We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gipsy Hill Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$94
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Exeter(Exeter)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
US$90
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Exeter(Exeter)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$107
US$87
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$169
US$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$73
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveller rating
223
168
84
34
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
168
84
34
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach housethe main hotelcountry housebuffet styleblack puddingbit datedlarge roombooked this hotelfriendly hotelwedding receptionexeter airportnight staycomfy bedplenty of parkingpark and ridefamily roomgypsy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 551 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2018

Stumbled across this first time and actively booked for second time. Staff are very welcoming and friendly. Food is excellent. Rooms are large clean and have a faded charm that is lovely. Plenty of parking. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sbiggs91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

We chose Gipsy Hill Hotel for its location (close to the airport) and to attend a family wedding at Rockbeare Manor.It is not really within walking distance to any other amenities so our hire car and the local taxi firm (Apple) were essential.If you like chain hotels then Gipsy Hill is not for you, however if like us you prefere to stay somewhere with charm and character then you will really enjoy your visit.Our room was large and immaculately clean with a comfortable bed and good shower.It was over looking the lawns where we could watch the rabbits! The staff were so friendly and helpful and after 3 nights staying here we were reluctant to leave.We ate in the restaurant on one evening and the food was delicious.Will definitely return if in the area again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rolli568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

This is the forth year in a row that we have attended this function. Until this years event we had no criticisms of any kind. In fact for the cost of the overnight stay, the dinner and breakfast the following morning was excellent in all respects. However this years event was spoiled by very poor catering. I think the ingredients were fine but the chef was not. Examples being roast potatoes in a fish broth which was supposed to be a sauce and the pastry on the beef wellington which had the consistency of wet wall paper. The sweets were left mostly unfinished. The manager on duty said she would try to make amends and some refunds were forth coming. However this did not go any where making up for a very disappointing evening. I don't think my sisters or myself will attend this function again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We were a large party of family and friends who had forked out a lot of money to dine at the Gipsy Hill Hotel on a specific recommendation.

We booked two tables for the New Years Eve dinner & disco at £60 per person before drinks. For that tariff we felt justified in expecting, at the very least, a good standard of food. I will speak only for my wife and myself. Our starters were very ordinary and seemed put together with the minimum of care. As for the mains my Beef Wellington was an open-topped affair on a bed of supermarket quality puff pastry. Everything special about the dish seemed left out. Potatoes and veg were no more than carvery quality. My wifes glazed carrot tart wasn't a tart but a few carrots and mushrooms on a bed of the same nil quality puff pastry. It was a main course void of any calibre coming from an ingredients base without exception and void of any culinary skills. This was not acceptable at all for the money concerned. Continuing the determined mediocrity the dessert was a stodge of ginger trifle, more like five levels of cheesecake base with a piped cream topping. As a meal for pretty big money we felt the food was prepared without care and without a sense of value; either for our custom or the hotels reputation. Three out of ten.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank peterhancox59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

What a great night we had here for our xmas party. We were loud, not too leery, but the staff were fantastic. Not all of us had arrived when we were supposed to be seated so we were offered a 15 minute leeway, thank you very much, wouldn't have had that at some places. Meals were brilliant, hot and tasty.
Disco after played all kinds of music to suit everyone.
Two members of our party stayed in the hotel and they've said the rooms were perfect.
Well done Gipsy Hill
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews