We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (628)
Filter reviews
628 results
Traveller rating
225
267
92
35
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
225
267
92
35
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdance breakdancing holidaygames roomhotel complexballroom dancingstarlight loungeindoor bowlstlh groupalberts barsoft playaztec bartable tennisten pin bowlingother hotelsswimming poolleisure facilitiesevening meal
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 628 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017

With four big hotels and extensive leisure facilities all under one ‘roof’, the TLH complex is a brilliant idea that really works. In many ways, it’s like a cruise ship that doesn’t go up and down. You can have a friendly and active break here without ever going out into the ‘real world’
On our previous visit (to the Derwent Hotel) we made a ‘special offer’ priced reservation for a standard twin room and asked that it be large, high up, on the car park side and as far away from the lifts and disco as possible. They did us proud by giving us a family room at no extra charge! Naturally we didn’t expect this to happen again, so imagine our surprise when it did. Another super room, but this time we were happy to be on the ground floor as there is no lift in the Victoria Apartments block. (These rooms are dual purpose and can be arranged in two ways. One is just like a family room in the main hotel, but, in the other mode, enabling the en-suite kitchen makes them into a self-catering apartment. Neat.)
In all other respects we stayed in the Victoria Hotel itself, eating in the restaurant with others on the same dance holiday, danced in the capacious Warwick Ballroom, and relaxed in the charming and quiet Conservatory. And of course we had access to the pools, games and other leisure facilities, both inside and out.
With ample menu choices the food and service were very good, except on just one evening when many guests said that both were well below par. Dancing in the Warwick Ballroom was great, especially with the highly entertaining Kevin Bunclark who always manages to create a real party atmosphere. Contrary to what we had been told in advance, the ballroom did not smell musty, at least not in October. The staff were friendly and helpful, and they really have a ‘can do’ attitude. When my elderly laptop failed to connect to the TLH Wifi server, they tried very hard to get it fixed.
Our room was comfortable and well equipped, except for the lack of places to put things in the bathroom. Everything in the room worked fine and outside some jolly painters were making the hallways look like new. And the cost of our stay was reasonable, as were the bar prices.
Many of the TLH guests come by coach, so there was plenty of room for car parking. Our room was efficiently serviced each day while we were enjoying our breakfast, and the whole place seemed clean, tidy and bright. As did the guests, with no shortage of smiles, a bit of banter, and lots of impromptu chats with interesting and happy people. If you’re not feeling young at heart when you arrive, you will be before you leave.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonyrobindavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your glowing and comprehensive review of your recent stay with us at the Victoria, I was pleased to read that after reaching your expectations on a previous visit we were able to do so again on your latest break, all I can add is that we look forward to welcoming you back on another of our breaks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

All was great stay at friendly stuff. But only the food was not so great only
Fully recommended for those who are looking for family gather is a great place to stay . Tq to all the staff and crew for the wanderful stay

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank RichardT3881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for posting your very positive feedback, glad you enjoyed it and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

This was our 3rd visit for a themed weekend, The room was comfortable with a great view. Unfortunately the food was awful and the beer even worse. On the previous 2 visits both were adequate but this time they were both spectacularly bad! We stayed 3 nights but only ate dinner once. The food was grey and sad and very small portion of veg. (2 potatoes which would have fitted onto the soup spoon with room to spare!) Ample veg was seen on the way out of the room drying out and withering under heat lamps. The restaurant manager wasn't at all bothered and not interested in helping. Breakfast was swimming in grease and the fresh fruit salad definitely wasn't fresh. The beer in the Warwick ballroom bar was tepid, stale and badly kept. Very disappointing. We wont visit again.

Room Tip: Top floor front has good views
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 969diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent visit, I am sorry you did not enjoy this weekend but must point out that we had some very positive feedback from other guests who attended this break, I apologise that this was not the case for yourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Accommodation standard. Food not the best unfortunately. Staff not realy interested in helping .drinks prices are very good .swimming pool lovely and good cleanliness of pool.rooms need updating .ideal for a cheap family getaway. More family orientatd and seems to be focused on coach partys .

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Victoria, I can only apologise that you felt the team were disinterested in your comments as I can assure you this is not the case as we value all of our guests, I am sorry we did not reach your expectations on this occaision.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

This year was our third visit to the Vitoria Hotel in Torquay, all with Glenton Select Holidays from Central Scotland.
This year we were in company with 3 couples who also had been on
the same holiday before.
The Victoria is an exceptional hotel which is a fun-filled resort by itself. There are outdoor and indoor swimming pools . a relaxing spa , gym with 40 work stations, table tennis, ten pin bowling , pool and table tennis The large indoor swimming pool measures 25 mtr and is kept at 29 degrees The Victoria offers a most varied programme of daytime activities suitable for all ages and also a wide programme of evening entertainment
The dining room features an elegant domed roof . It serves a great variety of well cooked meals. Plenty of choices for all courses. And a goodly supply of potatoes and different vegetables each night Breakfast is of a self serve nature and there is everything one could wish for available Both continental and home cooked .
There is the Windsor Bar in which guests can relax. And there is a conservatory and lounge in which afternoon tea/coffee and biscuits is served each day at 3.30.
During our holiday Glenton arranged trips to Buckfast Abbey , Totnes, Exeter, and Brixham and Paignton.
Actually we didn't go on the Exeter day ( as we' gone there on previous holidays) but instead we took a locally arranged ( in the Tourist Office directly across the road from the hotel) day tour which involved an open top bus to Paignton,.a vintage steam train to Kingswear a small ferry across the river Dart to Dartmouth and a positively delightful hour and a half cruise on a small coal-fired paddle steamer . We discovered that this is the last example of its kind .
The bedroom we had in the VIctoria was very comfortable.
The staff we met with were all most polite and courteous. In particular we'd mention the newly appointed dining room manager and the head receptionist, who we had known from previous visits
One thing in particular about this lady was that one morning when we were walking along the attractive promenade in Torquay, this lady was out walking her dog and recognised us She stopped and chatted for about ten minutes. We hadn't recognised her -- as we had not previously seen her out of uniform!
That, we felt, just showed how staff value and appreciate having 'regular' (now) guests.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John F, General Manager at TLH Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post your extremely positive and comprehensive review of your recent stay with us at the Victoria, I was pleased to read that you were able to enjoy some of our many and varied facilities of which we are extremely proud, I will also pass on your comments to the team as they do enjoy hearing that their efforts are appreciated, all I can add is that we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews