We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$115
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$158
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Oddfellows(Chester)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$183
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$246
US$222
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$126
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Horse Inn(Chester)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (719)
Filter reviews
719 results
Traveller rating
132
192
149
133
113
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
192
149
133
113
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationwestminster hoteltown criercity centrebreakfast was buffet stylestayed here for one nightvery pleasant staybreakfast was excellenttea and coffeebars and restaurantscomfy bedtwo night stayshort breakvisiting chesterpubzoo
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 719 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at The Hallmark Inn. Reception were lovely and gave plenty of information. Although there is no free parking with the hotel, you can park outside on a Sunday evening until 9am Monday morning. The room was old fashioned but perfectly lovely and clean. The breakfast was a buffet style cooked breakfast/pastries/cereal/fruit accompanied by a friendly and helpful waitress. 2 minute walk to the train station and a 10 minute walk to the centre. Would definitely stay again :)

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us here at The Hallmark Inn Chester.

I am pleased to hear that you found our staff to be helpful and accommodating during your time with us.

We take pride in our customer service skills and ensure the customer always comes first.

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

The Hallmark Inn is excellent accommodation. Extremely near to station, really good value for money, comfortable bed, helpful staff and lovely breakfast. It really wouldn't be possible to ask for better!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TerryJOakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us here at The Hallmark Inn Chester.

We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Just had a great weekend in Chester. We arrived Sunday at the Hallmark Inn (The Westminster) on City road, Chester. The location to the train station is fantastic, it's just across the road.
We arrived about 11am and as check in wasn't till 3pm we registered and left our bags with reception who were very welcoming and helpful.
The building is extremely old and even historical which is typical of Chester and makes you feel like you have stepped back in time. On our return to the hotel at around 5pm, our bags had already been placed in our room so we just walked into the lift and that was it. Our room was clean and spacious with three full single beds for us three ladies, lovely clean linen and nice and warm and cozy. We had tea and coffees and watched a Christmas movie on the large TV. The bathroom was massive, could have done with some new nett curtains as they were rather grubby and old but that was our only gripe.
We ate across the road at the sister Hotel, The Queens.
The breakfast was great in a lovely grand old dining room and service was perfect. On check out we left our bags once again with reception so that we could enjoy a second days shopping then collected them at 4pm before catching our train home.
I will definitely be booking again for our annual shopping trip next year.

Room Tip: Just the grubby curtains in the bathroom and don't expect great views as it's a city hotel near the station but otherwise, great spacious rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _jogreen91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us here at The Hallmark Inn Chester.

I am pleased to hear that yourself and your two friends enjoyed your time with us and your time in Chester.

It is nice to read that your party felt ‘nice and warm and cozy’ as this is something that we pride ourselves on by giving our guests the feeling of been home from home during your time with us.

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel is shocking. The rooms are not great. Carpet all marked and stained and the nets at the window ripped. Room was far too hot and the heating was not even on in the room. Very expensive for what you get. Would definitely never use again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rhiannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us here at The Hallmark Inn Chester.

We appreciate all feedback from our customers.

We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us and we send our apologies to you for this.

Every day we try to better ourselves and what we offer both to guests personally and what we provide in our rooms and in all public areas, we are currently looking at ways to improve all aspects of this.

We always try to match our customer expectations and again we apologise that we did not do this with yourself.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

This hotel is located close to Chester Railway Station and is a 10 minute walk to the city centre. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast is excellent. Internal decoration is a little tired but the room was clean and tidy.
There is limited parking in a public car park next to the hotel on a first come first served basis.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angeladawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Hallmark Inn Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us here at The Hallmark Inn Chester.

We pride ourselves on our customer service skills and appreciate the positive feedback.

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews