We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice tea shop, but strange service”
Review of The Singing Kettle

The Singing Kettle
Ranked #17 of 98 Restaurants in Dartmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Serving high end cream teas, high teas, light meals , cakes, pastries and an extensive variety of hot and cold drinks .
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Visited this tea room looking for somewhere for a quick eat in Dartmouth.
The shop is presented brilliantly and staff seem nice. The quality of the tea was fantastic. Presented well and the fresh fruit was really good. The fruit scones and clotted cream was good. The cheese scone was disappointing though - a plain scone with melted cheese on top. Hot chocolate was good with cream and marshmallows! Highly recommend that.

The service was strange though. The lady (I think in charge), kept saying she would be with us to take our order next, but then she went to table behind us, and then eventually took our order, somehow mixed ours and the table behind ours up.
The cheese scone ended up arriving before the drinks even came. Then after I'd finished the cheese scone did the afternoon tea scone arrive, much longer after the tea / drinks. The table next to us took a while to be cleaned. The bill seemed expensive.

It was all good quality, and I think in a quieter time this would be a great tea shop.

Thank Mathew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, Owner at The Singing Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Poster ,

Thank you for your comments . Sorry to hear you found our popular Cheese Scones not to your liking . We add extra mature grated cheddar cheese to our mix and serve them with additional melted cheese for that extra cheesy taste .

Referring to strange service ? Is an unusual and surprising comment as our customer service is one of our strong points and which we pride ourselves on providing . Admittingly we may have been extremely busy at your arrival time and perhaps we were unable to attend your table immediately? But saying all of this it was nice to read some really good comments mixed in with your posting .

P&A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2017

My partner and I stopped here for tea and scones with our 15 month old daughter and were made to feel very welcome. The staff took a shine to our little girl and the feeling was mutual. The (loose) tea was lovely and refreshing and the scones were excellent, warm and made with care.

All of the staff were welcoming, attentive and a pleasure to be around. A lovely place to visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, Owner at The Singing Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Dear Poster,

Thank you for your lovely comments. We welcome people of any age in our tea Rooms and your little girl was very well behaved. We would love to see you again and we will endeavour to make your next visit as enjoyable as your first .

P&A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

A lovely lunch served with loose leaf tea with china cups encouraged us to return later that day for a delicious cream tea. The owners are new and very friendly and welcoming. There was no issue with my food intolerance which was dealt with without fuss to ensure that I could fully enjoy my meal. Well worth a short walk from the main thoroughfare of Dartmouth. Good luck to you both in your new venture, we will return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, Owner at The Singing Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Poster,

Many thanks for your comments . It's always satisfying to to see returning customers that enjoy their eating or drinking experience here at The Singing Kettle.

P&A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

Nice pot of tea in china cups. The millionaires shortbread is delicious. Other delicious cakes on offer. Friendly service. New owners just taken over the shop. Dogs allowed inside.

Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, Owner at The Singing Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear Poster,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review .


P & A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

I would highly recommend a visit to eat at the Singing Kettle. We had lunch followed by a cream tea. The sandwishes were lovely but the cream tea as something special. You get the choice of plain or fruit scone and the presentation of it is just beautiful, the tea is served in china cups with tea leaves instead of tea bags. The scones are served with a bountiful amount of jam and clotted cream. There is nothing I hate more than a cream tea that doesn't serve enough jam and cream but the Singing Kettle has that sorted! The scones are presented on a cake stand with slices of fresh fruit. There was ample of everything! This place offers the whole package. Everything is what you want a tea room to be, quaint with bone china and lovely service. The staff and owner were so friendly and happy. Even in the ladies, there is the use of hand creams and perfumes, a lovely touch. Will definitely be visiting again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, Owner at The Singing Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear Poster,

Your favourable and positive comments have made us all proud here at the Singing Kettle. Many thanks for taking the time to write and post here on Trip Advisor .

P & A

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Singing Kettle also viewed

 
Stoke Fleming, Dartmouth
 

Been to The Singing Kettle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing