We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Haytor Hotel(Torquay)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$100
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$202
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Marstan(Torquay)
US$142
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bentley Lodge(Torquay)
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
21
4
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
4
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge showermodel villagetwo nightsnight staysloopmicrowavemarionlandladybabbacombe
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

Fantastic views, brilliant friendly and helpful staff. Great choice of menus with great prices to match. Wonderful real ales! We cannot fault it we love it here! We visited the model village too, just up the road, fantastic!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank wendy_harvey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buccaneermanagement, Owner at The Buccaneer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Thanks for the lovely review Wendy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Nice and clean inside and outside, very friendly staff, lovely meals and snacks from the Restaurant, very large room with all you need plus toaster and microwave, fantastic views from a large enclosed section with eating area, a real comfy double bed, plenty of storage drawers and what makes a change is a large shower, Well done to the owners Steve and Marian and all the staff Thank you !

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RayCon53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buccaneermanagement, Owner at The Buccaneer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Thanks for the lovely review; it was a pleasure having you here! Kind regards, Steve and Marion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Visited here to meet friends with the intention of dining after a few drinks. I ordered a pint of bitter which appeared to be "cloudy". On returning to the bar and complaining I was told by the barman and then by the landlord/manager that there was nothing wrong with the beer and was refused a refund or change of beer. This is bad practise and I would suggest that the incompetent manager and staff refer to their Inkeeping manual(should they have one) to learn how to treat their customers and look after their beer. This review is posted by a retired publican and long time real ale drinker.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank eng1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buccaneermanagement, Owner at The Buccaneer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Congratulations – by posting this review you have made yourself look an even bigger fool than you did with your arrogant bombastic attitude on the night you visited! When you bought your clear as a bell (not cloudy!) pint back to the bar stating there was something wrong with it, you had at least ten people seated around you who were drinking the same beer from the same cask enjoying every sip. Those who overheard your unjustified complaint were astounded, and did actually point out to me that you are a regular patron at a nearby competitor establishment. Perhaps that’s the reason for the complaint and this review, or maybe you were just showing off in front of your friends, or perhaps your judgement (and taste buds) have simply been clouded since your retirement from the profession.
As you witnessed, I tried the ale you were drinking both from the pump and then a sample from your glass to make sure it wasn’t tainted somehow, and it was as beautiful a pint of Tribute as we always serve. This is the reason (along with your arrogant attitude) that you were not given a refund, because in this case the customer is certainly not always right. If I thought for a second you were correct, your beer would have been replaced immediately and a sincere apology offered. Our cask ales are always served in peak condition, with pride.
I have no idea what an innkeeping manual is (if one actually exists), but as landlord of this well respected establishment I have many years experience with real ales from both sides of the bar, backed up by in depth cellar training. This pub is Cask Marque accredited (attaining 100% for 5 years on the trot), has featured in the CAMRA good beer guide, and won the best kept ales award for the whole St. Austell brewery estate of over 200 pubs.
Readers of your review will make up their own minds whether it is justified based on all of the above…...I doubt you will find many supporters (outside of your regular drinking spot of course).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

I used this venue twice this year for drinks and meals in August we sat outside and had a large bowl of garlic mussels and a few drinks it's great.We went again in December it was just as good a great choice of main meal's and bar meal's. I would advise anyone visiting this area to give it a go it's great.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buccaneermanagement, Owner at The Buccaneer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Hi Roger, many thanks for your great review, its much appreciated. However, it has been placed on the 'hotel' review page for our guest rooms which is why you will not have been able to score our food. There is a trip advisor review page for the Buccaneer under 'restaurants' if you don't mind taking the time to review us there. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

We saw this pub a few weeks ago on a weekend away to Babbacombe, it looked so inviting, we had a meal and drinks but as the 2 rooms were booked out we were unable to stay. This trip we stayed. There are 2 large rooms above the pub. We stayed in the Sloop room. Stunning. Beautifully decorated, and furnished. lovely bathroom and large shower. At the front stunning sea views in a closed balcony with table and chairs, microwave, toaster, fridge, kettle, plates, cutlery. Everything you could want and you would only need to ask for anything and it wouldn't be a problem. The pub is really clean and very well run. The staff were always attentive, hard working and friendly. Doggy friendly too. The owners Marian and Steve made us very welcome. The weather was due to snow so we were told we could leave as late as we needed to and we could have stayed another night if we needed. The food served was hot and delicious, and very quick service. 10% discount for guests. Cant wait to stay here again. Fantastic

Room Tip: 2 rooms both stunning with panoramic views
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buccaneermanagement, Owner at The Buccaneer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Thanks for the lovely review Tracey, we look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews