We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$177
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$222
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budock Vean Hotel(Mawnan Smith)
US$278
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
The Sandy Duck(Falmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay View B&B(Falmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,300)
Filter reviews
1,300 results
Traveller rating
544
422
192
100
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
544
422
192
100
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrichardson hotelsgrand old hotelsea viewcastle beachlounge baron arrivalbar menua bit tiredpendennis castlelovely hotelsea frontcream tealeisure facilitieslarge roomfollowing morningsconespublic areas
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,300 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Met by a rude receptionist who loudly announced "oh your a supersaver" after paying £378 for two nights through Thomas Cook. The same Girl then sketchily gave directions to the room without asking if help was required.
The room temperature was unbearable as the window only opened 2" so they sent up an old fan, on leaving we discovered if you sign a disclaimer they will actually open the window for you. Good to know in 28 degree heat! Hotel is very tired and needs a good freshen up.
Breakfast was dried out and not very hot from the buffet and we were only offered food from the special menu once halfway through, no one explained how breakfast was served even though the dining room was not very busy. Nobody asked how was breakfast, I think they probably knew the answer.

Room Tip: Ask about the windows!
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fox573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne-Marie H, Public Relations Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are saddened to hear that we did not live up to expectations and the content of your review will be shared with the hotel Management team for corrective actions on the points of concern raised. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our second visit so hubby decided to have a bigger and better room to celebrate my birthday be warned wedding season upon us so the two nights we stayed Friday and Saturday both had weddings n hotel Friday night not too bad sounded like only a disco Saturday night had live music and fireworks so loud, we had an apartment on 1st floor and the whole room was shaking with the beat of the music below ,we returned from a super meal down road at neighbouring hotel ,one we had stayed at before ,at about 9:30 ready to relax and have a drink but unfortunately this was spoilt for us by the music which continued till about 11.45 ,would have been nice to have been warned about the noise level as may have booked elsewhere

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 432Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne-Marie H, Public Relations Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I have passed your feedback to the general manager so we can use it constructivley to improve our offerings. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Stayed for 4 nights in June with my mom. Location was good about a 10min walk into town. The hotel could really do with a makeover, quite dated. We had dinner at the hotel twice (part of the offer I booked) food was OK and wasn't too badly priced. The bar area at night wasn't too busy but you had the views overlooking the sea. its a shame there isn't any entertainment in the hotel. Breakfast was nice and if you wanted something else other than the usual fry up / cereals there was also the option to select something from an additional menu. Also if you wanted poached egg or gluten free bread you only had to ask. The only thing I would say is there should be more cheese and hams available instead of having to ask.
Lots of attractions within driving distance so a great place to base yourself. Mevagissey is a must a quaint fishing village as well as the Minack Theatre with its spectacular views. Likewise lizard point and Kynance cove are also worth a trip.
Bedrooms where clean but again could do with sprucing up, I paid for a sea view so it was just nice to sit in the room watching the boats before getting ready for the evening. The beach is rocky with shingle sand. Overall an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Paid for sea view room and had upgrade to a superior room
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank helsx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver S, Guest Relations Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear helsx2 Thank you for your review we are glad that you had a lovely stay. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Decided to stay at this hotel as was attending an event here. Beautiful looking hotel, amazing views and the beach just over the road. Car parking could be a problem but free parking on the road opposite. We had a twin room with plenty of storage no air con but happily left the window open. We used the swimming pool and jaccuzi they had a great little gym. Breakfast was delightful with cooked and continental we were lucky to get a table by the window as great view.
Staff were very helpful and attentive especially the lovely Irish lady on reception who we kept asking to take photos of us .
Happily return again as enjoyed the stay only didnt give 5 stars due to the hotel needing a bit of tlc but it still does what its suppose to do xx

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Travellingalone40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver S, Guest Relations Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thank you for leaving us a review, we truly value your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will happily share your comments with the team. We hope to welcome you to stay with us again

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

First visit to Cornwall and girls holiday. Initially very underwhelmed by Hotel once very grand but was in twin as yet not refurbished room very compact with no air con and an out of action lift for duration of week which was not an issue for us but others may have struggled. But enough of the negatives the hotel has a wonderful position welcoming lounge, bar and dining room, great breakfasts but the biggest asset is the staff up beat and very welcoming and at times due to the issues of hotel working in difficult circumstances so big thanks to staff. So if you don't really mind a bit tired around the edges but like good service and food its worth a go.

Room Tip: Views & staff great but no a/c
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank tripadvice247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver S, Guest Relations Manager at The Falmouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Thank you for leaving us a review, we truly value your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will happily share your comments with the team. We hope to welcome you to stay with us again

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews