We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing setting”

The Harbour Seafood Restaurant and Takeaway
Ranked #7 of 791 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$89
Description: At the Harbour we cater for all customers. Whether you are with the children or in a large group. We specialise in fresh seafood landed meters away from the restaurant. We also have prime fillet and ribeye steaks to go with your seafood. Lobster and crab is on the menu everyday if you fancy a treat. We also offer lunchtime specials than run everyday of the year where you can enjoy line caught cod, chips (bottomless) homemade mushy peas, and homemade tartar sauce all for £9. We also have a takeaway which means you can enjoy our delicious menu at home or in the sunshine. Dogs are welcome in the restaurant until 7 pm. Sea you soon!
Restaurant details
Description: At the Harbour we cater for all customers. Whether you are with the children or in a large group. We specialise in fresh seafood landed meters away from the restaurant. We also have prime fillet and ribeye steaks to go with your seafood. Lobster and crab is on the menu everyday if you fancy a treat. We also offer lunchtime specials than run everyday of the year where you can enjoy line caught cod, chips (bottomless) homemade mushy peas, and homemade tartar sauce all for £9. We also have a takeaway which means you can enjoy our delicious menu at home or in the sunshine. Dogs are welcome in the restaurant until 7 pm. Sea you soon!
Reviewed 23 June 2018

The setting of this restaurant is lovely, right by the waters edge.
We went on an evening and had a really lovely meal. The cod was amazing, really white and generous portions.
Will definitely be going back there.
Staff very helpful, nothing too much trouble.

Thank lou993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbourmanager, Manager at The Harbour Seafood Restaurant and Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Hi lou993,

Thank you for the five-star review, we really appreciate it!

We don't skimp on our portion sizes, this is true... Occasionally we'll get some huge Lobsters and Crabs in from our local suppliers, so you'll have to keep your eye out for them!

I'm glad to hear that you'll be back; hopefully we'll 'sea' you soon.

Kind regards,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 122 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Best fish and chips on the Barbican
I've tried them all and this is the best, eating them round by the harbour makes them taste even better.

Thank Reg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbourmanager, Public Relations Manager at The Harbour Seafood Restaurant and Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Hello Reg,
What a fantastic review, thank you so much for your kind words. Reviews like this really matter to to us as you have tried and tested whats in the surrounding area.
Thank you once again Reg,
Kind regards
Micky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

I was expecting a proper fish restaurant, and was really disappointed. A friend who was with us wanted oysters, but they came deep fried in batter, on asking the waiter if we could have fresh oysters, it was discouraged, with the waiter explaining this would be at our own risk, which just made us feel that they weren't fresh. We ordered monkish, which was ok, gurnard which was completely over cooked and like rubber, had better on the BBQ cooked at home after fishing. The battered fish and chips were good. I think if you want the usual battered fish and chips then you will be happy, but if you want an authentic fish restaurant then I would try elsewhere. Had better fresh fish at the Waterfront Pub on the Hoe and at Rock Fish. The atmosphere and decor was nice and the staff very good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sjaynedavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbourmanager, Manager at The Harbour Seafood Restaurant and Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Hi sjaynedavies

I'm so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your recent visit to the restaurant.

With regards to the oysters, we do serve them fresh if the customer wishes, however we also do mention that there is a very very small possible risk of bacteria being in the oysters which we cannot control if served fresh. I apologise if you felt that your server was discouraging you from trying the oysters; they most definitely are both fresh and local, so I do hope you come back to try them!

I'll look into your issue with the Red Gurnard, this isn't something we've come across before so I'll have a word with the chef to make sure it doesn't happen again.

If you do feel like giving us a second chance to prove what we're really about, please ask for myself or Micky and we'll look after you personally.

Kind regards,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

A group of us went to the restaurant side of age up to 80 and we were all surprised how excellent both the food and the friendly service was. The portion sizes were also just spot on! Get so tired of huge portions when you leave most of it, or nouveau cuisine where they are out to starve you. We'll be back

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbourmanager, Public Relations Manager at The Harbour Seafood Restaurant and Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Hello John,
Thanks for the great feedback and i am happy to hear that you will be returning for another fantastic experience.
We all hope to see you and your guests back in the harbour soon,
kind regards
Micky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

A brilliant selection of fish and seafood, cooked as you like it, and friendly efficient service all contributed to an enjoyable, relaxed lunch meeting with old friends. I was particularly taken with the best chips I've had in a good while. Thank you for your efforts.

Thank Denis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harbourmanager, Manager at The Harbour Seafood Restaurant and Takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

Hi Denis9,

Thank you for the five-star review, we really appreciate it!

I was really impressed with the chips when I first starter working at The Harbour...We use Agria potatoes as the Head Chef insists we don't use anything else.

Hopefully we'll be able to 'sea' you soon.

Kind regards,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Harbour Seafood Restaurant and Takeaway also viewed

Plymouth, Devon
Plymouth, Devon
 
Plymouth, Devon
Plymouth, Devon
 

Been to The Harbour Seafood Restaurant and Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing