We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!!”
Review of Bygones

Bygones
Ranked #8 of 65 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Just visited Bygones on a wet Good Friday afternoon. Very reasonable entry fee with a very friendly welcome.

They were running a children's competition to find Easter eggs dotted around the displays - great idea to get the children to slow down and look hard. My son was thrilled to complete the competition and get his prize. Thank you!

The displays are truly amazing - so much better than I was expecting. They are over three floors: Victorian shops in a mock up street, various rooms from a Victorian and home, WW1 and WW2 displays, numerous train memorabilia, old fashioned games you can play with old coins (exchange modern money for old money).

We spent about 1.5-2hrs looking at the displays. They also have a cafe & toilets but we didn't use them.

Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BYGONES B, Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Many thanks for your visit and detailed review! As a family run business it means a lot to us to have satisfied customers, we hope you will visit again. We run seasonal children's activities across the year, just check our 'what's on' section on the website!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"victorian street"
in 108 reviews
"steam engine"
in 42 reviews
"victorian times"
in 43 reviews
"world war"
in 29 reviews
"amazing collection"
in 22 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 138 reviews
"three floors"
in 39 reviews
"queen victoria"
in 19 reviews
"victorian era"
in 23 reviews
"family run"
in 17 reviews
"down memory lane"
in 16 reviews
"sweet shop"
in 20 reviews
"model railway"
in 35 reviews
"step back in time"
in 57 reviews
"sound effects"
in 28 reviews
"full size"
in 19 reviews
"rainy day"
in 65 reviews
Filter

26 - 30 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018

Fascinating collection of memories from one's childhood - though a bit pricey to get in.

Well worth a visit - and DOG-FRIENDLY into the bargain.

Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BYGONES B, Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Many thanks for your visit and positive feedback. We are a family run business and of course our prices are inclusive of VAT, we are glad you found it value for money and with the bonus of bringing the dog!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

We went here whilst in Torquay for the weekend . It is bigger than it first appears and make sure you look at everything slowly as there is so much stuff on display you have to make sure to look at every thing so as to see it all .The Victorian street was very good and they have a full size train inside as well. The tea room was also very good. Visit it if you can .

Thank roadman1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BYGONES B, Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Many thanks, we are glad to know you enjoyed your visit. Many people do not realise the sheer scale of what we have inside as it is deceptive from the front! There certainly is lots to ponder over!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

....local attractin for us but have never boon! Very interesting and enjoyable afternoon and if you are a certain age, takes you back to being with Grandma etc. Well worth a visit

Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BYGONES B, Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Many thanks for your visit and review, we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Well worth a visit. Loads to look at.
Tells a tale of how it came to be along the way. Cafe was closed on our visit unfortunately.

Thank Richie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BYGONES B, Manager at Bygones, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Many thanks for your visit, we are glad you enjoyed it. We regret that the cafe was closed on your visit, it is open daily with the rest of the museum however in this instance of snow (which we have twice opened in this wintery March) the cafe staff were not able to make it in. Apologies. We hope you will visit again, in which case the cafe will be open for you to sample our cakes and scones!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bygones also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Bygones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing