ways to improve.

Our bar is an area that will be reviewed in the coming months and we are sorry that we could not offer you what you had originally requested, alternatively we do provide a full bar service at our sister hotel The Queen which is just a short work over the road from ourselves.

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
2.5 km away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Chester South
0.8 km away
Travelodge Chester Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Inn Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn Chester

Address: 63 City Road, Chester CH1 3AF, England (Formerly Best Western Hallmark Hotel Chester Westminster)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: $69 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Inn Chester is a great value stay in a fabulous position within the historic city of Chester, located two-minutes walk from the train station. The hotel offers a range of comfortable bedrooms and excellent customer service. This Green Tourism Gold Award winning hotel is the perfect venue for coach trips, conferences and meetings. Pay and display parking really close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hallmark Inn Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chester
Chester Best Western
Hallmark Inn Chester England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing