We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
79
68
37
21
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
68
37
21
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspiral staircasecentral locationcooked freshexeter cityroom was spaciouscathedraltelephone
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed two nights in April 2014. We travelled with a 3 year old and a 1 year old. It was very family friendly and nothing that we asked for (weetabix at breakfast, high chair, cot bed and travel cot), able to eat food in the bar when a wedding was on and there was no food on offer was too much. Breakfasts were lovely, the room (we stayed in room 1) was plush and comfortable and was a suite, so that we could have our 3 year old in a "different" room to the toddler and my husband and I. We were always able to find parking in the hotel car park.We'd definitely return to this hotel if we visit Exeter again.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with kids, room 1 is a good one (although was slightly noisy on the night the wedding was on, but that finished at 10pm latest).
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Surprisingly tranquil so close to the city centre. Breakfast was good and varied for a relatively small hotel. We had dinner on the first night which again was good. Staff were attentive and helpful. Negatives? - our room was furnished a little haphazardly without it appeared much thought for the people staying in it. The bathroom similarly and in need of a makeover. However some re-decoration was in progress in other parts of the hotel - and the bed was very comfortable!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at St Olaves hotel at the end of March, we have stayed there before and loved it, once again we were not disappointed! Even though we were so close to the centre of city we decided we would eat in the hotel restaurant as we couldn't resist the menu! Fantastic fresh food, lovely service it couldnt get any better and to make our night even more perfect they had my favourite bottle of wine on the menu!! We stayed in one of the rooms that had just been refubished and we found the decor to be a great improvement, if you are looking for something a little different ask to stay in Room 9, we loved it! This hotel is a little oasis as it has been described! Would certainly recommend and will definitely be returning! Thank you for a wonderful experience :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minnieme_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

For a hotel so close to the shops (2 minutes away) and convenient for exploring many of Exeter's historical sites, St Olave's is surprisingly peaceful. There is an inner courtyard (with free parking for guests) with shrubs and flowers that give a pleasantly rural atmosphere. The food was very good and the staff friendly and efficient, nothing was too much trouble - and yes, the staff did carry my bag.

Room Tip: If you find stairs difficult, or need a shower, not a bath, mention this when booking and you will be booked into an appropriate room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with my partner for a weekend in November, we found it easily and liked the central location, parked safely in the courtyard and liked that the car was close by.
We were on the top floor so there was a large spiral staircase to walk up which we were fine with (in our mid 30's) but my parents wouldn't have enjoyed, I don't know if the hotel would carry bags for older guests, if they didn't then you would struggle.
The room was very nice with a reception room, tv, decent bathroom and good sized bed.
Breakfast was of a good quality and we had a late drink in the bar which was quiet but comfortable.
I would recommend it mainly for the location (2 mins from the Main Street through Exeter) but was happy with everything and would stay again

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank maccaderby242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews