We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcome waitress service”
Review of Killerton Kitchen

Killerton Kitchen
Ranked #325 of 568 Restaurants in Exeter
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 August 2017

The restaurant situated in the main building should not be confused with the café found in the reception block at the entrance to the estate. The opportunity to sit at a table and be waited on is a great joy when you are exhausted after a lot of walking. The food on offer for lunch was excellent and all the better for being served with a smile by people who obviously took pride in their work and appearance. The restaurant is clean and tidy as you would hope for a National Trust property. We were at Killerton for most of the day and intended to return to the restaurant for a cream tea, but the walk back was just a little too much, so we opted for having one at the café by the reception area. I do wish we had mustered the energy to go back to the main restaurant, but too late now. Don't get me wrong, the food was good, but I'm not a great fan of standing for ages in a queue. Spend a day here if your in the area and I'm sure you'll have no regrets.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

We are NT members and 1st time visitors to Killerton. Our first port of call on arriving mid morning was for a cup of tea and a scone in the cafe close to the entrance. The scones were inedible - dry and hard. Extremely disappointing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Pas1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyJanetNT, Visitor Experience Officer at Killerton Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for taking your time to review your visit to Killerton. We are sorry that you had cause to complain about the standard of the food in the restaurant.
Your comments have been shared with our Head Chef who agrees that your experience is not up to our normally high standards. As I’m sure you are aware, we have won several awards for our food and service so your experience is not the norm. As with all catering businesses, getting it right 100% of the time is not easy but it is something that we strive to achieve. In this case, we do not wish to make excuses and can only offer our apologies.
Thank-you for raising your concerns: they have been useful for improving our standards. I do hope that your next visit to Killerton is memorable for more positive reasons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We visit Killerton and the cafe every year, but the cafe was disappointing this time. We arrived just before midday on a Friday afternoon, and items were being rubbed off the menu as we stood at the counter - would have expected things like baked potatoes would be available at 12 noon. Bought a wrap and salad, but the pastry was rubbery. Cake was very dry. Hope it improves for our next visit, but may switch to eating at the house, which is currently having its roof refurbished.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Gus-Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyJanetNT, Visitor Experience Officer at Killerton Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip to Killerton. We're so sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience in the cafe. This is not up to our usual standard and we will pass your comments on to the team so that we can improve. If you want to discuss this further, please email killerton@nationaltrust.org.uk. We hope this doesn't deter you from visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

I can only assume that NT visitors don't do trip advisor judging by this restaurant's unfairly low rating. We had an excellent lunch: the pork tenderloin was succulent; the hake delicious, veg well presented and cooked. Desserts were a treat too, with the lemon posset superb as was the vanilla panacotta. Service was efficient and friendly. Excellent value for money at under £20 a head.

Thank FiNicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Tea and cake, that was all we wanted..for two. Not desperately challenging for a professional restaurant you may think. Think again! Cakes delivered in 10 minutes, tea delivered in 25 minutes. I suspect that some of the ghosts that haunt the beautiful Killerton House may not be ancestors at all...merely forgotten customers of the restaurant still awaiting their pot of tea!

3  Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JessicaNT, Visitor Experience Officer at Killerton Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip to Killerton. We're so sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience in the restaurant. This is not up to our usual standard and we will pass your comments on to the team so that we can improve. If you want to discuss this further, please email killerton@nationaltrust.org.uk. We hope this doesn't deter you from visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Killerton Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Killerton Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing