We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great selection, understaffed”

Salcombe Dairy Ice Cream Parlour
Ranked #50 of 98 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Description: A modern twist on the traditional Ice Cream Parlour. Locally made Devonshire Ice Creams available as well as a large selection of Sundaes using only the finest ingredients. Hot & cold drinks are also available. The Parlour features booths and tables as well as an option to take away ice creams and drinks.
Restaurant details
Description: A modern twist on the traditional Ice Cream Parlour. Locally made Devonshire Ice Creams available as well as a large selection of Sundaes using only the finest ingredients. Hot & cold drinks are also available. The Parlour features booths and tables as well as an option to take away ice creams and drinks.
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Great selection of ice creams and some different ones not seen before like chocolate honeycomb.... best of both! Place is always busy and seems to be ran by rather young individuals. Nothing wrong with that, could just do with more of them!

Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 August 2017

We're huge Chocolate Honeycomb fans too :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

Lovely, creamy ice cream and lots of flavours to chose from! Perfect after a long day walking the coast path on a sunny day. Chocolate Honeycomb my particular favourite!

Thank KSHBO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 August 2017

Thanks for the feedback - I love the Chocolate Honeycomb too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

To the owners - you have a wonderful product and a captive audience so please put some money into your staffing. We visited today and the public were queuing out of the door. We sat at the back in the ice cream parlour and after choosing from the menu decided to re join the queue at the front of the shop as the two boys serving ( one of whom was definitely underage) were doing their best but were clearly overwhelmed. However, as my husband made his way to the front of the enormous queue one of the boys came to take our order. Meanwhile, I went to the WC to find a badly soiled toilet, dirty sink and an empty soap bottle. Not a good sign in an eating establishment. The ice cream was perfect but the cappuccino which came straight from the machine was tepid. I didn't have the heart to tell the boys as they were clearly doing their best but were so, so busy.
We are only one week into the summer holidays so no excuse for dwindling staff or dirty toilets. Please don't take happy holiday makers for granted.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TGGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 August 2017

Thanks for your feedback. We definitely don't take any of our customers for granted. None of our staff are underage, but some look quite young, but have all received training. We will address your issues for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Salcombe ice cream is made down the road. The variety is great and very tasty Portions are very generous. A single is two scoops.

Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 August 2017

Thanks for your review. It's hard to keep such a great variety but still make it gluten, egg & nut free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

What a selection of flavours. My husband boring had vanilla I wanted something new. Turkish Delight flavour was indeed a delight on the palate.

Thank Whissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salcombe Dairy Ice Cream Parlour also viewed

 

Been to Salcombe Dairy Ice Cream Parlour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing