We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #59 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Myself and my mum had booked a B&B in Torquay for 2 nights (Saturday and Sunday), to see a show at the Princess Theatre on the Sunday evening. The B&B was not of a good standard, strong smell of damp in the twin bedded room we had booked and a bad smell in the bathroom, so we booked The Cavendish at the last minute and moved. The hotel is generally very tired and it was up and down a number of stairs to get to the twin room we had been allocated, although understood this as it was a late booking. The room itself was fine, nicely decorated, clean and lovely comfortable beds. There were issues with the hot water, being extremely hot in both the sink and shower and quite dangerous in the shower as the adjustment tap was easily knocked and the water scalding. The food was, on the whole, very good, but it was very noticeable when there was a change of chef! The reception staff were courteous, but apart from one, a nice chap with glasses who seemed to run reception, the bar and more or less everything else, weren't particularly helpful. Upon our arrival, we met a resident who had been staying there, who said 'welcome to Fawlty Towers', which sort of summed it up really, but all in all, we had a nice time.

Room Tip: Really just need to sort the hot water out
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Justjax0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It seems like we didn't do too well on this occasion. We apologise for the shower we will try and identify which room and make sure it is safe. Many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 890 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017

This hotel is in need of a complete refurbishment as the decor and fixtures and fittings are shabby and dated. My bedroom , tho very dated, was very clean and had everything I needed. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food was tasty and plentiful.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chardonnaydeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are constantly carrying out refurbishment throughout the hotel. We are a family concern and do not have the funds to close the hotel down to carry out a big refurb. We are a traditional Holiday Hotel and as such offer excellent value for money.
Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

The bedroom was small and in desperate need of a re-vamp. Paper peeling, curtains didn’t close properly, bed was uncomfortable, TV had a black blob right in the middle of the screen and shower pressure was very weak.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank jessicajW2614MX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We can only apologise for your very poor stay with us. We need to identify which room you stayed in but once again we are extremely sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Was very good just what we wanted has was visiting family close by, staff was very friendly and helpful to us and the drinks were great value for money has we got vere in time for happy hour. All in all can't fault the place.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pengelly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you were happy with your stay. We hope you will consider us again if you visit Torquay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We stayed in room 102 which is a twin room it's a large room with 3 single beds in, was clean apart from staining in the bath, it was very out dated but most of the hotels round Devon are, at the end of the day you get what you pay for, the food was nice, Breafast was better than the evening meals we had, the staff were very friendly all the time we stayed there, the reason why I have given it a poor rating is because they don't cater for disabled people that much, one of our group of 4 that stayed there can't walk far & sometimes uses a wheelchair, although we did just about manage we did ask for a ground floor room when we booked,which we didn't get, he had to walk up some stairs then go in a cramped lift which we got stuck in as the door wouldn't open one time, so anyone who is wheelchair bound this hotel is not for you. You also so have to you a faulty lift to go down to the restaurant, we didn't know it was faulty until the door closed on which closed on our disabled gentleman's arm which left a big bruise it came up into a big lump, we asked for a first aider to have a look at it & they said to go & see a doctor, so that told us they didn't have a first aider on site, we ended up in A&E as couldn't get to see a doctor or nurse as they were full, we were there for 6 days & even after what happened the lift still wasn't fixed, there are also no toilets in the restaurant you have to go back up the lift to the reception to use the toilet,

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nobby8051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,165 reviews
1.9 km away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#85 of 85 in Torquay
1,293 reviews
1.7 km away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#51 of 85 in Torquay
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
2,497 reviews
1.6 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,082 reviews
0.1 km away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: $65 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run two-star hotel only 400 m from the sea front and ten minutes from town. We have excellent facilities and nightly entertainment, our rates are very competitive and a large number of regular guests come back to us year after year. Groups and individuals welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing