We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good stay.”
Review of TLH Derwent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TLH Derwent Hotel
Ranked #21 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Our Turkey &Tinsel break was very enjoyable, however cut-backs were evident, breakfast was now completely Self-Service, and the evening entertainment although good, was not up to previous standards. I would still return to TLH again however as the overall package was good.

Room Tip: Most rooms are ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyjones22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Sally Jones
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We introduced full self service at breakfast 18 months ago. This has in the main worked well allowing us to enhance the breakfast offering such as a larger range of hot beverages, pastries and fresh fruit and yoghurt. We have retained the option of having a waiter deliver toast and beverages to you and have included this on our breakfast menu. I accept that assistance now has to be requested at breakfast. Our goal is to keep offering our guests excellent value for money. We are always looking at ways to innovate and improve our product whilst ensuring we do not have to pass on the inflationary pressures that all businesses are facing in the current economic climate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2017

Rather disappointing this year seem to be short on staff ! Had to complain as bed wasn't made ! Trying to eat our meal with one lady making a complaint about restaurant area! Well done to Evelina. On the way she handled the situation Think staff need to be shown how to tuck a bottom sheet too ! Sorry but there was issues at this Hotel Please look into it

Room Tip: Liked 3rd Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank janetfoster1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Janet Foster
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Firstly, I am truly sorry your room was missed. We do have systems in place for checking all 174 rooms are fully serviced daily. I will look into why it your room was missed on the day that you mentioned to avoid a repeat. I assume and hope it was remedied as soon as you made us aware your room was not serviced. I will also pass on your nice comment regarding Evelina. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

This was a basic hotel, it took me about 30 minutes of driving around to find parking which was a stressful situation, I read the reviews several months ago and obviously got sucked in! I don’t think the description actually matches the resort, it’s basically a load of hotels thats been bought and the same logo stuck on the signs hence resort ha ha any way the room was very small and extremely hot we had the window open all time that we were there it still didn’t cool down, the corridors and stairs are very narrow and I didn’t feel particularly safe should there be a fire. The breakfast was chaos the layout wasn’t ideal and buffet doesn’t usually mean you get served you cooked breakfast, I found the food to be ok and the staff lovely, they obviously love their jobs. We didn’t use the entertainment so couldn’t comment I thought I’d try a traditional hotel instead of premier inn for me I think I’ll stick with what I know and go to premier. It’s like most things you don’t know until you try it I would say you must try the hotel yo form your own opinion but it’s not for me

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Itsmyopin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

AS ussual everthing was good food clean hotel and rooms entertainment good. Staff were very obliging service good. We asked for a room on the first floor at the rear and we were accomadted. The water in the pool was a bit cool but not that bad. We will be returning again .

Room Tip: Over the years we haved stayed in a lot of the rooms and they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Peterplumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

Just got back from festive long weekend at Derwent Hotel, can t believe what good value it was .From entertainment to food and rooms ,spa was amazing everywhere very clean Can t say enough about the staff,they could not do enough for us

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.1 km away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#31 of 85 in Torquay
632 reviews
0 km away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#33 of 85 in Torquay
594 reviews
0.2 km away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#34 of 85 in Torquay
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#29 of 85 in Torquay
2,575 reviews
1.6 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,237 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Derwent Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#16 Business Hotel in Torquay
#21 Family Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: S$108 - S$240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Derwent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively 3 star hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your TLH Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay
TLH Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing