We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cimon
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveller rating
332
81
12
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
332
81
12
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree pool tableheated poolfull englishtown centrebreakfast was excellentfresh fruitsuperior roomlovely hotelwarm welcomesea viewnew ownersfour poster bedwould highly recommend this hotelcar parkon arrivalleave the carweekend stay
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 432 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2018

We will be back for sure. This is really Excellent accommodation and with lovely breakfast. The hotel is on several on several bus routes and within easy walking distance of all amenities and the town centre. Family run and really pleasant and friendly. The is ample good off-road parking at the rear of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobclive47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoandMarkWarden, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you for the brilliant comments. We're glad you found the guest house warm and welcoming and that breakfast set you up for the day. As you say we are close to many attractions and the town centre as well as being blessed with close public transport links to go further afield and back again. It will be great to see you again when you are next in Torquay - perhaps while the pool is open :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Arrived to a friendly welcome from the staff, Rooms were spotlessly clean, comfortable bed and modern compact bathroom. Weather was chilly but the heating was on, plus an auxiliary electric heater available. There was a bottle of Prosecco in the 'fridge and ample tea/coffee makings in place. Breakfast was very good, great choice of cereals and fresh fruit, a vegetarian option for the 'Full English' and plenty of tea and coffee as required. Owners and staff were helpful, (including the young weekend girls who were refreshingly attentive and smartly turned out). All in all a very pleasant weekend stay in this modest but homely hotel which was well placed as a base for the many local attractions. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoandMarkWarden, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you so much for all your lovely comments. We enjoyed having you all stay and are glad the locations and facilities suited you. We'd love to see you again when you are next in Torquay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel last night which was a gift from my family for Mother’s Day and when we arrived at the hotel last night we were made very welcome and when we were shown to our room and was delighted with the room we were given.it had a super kingsized bed which was very comfortable and our breakfast this morning was delicious nothing was too much trouble and the staff were very friendly we would definitely stay there again

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Junel1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoandMarkWarden, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay and that you enjoyed your Mother's Day gift. We're so glad you enjoyed the warm welcome and liked the room and breakfast. We hope to see you again when you are next in Torquay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

Initial experience extremely good with Jade’s very kind welcome (she is a great asset and nothing is too much trouble) but later experience upon simple request for small quantity of fresh milk for fridge in room (which was refused in a inhospitable manner) was shocking. We were told by the waitress who had asked the person in charge it was not possible and to visit Tesco one stop to purchase our own - not ideal when my husband is disabled with balance issues. Had we have been charged we would have been less offended but the total abrupt refusal upset us and tainted the entire experience. We did not exactly pay a budget price in the end as a result of a supplement we happily accepted as a result of a misfortunate change of dates due to family illness, but this petty inhospitality spoilt what was otherwise a positive experience. The accommodation is compact but very clean, breakfast hearty and even telephone conversations beforehand were very helpful however we were so upset at the refusal of such an uncostly request it was such a shame something so trivial tainted the start of our holiday.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoandMarkWarden, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thank you for your feedback from which we are pleased you commented on how helpful and welcoming you found the service here. As you say we had numerous telephone and email conversations before your stay. We managed to accommodate a change of date after you purchased a non-transferable voucher even though this meant your stay was half price. We did offer the large ground floor suite given your husband’s disability but you chose the upstairs balcony room, which we’re pleased you found clean and comfortable as well as enjoying the breakfast. We do provide milk in all the rooms for tea and coffee which is refreshed daily. You mentioned during breakfast service that you prefer different milk. You are welcome to take a top up of milk from the breakfast bar but we do not go to the shops on guests’ behalf, particularly during breakfast service. Its seems such as shame that you acknowledge the over and above services that we gladly provided for you, plus we answered questions on where to go on your days out, evening meals and even printed maps for you, and yet you’ve chosen to centre the emphasis of your review on sending a member of staff out to Tesco which would have impacted on the service we could give to other guests. I am left rather disappointed than you couldn’t come and speak to Jade or I directly before you left, given all our other conversations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

We arrived at the Cimon around 11 am with the intention of just parking the car and going for a walk as our booking in time was 2.30 pm. We were met by very friendly staff who told us we could book in straight away as the rooms were ready which was an instant bonus.
Two lovely rooms, ours with a four poster bed which was delightful.
A lovely bright and spacious room very clean and well decorated with a nice big very modern bathroom with a large and very efficient shower.
There was a fridge in the room with a nice bottle of Prosecco all nicely chilled which was included in the price.
In the morning the breakfast was excellent with a very good choice freshly cooked and very well served by the lovely staff.
The hotel is situated about 5 minutes walk from the shopping centre and also has a regular bus service down to the sea front.
I highly recommend this excellent hotel with lovely friendly staff.
Thank you Joanne, Mark and your lovely staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paddy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoandMarkWarden, Owner at The Cimon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Thank you so much for your terrific review. We're glad you liked the room and breakfast and enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you had a good relax while you were here. We hope to see you again when you get the chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews