We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food - Locally Sourced - Friendly / Efficient Service”
Review of Harry's Restaurant

Harry's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Harry's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 564 Restaurants in Exeter
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A place to feed the soul. Harry’s Restaurant in Exeter is set in the heart of the city and has been gratifying appetites for 25 years. Rated as one of the best restaurants in Exeter on TripAdvisor, Harry’s has established itself to become the go-to dining den on the neighbourhood food scene.
Reviewed 16 March 2018

We had booked a table for 11 for a family get-together on a Friday eveing and are really pleased that we chose Harry's. They were friendly and efficient in making the booking and dealing with the orders - we pre-ordered due to the size of our group.
We were made to feel welcome and shown to a single large table which was ideal for our group - made it easy for conversation.
It was a nice touch that the waitress had made a note of our names from the pre-order and served all the dishes by name.
It was good to see a list of all the local sources of the food on the chalkboard - the quality of the food was excellent too and good value for money!.
Highly recommended

1  Thank david1012016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron H, General Manager at Harry's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Wow, thanks so much for your kind words David. We're so pleased you enjoyed your dining experience here at Harry's. Very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Saw a few good reviews and walked from the mecure, though the park( won’t be doing that again) it only took about ten mins, got sat at a table right next to the toilet door and after a few people walked right past us and got the not terrible but toilet whiff we asked to be moved, in our new position I ordered Mac n cheese and burger and chips, washed down with two pints of cider, it was very nice, my colleague had crab linguini, which he said was very nice, but a child’s portion, he had sticky toffee pudding for afters, which he said was “ the best ever” I would go again tbh, the staff were really lovely to us.

Thank Chris Nearly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Travelling solo with business, it’s always good to find a golden nugget to eat at.

After hearing about their steak I decided to give it ago. Glad I did! Probably the best steak I have out in a long time!! Perfectly cooked and very tender!

I booked ‘just in case’. So glad I did. It was a Monday but was packed.

Will return.

Thank beachdaysarebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron H, General Manager at Harry's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review! We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your Harry's experience - we're looking forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Visited again after a ten year gap! Had forgotten how lovely this place is. Great food with a nice variety and much of it is locally sourced , nice ambiance, helpful staff and good prices. The restaurant was very busy for a Wednesday evening so I am guessing it is just as popular now as it used to be .... rightly so. Highly recommended

1  Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron H, General Manager at Harry's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thanks so much for the review Joanne - we're looking forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

As a visitor to Exeter we used tripadvisor for restaurant advice and was not disappointed. The restaurant itself has a nice feel to it with a good atmosphere and the service was for the most quite good. The menu was varied with something for everyone and the portion size was just about right and very delicious. What was also great to see is that the local provenance was listed. This would have been a five star review based on the atmosphere, quality of food and in general the service but unfortunately they forgot to bring us the ordered peppermint tea, despite repeated requests. We saw that as a glitch as mentioned the service upto that point had been good. Would recommend this place but make sure you book in advance.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Whiskywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harry's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Harry's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing