We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Haytor Hotel(Torquay)
Book now, pay at stay
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$132
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$133
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,220)
Filter reviews
1,221 results
Traveller rating
501
466
167
53
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
501
466
167
53
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomstarlight loungeten pin bowlingaztec bistroentertainment teamkb soundsalberts barindoor bowlsexcellent facilitiesother hotelsstar hotelland trainfamily hotelkids clubevening entertainmentleisure facilitiessteam room
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 1,221 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Rather disappointing this year seem to be short on staff ! Had to complain as bed wasn't made ! Trying to eat our meal with one lady making a complaint about restaurant area! Well done to Evelina. On the way she handled the situation Think staff need to be shown how to tuck a bottom sheet too ! Sorry but there was issues at this Hotel Please look into it

Room Tip: Liked 3rd Floor
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank janetfoster1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgarside, General Manager at TLH Derwent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Janet Foster
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Firstly, I am truly sorry your room was missed. We do have systems in place for checking all 174 rooms are fully serviced daily. I will look into why it your room was missed on the day that you mentioned to avoid a repeat. I assume and hope it was remedied as soon as you made us aware your room was not serviced. I will also pass on your nice comment regarding Evelina. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

This was a basic hotel, it took me about 30 minutes of driving around to find parking which was a stressful situation, I read the reviews several months ago and obviously got sucked in! I don’t think the description actually matches the resort, it’s basically a load of hotels thats been bought and the same logo stuck on the signs hence resort ha ha any way the room was very small and extremely hot we had the window open all time that we were there it still didn’t cool down, the corridors and stairs are very narrow and I didn’t feel particularly safe should there be a fire. The breakfast was chaos the layout wasn’t ideal and buffet doesn’t usually mean you get served you cooked breakfast, I found the food to be ok and the staff lovely, they obviously love their jobs. We didn’t use the entertainment so couldn’t comment I thought I’d try a traditional hotel instead of premier inn for me I think I’ll stick with what I know and go to premier. It’s like most things you don’t know until you try it I would say you must try the hotel yo form your own opinion but it’s not for me

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Itsmyopin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

AS ussual everthing was good food clean hotel and rooms entertainment good. Staff were very obliging service good. We asked for a room on the first floor at the rear and we were accomadted. The water in the pool was a bit cool but not that bad. We will be returning again .

Room Tip: Over the years we haved stayed in a lot of the rooms and they are all good
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Peterplumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

Just got back from festive long weekend at Derwent Hotel, can t believe what good value it was .From entertainment to food and rooms ,spa was amazing everywhere very clean Can t say enough about the staff,they could not do enough for us

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Hotel nice, rooms nice, staff excellent meals nice even though some weren't my cup of tea but plenty of choice and alternatives . In the dining room at dinner felt like a production line but it was busy and staff had a lot of people to serve. Wasn't as nice as the Ifracombe turkey and tinsel only because it wasn't as personal being a bigger place and Using 1 hotel of the 4 for meals and entertainment which at a low season is understandable Activities throughout the day some at extra cost evening entertainment and bingo if you are going get there early as gets busy and often s a group we didn't get to sit all together in the same place which was a shame. Hotel as steps up to the reception and stairs to all floors which may be a problem for people with mobility issues they have lifts but on one day the lifts were out of action through no fault of their own which they got the issues fixed as quick as they possibly could which meant guests had to go up the stairs to their rooms some on the third floor.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews