We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,085)
Filter reviews
1,085 results
Traveller rating
238
330
236
107
174
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
330
236
107
174
Show reviews that mention
All reviews games room star hotel land train waiting staff evening meal bit dated sea front friendly hotel weekend break couldn't do enough entertainment alison singer tlc bingo seafront
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 1,085 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017

This hotel is in need of a complete refurbishment as the decor and fixtures and fittings are shabby and dated. My bedroom , tho very dated, was very clean and had everything I needed. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food was tasty and plentiful.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chardonnaydeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

We are constantly carrying out refurbishment throughout the hotel. We are a family concern and do not have the funds to close the hotel down to carry out a big refurb. We are a traditional Holiday Hotel and as such offer excellent value for money.
Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

The bedroom was small and in desperate need of a re-vamp. Paper peeling, curtains didn’t close properly, bed was uncomfortable, TV had a black blob right in the middle of the screen and shower pressure was very weak.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank jessicajW2614MX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

We can only apologise for your very poor stay with us. We need to identify which room you stayed in but once again we are extremely sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Was very good just what we wanted has was visiting family close by, staff was very friendly and helpful to us and the drinks were great value for money has we got vere in time for happy hour. All in all can't fault the place.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pengelly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you were happy with your stay. We hope you will consider us again if you visit Torquay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We stayed in room 102 which is a twin room it's a large room with 3 single beds in, was clean apart from staining in the bath, it was very out dated but most of the hotels round Devon are, at the end of the day you get what you pay for, the food was nice, Breafast was better than the evening meals we had, the staff were very friendly all the time we stayed there, the reason why I have given it a poor rating is because they don't cater for disabled people that much, one of our group of 4 that stayed there can't walk far & sometimes uses a wheelchair, although we did just about manage we did ask for a ground floor room when we booked,which we didn't get, he had to walk up some stairs then go in a cramped lift which we got stuck in as the door wouldn't open one time, so anyone who is wheelchair bound this hotel is not for you. You also so have to you a faulty lift to go down to the restaurant, we didn't know it was faulty until the door closed on which closed on our disabled gentleman's arm which left a big bruise it came up into a big lump, we asked for a first aider to have a look at it & they said to go & see a doctor, so that told us they didn't have a first aider on site, we ended up in A&E as couldn't get to see a doctor or nurse as they were full, we were there for 6 days & even after what happened the lift still wasn't fixed, there are also no toilets in the restaurant you have to go back up the lift to the reception to use the toilet,

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nobby8051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

room 321 superior room with sea view , had a sea view if this was superior what did the others have ,bed had a bit missing from the base as the hotel was full no chance of a room change so the bible came in handy to level the bed left it there ,outdoor pool open until september must have been the 1st because closed on the 29th , sauna broken and not fixed during our whole stay , smell of dampness in the lift to our room and in the hallway leading to it , carpets ripped and repaired in the room , needs a lot of maintenance done to bring this property up to date

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank philcu2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews