We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor service”
Review of Green Ginger

Green Ginger
Ranked #27 of 52 Quick Bites in Torquay
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This must be the worst of J D Ws Pubs no member of staff would or did not want to serve us Some were standing around doing nothing as we did not have the APP to order you felt you were not wanted Will tell others about this WE DID NOT STAY

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Service
2  Thank malagajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have been into many Wetherspoons around the country and this has the slowest service. Min 15 mins for a drinks order to be delivered and the place is sparsely populated. Tables not cleaned quickly when people leave. Staff are fine and working hard but something us not right. The app for ordering did not have the guest ales available. Simply not impressed with this one will choose elsewhere next time.

Date of visit: May 2021
2  Thank Martin6748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my partner came for a couple of drinks and a burger.
After ordering on the app we waited 30 minutes then spoke to a member of staff to ask where our drinks were. He said there’s a 50 minute wait atm!!!
We eventually got the drink then food which was tepid then our drinks that came with the meal arrived about 15 minute after we’d eaten.
My partner had an upset stomach not long after we left.

Date of visit: May 2021
2  Thank judith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at 11am for breakfast. Ordered at 11.14. More than 90 minutes later, still no food. They then came over and said they had run out of eggs, and would we like anything else. Pretty pointless breakfast without eggs but we agreed to swap. Then, 3 out of the 5 breakfasts arrived. The other 2 never showed up. They were delivering breakfasts to other tables without completing the orders they had. Staff were more interested in finding tables for people coming in, packing people in during covid restrictions. We asked for the manager but he never showed up. It took 45 minutes for someone to turn up, who admitted they would have shut the doors hours ago if it was up to them but head office wouldn’t let them. The manager apparently had gone off sick. Then, he came back and to be fair gave us a complete refund for everything but apparently the manager, who had been off sick allegedly 6 minutes before, had questioned this also. How could he challenge it? We mentioned we wanted something to eat on the street outside and someone said don’t go to Wetherspoons as it’s an hour wait, we’ve just walked out! It was bad yesterday but not this bad. A complete shambles and an establishment to be avoided. Needs better and fresh management.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank ashm258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Took along time to get in and no one was social distancing what so ever. Got in and was just told our table number. Had to find the table ourselves. We ordered our food on the app that was not working someone come and took the order but waited for a while for that and then waited over an hour for our drinks. But you want your drinks with ur meal. Us as a family thought they were taking the piss.Manageress was rude too. I think the manageress needs to learn people skills. Under staffed. No one told us to do the track and trace but we as a family did it anyway. We are local and will not be back in a hurry.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank slap2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Ginger also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Green Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.