We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves to be in the top 10”
Review of Mayflower

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mayflower
Ranked #24 of 78 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Ideal, central location - on the edge of Hoe Park, close to both the waterfront and the city centre, with the railway station only a 15 minute walk away. It’s on a very pretty and quiet street facing the park, and is very close to the Barbican with its numerous restaurants. There is also a Co-op store literally a 2-minute walk from the guest house. Was greeted by Helen who gave me a map of Plymouth and showed me to my room on the 2nd floor, which faced the park. Helen is lovely; I found her to be very helpful, pleasant and friendly throughout my stay.

The double en-suite room itself was also warm and charming. It was clean and comfortable with tea and coffee-making facilities and biscuits. There were some nice pictures hung up on the walls. The flat screen TV was located at head height, unlike those at some guest houses which put them near the ceiling and you end up having to arch your neck. The mattress was just right, firm enough to support your back but not to the extent that it was uncomfortable to sleep on; probably had one of the most comfortable nights of sleep I’ve ever had. There was also a radio and a small basket of books in the room, which were a nice touch. The en-suite was very clean and the water pressure in the shower was very decent/ strong. There wasn’t any shampoo in the bathroom but this was readily supplied when requested. The Wi-fi worked a treat.

A top-quality breakfast is served in a cosy, nicely decorated dining room, mainly between 8am and 9am. You have access to cereals, yoghurt and juices, as well as the full English breakfast. On the second morning, I opted for a healthier, vegetarian option (without bacon and sausages) and Patrick kindly doubled the portions of everything else on the plate. The baked beans were very thoughtfully served in a small pot on the plate, which ensured they remained hot throughout the meal. The radio playing at a low volume in the background enhanced the ambience of the room.

Overall, the Mayflower is one of the best guest houses I’ve stayed in. Very good value for money at £45/night for a 2-night, single-occupancy in a double en-suite room stay over a weekend. They take card payments too, which was a bonus. My stay here contributed to a very pleasant, enjoyable and relaxing weekend in Plymouth.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a double en-suite room facing towards the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank melancholymayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick W, Owner at Mayflower, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Well what can I say but thank you for your most generous review and welcome back anytime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

The guest house is ideally located - only two minutes from the Barbican with lots of nice restaurants, cafés, pubs and shops. It is very quiet though as it is located in a cul-de-sac. The hosts are very welcoming and friendly. The breakfast ranges from tea and toast to a full English breakfast. We really felt at home in the cosy rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Durham97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

Lovely clean and comfortable b n b which my brother in law found on air bnb .... great value for money and Helen and Patrick were very welcoming....will certainly be top of the list for any future visits to plymouth

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank barfluer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick W, Owner at Mayflower, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Mant thanks for your most kind review. Welcome back anytime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

The breakfast was delicious and the beds were very comfortable. The rooms are immaculately clean. There was no problem in catering for a vegetarian and a vegan. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank suelilley4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

We found this on the website air b&b and it rally was great value for money. We were well looked after by Patrick and Helen who welcomed us but also left us to our own devices. The room (room 7 top floor) was perfect. It was a little tired in decoration and I have stayed in cleaner accommodation but it was full or character and just what we needed.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Fizzie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick W, Owner at Mayflower, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2016

Your and your girlfriend's review here on Trip Adviser seems to differ to the one provided by the other booking service.

I quote verbatim:
We had a lovely stay at this guest house and we're warmly welcomed by Patrick on arrival. The room was so cosy and quiet and we really had a chance to chill. We never made it to breakfast as we had a couple of late night out listening to love music in the Barbican. If this is what you're into then the guesthouse is in the perfect location! We went through to the gin distillery and it was a two minute walk. Next time we stay in Plymouth we will definitely be looking into returning here. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
7 km away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
0.6 km away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,659 reviews
0.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
604 reviews
5.3 km away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,131 reviews
0.8 km away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayflower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower

Address: 209 Citadel Road East | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: $53 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mayflower is a delightful, four storey building built around the 1890's with a welcoming, friendly atmosphere. We are located close to the historic bustling Barbican area, where everything is, and an easy five minute stroll will lead you to the City where you will find a traffic-free shopping centre. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing