We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit.”
Review of The Mill House

The Mill House
Ranked #10 of 32 Restaurants in Tintagel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$44
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Set in seven acres of wooded valley and garden on the north coast of Cornwall, The Mill House Inn is well known for its warm welcome and top quality food. The charming stone building was originally a corn mill, so the dining room boasts a high-beamed ceiling and huge windows which create a bright and airy space. The modern British menu changes regularly and uses only the best local and seasonal produce. Popular dishes include crab cannelloni with lobster bisque and roasted langoustines; braised lamb shank with black pudding mash; and duck breast with parsnip and foie gras rosti and a caramelized shallot reduction. The Mill House also offers an innovative wine list and range of local ales.
Reviewed 12 December 2020 via mobile

Following our lunch and review of the 30 September we are back again and staying in The Cottage. Booked in for dinner for both of our evenings whilst staying here. Why go further? See separate review for accommodation. Very good to excellent food. A surprisingly extensive and quality wine list for a pub but it transpires the owner Mark also has a wine supply business. Three local real ales on pump. Usual kegs. Very good traditional breakfasts including kippers which you don't often see. Alastair Sawday and Good Pub Guide entries. Most pleasant and engaging team. Two dining rooms but we found the one adjoining the bar far more atmospheric and with a great ambience. Doggy friendly throughout. Not that we have a dog but great to see and all part of the British pub scene. Beautiful area.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank torbayaotearoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2020 via mobile

I do like an water old mill. Water mills are one of those brilliant pre-industrial buildings where the building design itself is an integral part of the process of manufacturing whatever it is that’s being manufactured.

Treknow Mill dates from the 1760s and spent the best part of 160 years doing milling stuff before becoming a private home for a few years. In 1945 it morphed into a guest house and, by the 1960s, it had done the full butterfly and become a hotel/pub. It’s been doing it’s hospitality thing in this beautiful wooded valley with the stream hurtling down towards Trebarwith Strand ever since.

It’s fair to say that the imaginatively named Mill House doesn’t look a while bunch like an old water mill these days. There are numerous additions that have cropped up over the last 250-odd years, but it’s still an attractive venue.

We came here for dinner on the last night of a recent holiday. Despite all the covid-related zombie apocalypse precautions the staff were great; friendly, welcoming and efficient. The dining room spacious but not free from atmosphere. We’d been told to expect fine dining rather than pub grub and I was a little wary of this. Many pub restaurants sacrifice the quality of cooking and flavour in favour of fussing artistically with plating food on enormous, oddly shaped, plates and smearing some kind of “jus” or (God forbid) “foam” about the place. Thankfully, the Mill House don’t do this. The food is nicely presented, but more importantly, it tastes great. At £128 for 2 courses and 2 rounds of drinks for 4 people it’s not cheap but it’s certainly not over priced. We had a completely enjoyable evening and that, after all, is the point.

We came to Trebarwith Strand once before many years ago and we didn’t eat here. I wish we had. Enough said.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank hopehousecottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2020 via mobile

Featured in the Alastair Sawday Pub Guide and the Good Pub Guide. Enough said. We called in for a light lunch. Superb ingredients. The bar area is rustic and cosy with log fire and sofas. A couple of restaurant areas. We always prefer the bar for an authentic pub ambience, sadly dented by the current covid19 nonsense. Friendly team and we had already pre booked a two night stay for December. Looking forward to it.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank torbayaotearoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2020

Lovely spacious dining area in this old cornish mill house. A little pricey, but hotel prices! Worth a look!

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2020 via mobile

Came for lunch after running away from Port William Inn. Seated in garden as no space indoors (to be fair we had just shown up out of the blue for a late lunch, and they were busy so it was good of them to seat us at all). Garden is a bit ropey but indoors looked nice.

Very friendly greeting and service, if slightly haphazard!

Food - portions are generous. Lunch menu was a mix of pub standard dishes and slightly more unusual options. Food was tasty, well cooked and piping hot. Not outstanding but perfectly good meal.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank Moog255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mill House also viewed

 
Tintagel, Cornwall
 

Been to The Mill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Singapore
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.