We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful village with lots to see and do.”
Review of Clovelly Village

Clovelly Village
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Clovelly
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Clovelly, North Devon. World famous for our cobbled, traffic-free street, donkeys, sledges and historic harbour. The stunning views, peaceful tranquility and cobbled, traffic-free, high street of this world famous fishing village, built into a cleft in a 400' high cliff, tumbles its way down past whitewashed cottages festooned with flowers to the tiny working port. It is famous for its donkeys, which traditionally carry goods up the hill; sledges bring things down. There are links with Charles Kingsley, Turner, Dickens and the Spanish Armada.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely village with views to die for. Lots of amenities and for your entrance fee there is so much you can do a day is hardly enough. We had a look around the visitors centre before walking down to the beach/harbour through the very quaint village. The path down is cobbled and very steep in places but they do offer a Land rover service, for a small fee, down and more importantly back up. If you have difficulty walking or medical problems then that is for you. There are several options for food and I heartily recommend the pasties which may seem dear but you get plenty of filling. we did not have time for some of the other walks but they looked good from where we were.

Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana E, Public Relations Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago


Dear Visitor,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent visit to Clovelly and that you recommend visiting here.

You're quite right, our famous cobbled street is steep, so we advise our visitors to wear sensible footwear.

Many thanks for writing this review.

We do hope you will visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"land rover"
in 279 reviews
"cobbled street"
in 77 reviews
"red lion"
in 97 reviews
"pretty village"
in 61 reviews
"steep walk"
in 83 reviews
"landrover service"
in 40 reviews
"the pub"
in 113 reviews
"sensible shoes"
in 26 reviews
"fisherman's cottage"
in 44 reviews
"harbour wall"
in 32 reviews
"donkey rides"
in 34 reviews
"old village"
in 19 reviews
"walking shoes"
in 29 reviews
"small harbour"
in 20 reviews
"the cottages"
in 44 reviews
"small fee"
in 26 reviews
"charles kingsley"
in 27 reviews
Filter

16 - 20 of 1,920 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were surprised by Clovelly. I think it is the only village we have visited owned entirely by the one owner and has had only 3 owners since the reign of Richards II! It was restored in late 19 century/early 20th century by the then owner, Christine Hamblyn and kept in same condition since, no cars allowed and all roads are cobble stoned - make sure you wear decent shoes with good support and good grip! We were there when it was hot and dry but I would imagine it might get quite slippery if it was wet.
Also, make sure you watch the video in the Visitors Centre to understand some of the history before you go down to the village and you might need to get the Land Rover service to take you back to the top of the village afterwards!

Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana E, Public Relations Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago




Dear Visit,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave this delightful review of your visit to Clovelly. We are pleased that you were surprised by Clovelly and found it an interesting experience.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time here and that you recommend watching our Audio-Visual film. Our visitors often tell us that it gives great insight into life in Clovelly and adds hugely to the enjoyment of a visit here.
We hope you will return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Loved this quaint cobbled seaside village...everyone should visit Clovelly at least once in their lifetime

Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana E, Public Relations Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Visitor,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review of Clovelly village. We truly appreciate your comments and are delighted you enjoyed your experience. We whole hardheartedly agree with your conclusion that everyone should visit Clovelly village,at least once in their life time!

We do hope you will be able to come and visit us again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Clovelly village is beautiful, a must see for anyone visiting the area, our children’s favourite place to go when we’re in the area.

Thank katharinephillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana E, Public Relations Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago




Dear Visitor,

We are so pleased to hear you thought the village was beautiful and that your children love Clovelly as well.
Thank you very much for your kind comments and please come back and visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Timeless, breathtaking scenery, and views, completely unique, wonderfully happy and helpful staff everywhere, definitely need to return!

Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jana E, Public Relations Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago




Dear Visitor,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Clovelly village!

We are absolutely delighted you chose Clovelly to celebrate your 50th birthday. We hope you truly enjoyed yourself and had a wonderful day!

Please do come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clovelly Village also viewed

 

Been to Clovelly Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing