We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,829)
Filter reviews
2,829 results
Traveller rating
873
913
560
291
192
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
873
913
560
291
192
Show reviews that mention
All reviews compass bar hotel garage sea view train station agatha christie cream tea lounge bar public areas outdoor pool sunday lunch sea front leisure facilities some tlc bit dated waiting staff short break biscuits
Filter
Updating list...
632 - 637 of 2,829 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We have just returned from 2 nights at Grand Hotel . The reception staff were very efficient and extremely helpful. We upgraded to include evening dinner which turned out to be a great idea . It was quite expensive in the restaurant but we were able to find menu items to suit our pockets. The waiting staff were very good and very friendly.
All the public areas around the lobby area were very clean & tidy with plenty of easy chairs and seating areas
We ate lunch in the brasserie and enjoyed our meals, with only a minimal wait for the food to arrive. The waitress was very efficient and friendly. We were on the 2nd floor with a sea view room, all very tidy with a huge bathroom , tv etc. We had a quirky sash window which we could step through onto a small balcony.
Lovely views from the window all along the seafront, quite a long flat walk to the harbour area , plenty of eating places along the harbour area and shops. .
Some areas in the hotel need some TLC but the public areas are kept very well.
We ran out of time to spend time at the spa but it looked very nice.
We were lucky enough to get indoor parking on site.
All in all a very nice few days in a very pleasant area.
Places to visit nearby would be Cockington VIllage, Paignton,Brixham , Dartmouth.

We liked the old fashioned splender of the building, some people may not it's all a matter of taste. A great trip.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hazel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Dear Hazel K,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your 2 night stay at The Grand.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel, and found the food and service throughout to be of a high standard, and you found the time to enjoy the delights Torquay has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

The front of the property has excellent vews over the bay. The retaurant and cafe are nice and has a well stocked bar. Parking can be a bit tricky but I did manage to find a space free of charge on the road next to the hotel. Excellent position for train travellers.

Room Tip: Sea views are good.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jamesmK3843ZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Dear James M,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and the Brasserie and Compass Lounge were to your satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Booked a double room a week before departure for £89 including breakfast. Pleasantly suprised at the hotel and room, having paid a lot more for a lot less in the past. Grand by name and nature, a large hotel with impressive fixtures. Very helpful staff and superb breakfast. Room was not a sea view but was a good size and well appointed. As the weather was excellent we sat outside on the patio area which was very pleasant with waiter service. Parking spaces were limited but available. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: A sea view room would be a good choice.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simonthejeweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Dear Simonthejeweller,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to read you found your stay to be an enjoyable one, and you found our name befitting your experience, along with our helpful staff and superb breakfast.

We do strive to offer great value to all of our guest and I am pleased that you found this to be the case.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

This is one of the old school with a bit of a revamp to the rooms but generally a bit sad - the most initially disturbing point was a smell of damp when I came in to the lobby - there is some mould somewhere around!
Staffwere helpful enough when asked but it would have been nce to hear about the parking vouchers before I trolled around the area looking for the parking they said was available. When I returned frustrated the receptionist gave a voucher and I parked in the railway station across the road.
Rooms OK - though 1st morning I couldn't get the shower to work.
Quiet and a decent bed so a good sleep.
Breakfast OK - I found the "to order" options and went for smoked salmon then haddock (which came with scrmbled egg instead of the poached on the menu)
All in all a reasonable stay but not great,.

Room Tip: Ask for one nearer the body of the hotel as the corridors go on for ever....
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TerryParad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Dear TerryParad,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your recent stay with us.

I am disappointed to read your comments and have shared these with the relevant departmental managers. I am unsure of your comments regarding the damp smell at Reception you mention and will continue to monitor this over the coming weeks.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Drove down to Torquay to collect a car , spent the night st the Grand Hotel , it was quite expensive for what it was, the restaurant closed at 9-30pm sharp , even tho the bar said 10 , best we could get was a burger , after a 7 hour drive , we left sharp the next morning after breakfast , Which was ok but not great , keep you waiting for tea , also they charge on booking for car parking , it's in the street outside the hotel ? Or in the railway station across the road ? I wasn't impressed . There's better places around, that are cheaper .

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank Jamie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter W, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Dear Jamie Y,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your recent stay at our hotel.

Our Restaurant 1881 does close at 9.30pm, and whilst we do try to accommodate guests who arrive after this, it does depend on what food is left and how far the kitchen close down has progressed, however as you mention we do offer food in our Brasserie until 10pm.

I am confused by your comments regarding charging for parking, as this is something we do not do, and indeed we pay a considerable sum at our own expense for renting spaces at both the train station and rugby club, and this charge is not passed onto guests.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews