We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”
Review of Marquis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marquis Hotel
Ranked #36 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Reviewed 27 September 2017

I find it hard to put this hotel down because the staff here were wonderful....but down part was the hotel just needs revamping husband booked the room and we had the family room but it was nothing like on the picture even though it was quite clean everything did need an extra clean...light shade was missing ,there was no lock on the window ...but we did really enjoy it not what I'm use to and I've stayed in better places for less money...but we chose the marquis for the parking as the weekend was because husband was working and needed a good carport to park a sprinter van...and I will say we would stay again

Stayed: September 2017
Thank ssammi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarquisHotel, Front Office Manager at Marquis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. A lot of Hotels don't have free parking, which can make a visit to Torquay very expensive. Yes, we are still in the process of re-furbishing some of the rooms.
kind regards

Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017

Brilliant stayed for 7 nights 4th time we have stayed at this hotel one of the best we will not stay anywhere else now going again as soon as we can afford it is clean rooms superb breakfast is to die for staff very helpful and polite even when they are finishing work they still smile and speak great to see 10 min walk to the beach 20mins from torquay town center good view from the balcony the owner is a very nice man well I could go on and on go for yourself and see and be happy have a great time we got home 25/09/2017 thanks see you all soon

Room Tip: the frenly staff will help
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarquisHotel, Front Office Manager at Marquis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you so much for your fantastic review ! We look forward to seeing you soon, and let us know if you would like the same room.

Kind regards

Michele

Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Had an good stay at the hotel great location comfy beds and the staff were very friendly. Breakfast was nice and you get great views from the dinning room which was better than the view from my sea view room but overall a solid 8/10 for me

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarquisHotel, Front Office Manager at Marquis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you very much for your high score.

Our dining room view has to be one of the best in Torquay and the guests love it !!
It doesn't matter which table you sit at, you will always have a sea view.

Kind regards

Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

this was a great location staff very friendly breakfast ok toast was always cold asked for sea view when we got there they forgot and had none left the towels were dirty so left them on the floor for the cleaner to change them but she just picked them up and put them back on bed no heating we got cold and wet one day hoping they would put it on but no room needs updating they allowed dogs while we were having breakfast guest would let there dogs out poo an the garden and not pick it up which is not good when children play on the garden which is a shame because I would have liked to go back there

Room Tip: cant at the moment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarquisHotel, Front Office Manager at Marquis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you for you feedback, yes, it is a great location. I am sorry to hear you did not get the room you asked for, I was unaware of this. Towels do normally get changed, so I will follow this up. We are a dog friendly Hotel, but unfortunately we are not responsible for the behaviour of dogs or their owners. Having said that, it goes without saying that we expect them to do what every other responsible dog owner does. This is a shame because most of our guests are responsible, otherwise we would
have to stop allowing dogs into the Hotel. It is also a shame that you did not come and speak to reception

Kind regards
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

This hotel is very clean,the meals are brilliant,maybe portions are a little small for some people,but plenty of variation.The staff are ver helpful and go out of their way to help.The reason I did not give it 5* was a couple of minor issues.No hand rail,on some of the stairs,no lift,and the gardens could do with a bit of TLC. Brilliant roof terrace,over looking Torquay Bay and English channel.

Room Tip: Front of hotel,overlooking the bay and english channel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raybuxton15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarquisHotel, Front Office Manager at Marquis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your meals and were very happy with our customer service. Please do not hesitate to ask for seconds if you are still feeling hungry. Hand rails are on all of the stairs, but in this case I know you would have needed a room with hand rails in the bathroom... Unfortunately on this occasion we did not have this type of room available for you.

Our garden is as you have mentioned in need of some TLC and we will try and get this sorted....

Kind regards Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 km away
The Belgrave Sands Hotel & Spa
0.1 km away
John Burton-Race Restaurant & Rooms
0.3 km away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#49 of 85 in Torquay
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Yardley Manor Hotel
Yardley Manor Hotel
#48 of 85 in Torquay
371 reviews
0.9 km away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#26 of 85 in Torquay
635 reviews
0.3 km away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#31 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: $101 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marquis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful Marquis Hotel was built in the 19th century as a holiday home for the 3rd Marquis of Bute. Around 1920 it was converted into a fine hotel and retains many of the original features a number of sea facing rooms.In 2013 the hotel has undergone a major renovation. The hotel has a private entrance to the Riviera Conference Centre with access to tennis, bowls and 9 hole pitch and putt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Marquis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis Hotel Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing