We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trevalgan Holiday Farm
Nearby Hotels
The Atlantic(Carbis Bay)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Halwell Lodge(St Ives)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$417
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Nook(St Ives)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
50
9
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
9
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplay barnpets cornertravel cotchanging mattinner's armsoutdoor play areainternet searchlong journeyfamily holidaycream teahome from homelittle extrasfantastic staywarm welcomerussellmelaniestable
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

We'd read some mixed reviews but with the promise of so many kid friendly options we decided to book a week here. Unfortunately our cottage, particularly the bedroom where our kid was sleeping on an air bed, smelled badly of damp, as did the play barn. The carpet was actually wet to walk on in the bedroom and there was no key to open the windows for ventilation - not just a health but a fire hazard too. We won't be going back.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank travelsaurus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell O, Owner at Trevalgan Holiday Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a real shame the weather was quite awful for your whole week, sadly that's beyond our control. I only wish you had mentioned your concerns to us when you were here so we could have rectified them for you.

I can assure you the windows are never locked, you just need to push the button and then turn the handle as I thought all double glazed windows are, maybe not? I did test them the day you left and all opened as they should but I may well make a note of how to open them in the information file in order to ensure future customers do not have a problem so thank you for pointing this out.

I'm sorry we won't be able to welcome you back, I hope you have a better experience elsewhere. - Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

We have just literally arrived home after a wonderful week staying in The Parlour. Mummy, Daddy, little girl and the dog enjoyed every moment. Set in the best part of Cornwall just outside beautiful St Ives we were able to explore miles of open countryside and coastline.
The farm is great, our daughter particularly enjoyed visiting the cows, chickens, ducks and goats several times a day!! And the play barn allowed Mummy and Daddy time to lay in!! One very tired little girl, and dog, every evening.
This is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the best of Cornwall, and such a warm welcome from Russ too. Thank you.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank andy818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

A return visit to a place that is like home from home. Set just outside of St Ives this beautiful, peaceful place is heaven for a visit in any season. We return here every year at some point in Winter/Early Spring. We have been down for New Year, in January and February.

The holiday apartments in converted out buildings are nicely furnished and equipped for all your needs. At this time of year it is very quiet and relaxing. Well heated, they are warm and cosy with white bedding and towels and spotlessly clean. We arrived to a fantastic cream tea which was needed after a long walk on the beach. Cooking facilities are fabulous and adequate fridge space. Russ and Mel are friendly and welcoming, as are their lovely children and gorgeous dogs!

There are so many wonderful eating places around. We like the Tinner's Arms in Zennor, a great fire after the costal walk! Others to mention are the Sloop, the Hub and many others. We never tire of walking all the beaches in St Ives or wandering around the shops. The Lizard peninsula also has such pretty coves to visit and beautiful costal paths. Fantastic walks all around the area and if you have children, so many things to do, our particular favourite is Gweek Seal Sanctuary which does amazing work in nursing injured seals.

Mel and Russ pay particular attention to making your visit with children stress free. We have noticed a couple of negative comments about the offer of a their daughter as a babysitter. We thought that was a fantastic offer and years ago would have snapped an offer like that up on holiday, to have a lovely night out on our own.

All in all relaxing, peaceful and friendly.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank moretons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

We first stayed here in 2012 when our son was 2 for our first family holiday. We found it by accident doing an internet search for family friendly holidays. We stayed in The Stable and had use of a highchair and travel cot which saved having to bring everything with us. There were also age appropriate toys and DVDs in the cottage which was great. Since then we have stayed twice in The Parlour which was equally well equipped with toys for our son. The owners have also been very accommodating with us as we had a horrendously long journey down and arrived late at night. The sight of a cream tea left for us when we finally did arrive was very welcome. We love St Ives and spending time on the beaches but it is nice to stay outside of the town in a quiet and relaxing countryside location. You can walk across the fields to St Ives to save driving and when we visited at May half term we used the bus from the campsite opposite. There are some lovely cafes and shops in St Ives and we have also visited other areas of Cornwall and the views along the country roads are amazing. We would definitely recommend staying in one of these cottages as they are very comfortable and also reasonably priced unlike a lot of other places out of term time which is a definite bonus.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

This was our 3rd visit after staying last September and this January. It has now become our home by the sea! The cottages are located about 5 minutes away from St Ives with views of the sea and right on the costal path. Its amazing to sit and watch the sunset over the sea.
Russ and his family are so welcoming and now it is like catching up with old friends. The cottages are lovely, well maintained and clean. Our little girl loved discovering her little basket of toys left in the cottage. It is a great distraction while your unpacking or packing the car.
As it is a working farm it is perfect for kids. Our little one loved watching Russ on his tractor. Her favourite part was our numerous daily visits to see the ducks and goats.
The Playbarn has lots of toys and ride ons to keep little ones happy and there is also a new little play area with a slide and swing.
In peak season there is a bus that takes you direct to St Ives in 5 minutes which saves on the battle of trying to park.
We love coming here and can't wait for our next stay, we would happily recommend it to our friends.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank KRDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews