We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dance Break”
Review of TLH Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TLH Victoria Hotel
Ranked #34 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent four night ballroom & Latin American dance break at the Victoria hotel hosted by Claire & James Taplin, we had great fun, met lots of lovely people and learned new dance steps!
Car parking rather tight, perhaps because it was half term.
Staff on reception were very friendly, as were the restaurant and cleaning staff.
Shared entertainment between the four hotels and all other facilities (pool etc.) looked good, although we didn't have much chance to use them.
The Warwick ballroom used for our workshops and dances was excellent.
We enjoyed the Victoria restaurant- decor lovely, beautiful atrium. Breakfast excellent and there was a good choice of evening meals, all nicely presented.
Our only disappointment was our (standard) room on 1st floor. Although the bed was comfortable the room was badly in need of redecorating.....carpet threadbare and a shabby bathroom which didn't smell very fresh, rough edges of tiles exposed by the doorframe and old floor covering. The room was very stuffy even with the window open and there was a lot of late night and early morning delivery noise from the carpark below.
This was our first time, we would love to have another dance break in the near future but the room would need some upgrading.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Trekwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent break with us at the Victoria, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and had great fun whilst you were here, I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2017

With four big hotels and extensive leisure facilities all under one ‘roof’, the TLH complex is a brilliant idea that really works. In many ways, it’s like a cruise ship that doesn’t go up and down. You can have a friendly and active break here without ever going out into the ‘real world’
On our previous visit (to the Derwent Hotel) we made a ‘special offer’ priced reservation for a standard twin room and asked that it be large, high up, on the car park side and as far away from the lifts and disco as possible. They did us proud by giving us a family room at no extra charge! Naturally we didn’t expect this to happen again, so imagine our surprise when it did. Another super room, but this time we were happy to be on the ground floor as there is no lift in the Victoria Apartments block. (These rooms are dual purpose and can be arranged in two ways. One is just like a family room in the main hotel, but, in the other mode, enabling the en-suite kitchen makes them into a self-catering apartment. Neat.)
In all other respects we stayed in the Victoria Hotel itself, eating in the restaurant with others on the same dance holiday, danced in the capacious Warwick Ballroom, and relaxed in the charming and quiet Conservatory. And of course we had access to the pools, games and other leisure facilities, both inside and out.
With ample menu choices the food and service were very good, except on just one evening when many guests said that both were well below par. Dancing in the Warwick Ballroom was great, especially with the highly entertaining Kevin Bunclark who always manages to create a real party atmosphere. Contrary to what we had been told in advance, the ballroom did not smell musty, at least not in October. The staff were friendly and helpful, and they really have a ‘can do’ attitude. When my elderly laptop failed to connect to the TLH Wifi server, they tried very hard to get it fixed.
Our room was comfortable and well equipped, except for the lack of places to put things in the bathroom. Everything in the room worked fine and outside some jolly painters were making the hallways look like new. And the cost of our stay was reasonable, as were the bar prices.
Many of the TLH guests come by coach, so there was plenty of room for car parking. Our room was efficiently serviced each day while we were enjoying our breakfast, and the whole place seemed clean, tidy and bright. As did the guests, with no shortage of smiles, a bit of banter, and lots of impromptu chats with interesting and happy people. If you’re not feeling young at heart when you arrive, you will be before you leave.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonyrobindavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your glowing and comprehensive review of your recent stay with us at the Victoria, I was pleased to read that after reaching your expectations on a previous visit we were able to do so again on your latest break, all I can add is that we look forward to welcoming you back on another of our breaks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

All was great stay at friendly stuff. But only the food was not so great only
Fully recommended for those who are looking for family gather is a great place to stay . Tq to all the staff and crew for the wanderful stay

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for posting your very positive feedback, glad you enjoyed it and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

This was our 3rd visit for a themed weekend, The room was comfortable with a great view. Unfortunately the food was awful and the beer even worse. On the previous 2 visits both were adequate but this time they were both spectacularly bad! We stayed 3 nights but only ate dinner once. The food was grey and sad and very small portion of veg. (2 potatoes which would have fitted onto the soup spoon with room to spare!) Ample veg was seen on the way out of the room drying out and withering under heat lamps. The restaurant manager wasn't at all bothered and not interested in helping. Breakfast was swimming in grease and the fresh fruit salad definitely wasn't fresh. The beer in the Warwick ballroom bar was tepid, stale and badly kept. Very disappointing. We wont visit again.

Room Tip: Top floor front has good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 969diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent visit, I am sorry you did not enjoy this weekend but must point out that we had some very positive feedback from other guests who attended this break, I apologise that this was not the case for yourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Accommodation standard. Food not the best unfortunately. Staff not realy interested in helping .drinks prices are very good .swimming pool lovely and good cleanliness of pool.rooms need updating .ideal for a cheap family getaway. More family orientatd and seems to be focused on coach partys .

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Victoria, I can only apologise that you felt the team were disinterested in your comments as I can assure you this is not the case as we value all of our guests, I am sorry we did not reach your expectations on this occaision.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0 km away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#22 of 87 in Torquay
1,173 reviews
0.1 km away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
632 reviews
0.2 km away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#35 of 87 in Torquay
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#23 of 87 in Torquay
3,242 reviews
0.2 km away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#8 of 87 in Torquay
552 reviews
0.2 km away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Victoria Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#18 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $124 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this charming hotel, with period features, has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your TLH Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Victoria Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing