We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Coach Driver”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #60 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Excellent breakfast good clean rooms friendly staff parking a bit difficult with a coach but good for cars just take notice of where if any coaches park otherwise you may have trouble other then that a nice place to stay in a wonderful resort

Room Tip: Nothing to say get what your given
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rod K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2017

Friendly on arrival but downhill from there,when we found our room in the maze of doors it was Shabby to say the least, gaps around the window frames peeling paintwork and generally run down. After returning to reception to be told if we weren't happy with that room we wouldn't like the others!!!!.
A upgrade was offered at a additional cost of course, wonder how often this is done , the decor was better in the second room, the wood chip wallpaper didn't look quite as old and at least the window frames met the walls.thankful for small mercies we stayed the two nights, it could have been worse we might have been booked in for three.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Overall an average experience. The room was small, dated and in need of much TLC. Because of this the level of cleanliness which was good was not immediately apparent.
Food was excellent, good choice, good quality and tasty.Staff were friendly and helpful and overall we had very good service. Unfortunately breakfast on the last day was a bit of a shambles with tables not cleared and reset, drinks running out and lack of crockery.

Room Tip: Needs updating
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

A reunion weekend with large party food not 5 * but well worth the value, basic but plentyfull cooked breakfast, great attentive staff, looking forward to next years. Good location for transport from just outside hotel

Room Tip: May just be the type of deal we were on but if you want daily biscuits and bathroom extras take them...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hazbren2430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Went for a large family weekend. The receptionist was very good, friendly and informative .... perfect after a long drive.
The room was a bit dated and seemed to be on a slant- It didn't the really bother us much though.
Breakfast on the second day wasn't good - seemed there was 2 staff on that couldn't keep up at all.....we had to clear a table ourselves to be able to get a table. I just think they couldn't keep up with demand .... had to keep asking for things (cutlery, cups, glasses, food!).
The hotel is so, so hot.
I would refuse to go here again but it also wouldn't be my first choice.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,165 reviews
1.9 km away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#85 of 85 in Torquay
1,293 reviews
1.7 km away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#52 of 85 in Torquay
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
2,498 reviews
1.6 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,082 reviews
0.1 km away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: $63 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run two-star hotel only 400 m from the sea front and ten minutes from town. We have excellent facilities and nightly entertainment, our rates are very competitive and a large number of regular guests come back to us year after year. Groups and individuals welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing