We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayards Cove Inn(Dartmouth)
US$187
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$308
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaywana Hall(Kingswear)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
109
82
19
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
82
19
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolgames roomtable tennisfamily run hotellovely family runblackpool sandsroom with a sea viewthe hotel offerssauna and jacuzzitinned fruitfriendly hotelgreen dragonboard gamesample parkingwill visit againlocal pubsouth hams
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Booked directly with the hotel a couple of days before we wanted to stay – very helpful receptionist and straightforward process. Check-in was quick and it was good to be able to relax alongside the outdoor pool with a cool drink once we had unpacked. Our room looked as though it had been refurbished fairly recently in a traditional style, there was plenty of storage space, it was clean and there was a good supply of coffee and tea with a full-size kettle. Admittedly, the view to the sea was over a caravan park but its location meant that the sun wasn’t shining in when we arrived in the afternoon and, on a really hot weekend, the room was cool, the bed large and comfortable and we slept extremely well. Getting a warm shower was a bit problematical though there was plenty of hot water for a quick bath instead. There are several different outside seating areas so you can find sun or shade whichever you prefer if you want to sit outside. Lots of inside seating too. Breakfast was a buffet of starters (the yogurt was deliciously creamy) and a good choice of hot food cooked to order. That and the coffee were good and the only gripe was that the rack of toast was brought to the table before any hot food so it was cold by the time you wanted to and up with toast and marmalade.

Room Tip: book a sea view
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bon444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

We have been using this hotel, on and off, for twenty years but this was first full week stay in what you would call a summer month. The first half of the week was a bit disappointing weather wise but you could not say the same about the hotel which was as good as ever.
Family run, you are greeted like old friends and that continues throughout your stay. Facilities, comfort and food and drink are all to the same high standard with a truly excellent wine selection. It should also be said that the chicken wings are the best this side of Kentucky!
The weather picked up on our last full day and we were able to have our first ever swim in the outdoor pool which was pleasantly warm (although not as warm as the inside).
Even a week seemed too short so we will be back (again).
Excellent as always.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Woodies60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

I always feel bad swimming against the tide of opinion but in this case I felt a bit misled by all the glowing reviews .

The hotel is good value for money, I had a good night’s sleep in a comfortable bed, the breakfast was good although the buffet selection was limited. It is a 10 minute drive out of Dartmouth

BUT it is very outdated. The decor old fashioned with green patterned Axminster carpet, and the kind of wallpaper adorning one wall in the bedroom your granny might choose.
It smells a little bit fusty.

I would forgive all this and say it is what it is, and not bad value and given it a four, but for the dirty bathroom floor - toothpaste marks that came off when I wiped them, dirty grout, the kick board was resting back to front against the basin stand and the varnish had long gone from part of the door. The gloss work was yellowed and stained.

The staff are lovely and very patient with the elderly guests so it’s a shame the maintenance is so poor, especially it being so early in the season

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank expectsthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Loved our weekend in sunny Dartmouth. Fabulous hotel with indoor and outdoor pool. Friendly staff and great facilities. Recommend the vegetarian breakfast. Excellent parking and just a short drive to beautiful Blackpool Sands ( worth the £ 6 parking charge) and Dartmouth Town.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Fabulous base to explore not only Dartmouth’s town, but the surrounding countryside, and beaches. This hotels facilities are superb. Indoor, outdoor swimming pool, hot tub, table tennis, and a large outdoor chess set...the rooms were very clean, and the breakfast are gorgeous.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank gillian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews