We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cary Court Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$89
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$234
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$103
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$145
US$128
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Cleveland(Torquay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ravenswood(Torquay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveller rating
490
48
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
490
48
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbyo barfour poster bedshared balconygreat hostsswimming poolplaces to visitlocal areawarm welcomeguest houseenglish rivierafull englishsteep hillshort breaka wonderful staysecond to nonemany thanksgreat room
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 542 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Located in a lovely residential area of Torquay, Cary Court is a ten, or so, minute walk to the shops and harbour. Going is downhill, so the return may take longer. We were greeted as if old friends by Paul, and subsequently Linda. Both are charming and especially helpful with multiple suggestions on what to do, where to dine etc. The house is set in tropical style gardens with various timber floored areas where you can relax. The swimming pool was closed for the oncoming Winter season but that was no problem. We had the Mediterranean Room, located toward the rear of the house. The four poster bed is an attraction, but if you are tall you will likely reach the bed's end rather quickly. One oddity which confounded us was the on/off control for the shower. It is a cord, hanging from the ceiling and next to the bathroom door. Pull the cord and a red light illuminates on the control console inside the shower. Then turn on and select temperature. Never seen that arrangement before. Breakfasts are very good with the best smoked salmon and eggs or with cream cheese and bagel. The bacon also is excellent. I want more!
The home contains lots of interesting furnishings, features and family photographs. Car parking is available on site, but limited to a few spaces.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The front facing rooms give access to a small balcony, exclusively for those rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGfromTQ, Owner at Cary Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Whatto Chaps, great to hear from you. Thank you for the lovely review, so pleased that you enjoyed our home and your time with us albeit only three nights. Next time you are in the U.K. and hopefully stay with us at Cary Court you will have to book early for "Number Seven". We're going there tomorrow and, as usual, are sure that it will be great. Don't forget when we are in your part of the World we are likely to drop in for tea ! Have a safe journey back to Australia. Cheers for now Paul and Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

We thought the Cary Court was first rate! It is a beautiful house, lovingly maintained by Paul and Linda. Their hospitality was second to none and their local knowledge of the area was invaluable. Our room (The Carribbean) was really lovely as was the breakfast.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

I hadn't been to Torquay for 40 years it's certainly got bigger. There is not much beach but seems very busy even after the schools have gone back. The guest house was excellent Paul and Linda make you very welcome nothing too much trouble. The only thing I found after we had left and read the brochure after another couple pointed it out was we were never shown the gym not that I'm sure whether we would use it but it would have been nice to have had the option That is in the brochure but the pool and gardens and verander were beautiful.

Room Tip: Premier room
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devon1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGfromTQ, General Manager at Cary Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Hi Devon1956,
Many thanks for your super review. it was very nice to meet you both. Glad that you enjoyed Torquay again after a 40 year break . You are right we don't have a huge beach when the tide is in but in the " out " period there's loads of it to play on & have fun in the rock pools. The sometimes inclement weather didn't deter you from getting about so you were able to see & do a lot whilst you were here . Sorry that you felt that you missed out on the exercise room but the reason Paul didn't tell you about it when he did his tour of all of our facilities is that we don't have it any more. It was never used enough so its now a store. The only reference to it is a small photo on our brochure. When we reprint that too will be gone. We look forward to seeing you again ...we hope that you won't leave it another 40 years !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Another great relaxing weekend we went with good friends and the friendly service we received you could not get better.Paul and Linda provide a great full English breakfast that lasts all day.
We all will come back

Room Tip: Al rooms are great
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nigelbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGfromTQ, Owner at Cary Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Hi Nigel,
Its always nice to see returning guests & when they bring along their friends that's even better !! Its nice to have a giggle with you all & we look forward to the next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We stayed here at the beginning of Sept and could of not picked a better place Paul And Linda make you so welcome from the minute you arrive,breakfast is great the gardens are stunning the koi fish stunning,lovely rooms well done Paul and Linda for making us feel special we will be back

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephencQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGfromTQ, Owner at Cary Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Hi Stephen & Ann,
It was a pleasure having you here for your holiday. Its a long way to come from Northumberland so we are happy to hear that you enjoyed it. The shops of Torquay definitely enjoyed Ann's presence .I hope that our scales were accurate & there were no excess weight charges on your flight home !!! Hope to see you again soon. Best wishes .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews