We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Birthday Treat!”
Review of One Fish Street

One Fish Street
Ranked #6 of 138 Restaurants in St Ives
Price range: US$28 - US$55
Description: We are an Intimate Fish Restaurant offering a Tasting Menu that enables us to adapt the experience based on what fish is landed on a daily basis. It also allows us to bring you the finest ingredients at an affordable price. We take inspiration from artisan growers & producers across the United Kingdom, providing us the opportunity to create fresh delicious dishes for your enjoyment. We pair these with hand picked wines from across the world, the majority being organic or bio-dynamic & sourced from small growers.
Restaurant details
Description: We are an Intimate Fish Restaurant offering a Tasting Menu that enables us to adapt the experience based on what fish is landed on a daily basis. It also allows us to bring you the finest ingredients at an affordable price. We take inspiration from artisan growers & producers across the United Kingdom, providing us the opportunity to create fresh delicious dishes for your enjoyment. We pair these with hand picked wines from across the world, the majority being organic or bio-dynamic & sourced from small growers.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a delicious evening. The tasting menu was a delight from start to finish. Service was friendly and efficient. Would highly recommend!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank 7debp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had read good things about One Fish st, but I was even more impressed than I expected to be. Opted for the wine pairing and we were not disappointed. Amazing food and the service was friendly and attentive. The monk fish curry and crab tartlet were top of our list and the wines were varied and delicious.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank 290lanceg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent food and good service. Every course of the tasting menu was excellent, particularly the monkfish curry and strawberry sorbet. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank JT120404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had the tasting menu. Compliments to the chef - The food was delicious - as you’d expect lots of interesting seafood dishes. We particularly liked the crab tarte and the monkfish Thai curry. Front of house the team are a bit inexperienced & would benefit from a guiding hand - they were friendly enough - but the tasting menu needs some explaining & celebrating

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Jonnywoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2021

We booked One Fish Street for an evening meal during our stay in St Ives. We accepted the terms of the booking which included a £40 penalty per person should we not honour the reservation. We arrived at the restaurant 4 minutes before our 5pm booking but were turned away for being ‘too early’, we returned 5 minutes later and queued on the stairs behind 3 or 4 other couples. Each couple in front of us were told they could ‘sit anywhere’ despite having not made a reservation, naturally each couple chose a table in the sunshine overlooking the harbour. When we were finally shown to our table, it was at the back of the restaurant, opposite the stairs and far away from the sunshine or harbour. We asked whether another table was available but were told it was first-come-first-served. Given we had taken the time to make the booking, arrived early and accepted an £80 forfeit, the restaurant made no effort to prioritise us or our reservation over that evening’s walkin-ins.

Additionally, when we made our reservation, we were told we’d have the choice of a tasting menu or a 3 course set menu. Our waitress told us the tasting menu was no longer available, despite it being offered and served to other customers. Choosing the three course set menu, our waitress could only remember 2 out of the 3 courses.

The quality of the food was good, but some of the courses were unbelievably tiny. The heritage tomato starter in particular consisted of 3 wafer thin slices of tomato with basil and lemon. I suspect this dish originated from the tasting menu and had been repurposed as a starter, hence it’s minute size. The Thai coconut curry was flavorsome, while the panna cotta was ok.

Front-of-house continued to lack any organisation, allowing a party of two to sit at a table for 6. This table was clearly intended for the family of 4 who arrived minutes later for their reservation, only to be told their table wouldn’t be ready for another hour. They were clearly frustrated given they had two young children and had purposely made an early reservation. While still finishing our wine, we were brought our bill despite not requesting it.

This was one of a few restaurants we booked during our short stay in St Ives and we were shown absolutely no loyalty by this restaurant for making the reservation despite accepting their costly conditions and arriving at a completely acceptable time. The service we received was incredibly bad, driven by a lack of care and disorganisation.

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank mattrgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onefishstreet, Owner at One Fish Street, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2021

Good morning,

In the interest of balance & fairness please allow me to respond to a number of your claims.

1. The restaurant opens at 5pm. Before this time, we are busy preparing the restaurant & having a pre-service briefing. If you did arrive 4 minutes before your booking time, I can assure you that you would have been seated then. However, those that arrive considerably earlier we do have to politely ask to return at 5pm.

2. We don’t take walk ins, so every customer you saw in that restaurant had a reservation. This is the reason you weren’t ‘prioritised’.

3. We have no tables that overlook the harbour. We have a view of The Sloop car park - not quite as exciting, I’m sure you’ll agree.

4. It is made clear to everybody upon booking that the only menu available for the 5pm sitting is our shorter 3 course set menu. The tasting menu is then offered for our later sittings, hence it being offered to other diners.

5. We would never have made a table wait an hour from the time of their reservation. Perhaps they simply arrived early and we were unable to seat them at that time? Due to the nature of the restaurant, we take bookings at specific time slots to ensure things run smoothly & everybody gets the best possibly dining experience. We don’t do this to be awkward, we do it because we care.

6. It is made clear in the booking terms and conditions that we require the table returned at a specific time. It is for that reason that you would have been given your bill without requesting it. We were trading under severe restrictions last summer, so unfortunately had to turn some tables to be able to operate profitably.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review 8 months after your visit, and I hope I have managed to clear up a number of inaccuracies.

Kind regards,
Bradley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed One Fish Street also viewed

 

Been to One Fish Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.