We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ”
Review of Kents Cavern

Kents Cavern
Ranked #5 of 65 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kents Cavern is by far Britain's most important prehistoric cave used by ancient humans for the last 500,000 years including Neanderthals and early modern humans. The caves are open every day for guide tours, 7 days a week with natural caverns, amazing natural formations, remains of mammoth, woolly rhino, sabre-toothed cats, an Ice Age woodland trail quest, nice shop and cafe with views over the Ilsham Valley. The closest hotel to the attraction is the Gleneagles, inspiration for TV's Fawlty Towers. We are 2km from Torquay Harbour and only 15 mins walk from the South West Coast Path and local beaches, well-known to previous visitors like Agatha Christie, Beatrix Potter, George V, Alfred Wallace and Charles Darwin. Perfect for a rainy or sunny day by the seas, winter or summer.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed the tour. Our guide was really knowledgeable and brilliant with our 9yr old son. They were running a competition to find Easter eggs hidden around the caverns with letters on that spell a word. My son was thrilled to complete the competition.

1  Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara B, Manager at Kents Cavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Glad you guys enjoyed visiting us over Easter :).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tour guide"
in 245 reviews
"woodland trail"
in 54 reviews
"cave system"
in 42 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 187 reviews
"rainy day"
in 112 reviews
"gift shop"
in 106 reviews
"all ages"
in 102 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 28 reviews
"adults and children"
in 35 reviews
"sense of humour"
in 31 reviews
"value for money"
in 83 reviews
"car park"
in 72 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 47 reviews
"well worth the money"
in 28 reviews
"cream tea"
in 38 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 39 reviews
"caves"
in 1,262 reviews
Filter

19 - 23 of 2,374 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked a last minute Easter Break & decided on Good Friday morning to visit the caves. Arrived early & after a short wait we went on the 11am tour. Thoroughly enjoyed it & very interesting. Our guide James, was very good & I've finally found someone who tells worse jokes than me.

2  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara B, Manager at Kents Cavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for coming - sorry about the jokes ;).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I got a lot of new information which I did not know before our tour guide was funny helpful friendly with a log of information about the cave

Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara B, Manager at Kents Cavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Sara!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I happened upon Kent’s Cavern while looking for something to do on an especially rainy day.
Our guide Dave was very accommodating and knowledgeable. Walking around the caves and learning about the history was very interesting and it is accessible for people of all abilities.
The tour lasted for about an hour and costed just £10 which we thought was good value for money.
Upon exiting there is a lovely cafe in which I had a cream tea and a gift shop.
I would recommend this to people of all ages.

Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara B, Manager at Kents Cavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving us a review Emma, glad you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The caverns are very interesting and the guide was very good in his explanation and giving people time to look around and answering questions. There is not a lot else to do apart from the café and a very short (10 min) woodland trail

1  Thank karenshears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara B, Manager at Kents Cavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for coming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kents Cavern also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Kents Cavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing