We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveller rating
163
122
68
32
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
122
68
32
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining room roof terrace sea front family room buffet style breakfast car park between courses coach party on arrival ground floor patio doors mid week break fried bread lovely hotel flat screen tv clean hotel coach trip
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 401 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Brilliant stayed for 7 nights 4th time we have stayed at this hotel one of the best we will not stay anywhere else now going again as soon as we can afford it is clean rooms superb breakfast is to die for staff very helpful and polite even when they are finishing work they still smile and speak great to see 10 min walk to the beach 20mins from torquay town center good view from the balcony the owner is a very nice man well I could go on and on go for yourself and see and be happy have a great time we got home 25/09/2017 thanks see you all soon

Room Tip: the frenly staff will help
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarquisHotel, Front Office Manager at Marquis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you so much for your fantastic review ! We look forward to seeing you soon, and let us know if you would like the same room.

Kind regards

Michele

Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Had an good stay at the hotel great location comfy beds and the staff were very friendly. Breakfast was nice and you get great views from the dinning room which was better than the view from my sea view room but overall a solid 8/10 for me

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Eugene8829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarquisHotel, Front Office Manager at Marquis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you very much for your high score.

Our dining room view has to be one of the best in Torquay and the guests love it !!
It doesn't matter which table you sit at, you will always have a sea view.

Kind regards

Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

this was a great location staff very friendly breakfast ok toast was always cold asked for sea view when we got there they forgot and had none left the towels were dirty so left them on the floor for the cleaner to change them but she just picked them up and put them back on bed no heating we got cold and wet one day hoping they would put it on but no room needs updating they allowed dogs while we were having breakfast guest would let there dogs out poo an the garden and not pick it up which is not good when children play on the garden which is a shame because I would have liked to go back there

Room Tip: cant at the moment
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarquisHotel, Front Office Manager at Marquis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you for you feedback, yes, it is a great location. I am sorry to hear you did not get the room you asked for, I was unaware of this. Towels do normally get changed, so I will follow this up. We are a dog friendly Hotel, but unfortunately we are not responsible for the behaviour of dogs or their owners. Having said that, it goes without saying that we expect them to do what every other responsible dog owner does. This is a shame because most of our guests are responsible, otherwise we would
have to stop allowing dogs into the Hotel. It is also a shame that you did not come and speak to reception

Kind regards
Reception Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

This hotel is very clean,the meals are brilliant,maybe portions are a little small for some people,but plenty of variation.The staff are ver helpful and go out of their way to help.The reason I did not give it 5* was a couple of minor issues.No hand rail,on some of the stairs,no lift,and the gardens could do with a bit of TLC. Brilliant roof terrace,over looking Torquay Bay and English channel.

Room Tip: Front of hotel,overlooking the bay and english channel
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raybuxton15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarquisHotel, Front Office Manager at Marquis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your meals and were very happy with our customer service. Please do not hesitate to ask for seconds if you are still feeling hungry. Hand rails are on all of the stairs, but in this case I know you would have needed a room with hand rails in the bathroom... Unfortunately on this occasion we did not have this type of room available for you.

Our garden is as you have mentioned in need of some TLC and we will try and get this sorted....

Kind regards Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We arrived two hours early at the Marquis Hotel, Torquay but we were allowed to book in early thanks to the friendly staff.

The staff at breakfast were so helpful and the breakfast was fantastic, freshly made full English and we found the staff friendly and very attentive.

The bedroom was warm clean and comfortable also.

I would definitely go back to the Hotel.

Hugh and Margaret
Westbury on Trym
Bristol

Room Tip: The rooms were airy and comfortable
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank shuggiemac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarquisHotel, Receptionist at Marquis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2017

Hello Hugh & Margaret,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! The team will be very pleased with your comments.

It's great to hear you would come and visit us again, we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Sam
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews