We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel being refurbished so choose your room carefully!!!!”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #60 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 18 October 2017

we unfortunatley booked to stay here for 4 nights.Our room was very dated but clean.However the bathroom was disgusting.large crack in sink,taps all discoloured, shower screen over bath was filthy and the grouting inbetween the tiles was black also broken wall tiles.we complained and was told that no other rooms were available.So we complained the next day and was offered another room which had been refurbished,the room was lovely.The manager informed us that there is a refurbishment program in place.We should have been told this when we booked.How dare they think that it is acceptable to rent such unsuitable rooms.we used the tiny swimming pool but the sauna was closed.we booked this hotel because of the above ammenaties and again we were disappointed.the only posative thing about the hotel was the breakfast,it was good.Staff are polite and helpful.We will not be returning or recommending this hotel to any one.

Room Tip: ask for a room that has been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank smoothyShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay. The hotel is constantly refurbishing, with 96 rooms it is a continuing situation and not something we undertake just now and then. Currently we have 3 rooms out of action being refurbished. We are struggling to identify the room you stayed in but as soon as we do it will be attended to. The sauna broke down and we had to wait for the part to come in and be fitted but was back in action within a few days. Unfortunately, these things happen
Once again we can only apologise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

Staff were very friendly. Hotel was fine but perhaps had seen better Days. The Shower in my room was in need of attention the water flow rate was poor. Parking at the Hotel was sometimes difficult but the Staff were very helpful in getting you parked up/

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Appologies for the shower pressure not sure which room you were in to check that out.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We came for a weekend for a party. The price was excellent and there were some good offers on drinks. Staff were enthusiastic but could do with more training. Coffee was disastrous as were the roast potatoes on Friday night. Overall however great value !

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davidwL5374HT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Glad you had a good stay but apologies for the coffee and roast potatoes. We have noted your comments about staff, we have had new waiting staff start and are currently being trained.
Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Booked for 2 nights. Was a little dubious as was quite cheap and some reviews weren't great........ But was very pleasantly surprised. Ok not loads of parking but we were very lucky with a space which we had for 2 days. Reception were lovely. Had huge room with balcony which we didn't expect. Very clean. Fresh towels and clean around. Stayed for2 days. Not the most modern but everything was there. Clean. Tidy. Friendly. Had room only so no idea on food. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dawnray57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will consider us again when looking to come to Torquay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night and for the price I paid it was excellent.
Room was totally adequate for my needs and the hotel is in a good location in Torquay.
Ample parking on site for the time of year.
Would if the price was right quite happily stay again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank redtribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Glad you were satisfied with your stay. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#19 of 85 in Torquay
1,165 reviews
1.9 km away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#85 of 85 in Torquay
1,293 reviews
1.7 km away
Frognel Hall Hotel
Frognel Hall Hotel
#52 of 85 in Torquay
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#32 of 85 in Torquay
2,497 reviews
1.6 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,082 reviews
0.1 km away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: $63 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run two-star hotel only 400 m from the sea front and ten minutes from town. We have excellent facilities and nightly entertainment, our rates are very competitive and a large number of regular guests come back to us year after year. Groups and individuals welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing