We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab fab weekend”
Review of The Hotel Balmoral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #16 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2017

Just got to are vrist to this lovely place the food and rooms are wonderful 4/5 star it must be out party of 7 just rave on about it the staff are so kind lovely nothing is to much trouble for any of them and the food we never stop eating all in the package for weekender great can't wait to go back rebook ed once again brill

Room Tip: All the 25 rooms are fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dee42d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2017

We were greeted with the news that there was a cream tea for us when we were ready! The room was clean, staff friendly and food very good. The hotel is in a very quiet part of the town but only a short distance from a beach.
Aswe don't have a car we had to rely on the hourly bus service but the stop is right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a cosy room which doesn't have a chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annepV2450UX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

On arrival we were made very welcome with a Devon cream tea, really tasty. Our room was large, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Staff were polite, friendly and very professional. Every meal of our four day stay was wonderful, varied menu, very generous portions and delicious, I think we all gained a few pounds. I can only praise and recommend this hotel as one of the best I've ever stayed in. Just go try it, you won't be disappointed. My recommendation excellent

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

We stayed in a cosy room on a midweek break.
Room was warm and clean all you need
5 course evening meals were impressive and an excellent choice for both the evening meals and breakfasts which were also excellent.
Staff were polite,attentive and efficient.Nice garden to sit in outside must be lovely in the summer.Overall we were greatly impressed especially for the cost and we will definitely return again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank peterbarrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

The hotel and location were lovely. Quite intimate and cosy. I was travelling alone and felt very comfortable sitting in the lounge and bar by myself. All the other guests were very friendly too. Such a short walk to Meadfoot beach (about a 2 minute walk!) And took me only about 13 minutes to walk into Torquay town/harbour.
I was upgraded from a single to double room on my arrival (without even asking!) which I thought was lovely.
The radiator in my room didn't work properly, but I was given a plug in radiator/heater which gave off lots of heat and kept me very warm and toasty, and as i was only there for two nights i said no need to send someone in to fix it, so was not a problem.
Breakfast was really lovely. Couldn't fault that at all.
I hope to stay there again one day! And hopefully next time the weather will be warmer and dryer - so I can sit out and enjoy the lovely garden more. (you can see the sea from the garden!)

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlyclair2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.2 km away
The Headland Hotel
The Headland Hotel
#12 of 85 in Torquay
956 reviews
0.7 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,239 reviews
0.1 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#26 of 85 in Torquay
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#10 of 85 in Torquay
671 reviews
1.8 km away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#15 of 85 in Torquay
418 reviews
1.8 km away
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Balmoral

Address: Meadfoot Sea Road, Torquay TQ1 2LQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#11 Family Hotel in Torquay
#23 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range: $114 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel Balmoral 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Balmoral - set in a superb Torquay location overlooking some of the most beautiful coastal scenery on the English Riviera. Elegantly furnished and decorated public rooms give the hotel a restful, welcoming atmosphere with a touch of class, which is matched by the hospitality provided. The Hotel Balmoral stands in its own secluded grounds in a quiet, peaceful setting, yet close to all the amenities and attractions of Torquay Devon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Torquay
The Hotel Balmoral Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing