We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Marstan(Torquay)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$147
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$130
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orestone Manor(Torquay)
Book now, pay at stay
US$208
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$124
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (543)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveller rating
183
219
97
34
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
183
219
97
34
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshearings holidayshearings hotelsself drivecoach driverper daybus stopour waiterentertainment every nightbuffet breakfastevery eveningspecial thanksbus serviceprunesgreat holidayexcellent value for moneyfriendly hotelnewton abbot
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 544 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2018

A very pleasant 4 days hotel not posh but homely very nice. Room with all amenities all praise must be given to the staff full of enthusiasm and wanting to serve Thank you all we will be back very soon Leslie Wendy

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary P, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Dear Leslie

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your break and I will pass your comments onto our team here at the hotel.

Kind Regards
Gary Price
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Just returned from May Bank holiday 3 night break, the four of us were very impressed, we did pay for an upgraded room and parking, but still worth every penny, and with the added bonus of 4 drinks vouchers per person each day, and breakfast and evening meals it was a bargain at under £155 per person. The food was good, and I noticed people on the next table asking for extra rolls/portions so if you were really hungry you could ask for more, but having 3 courses and a drink is ample really. Breakfast buffet very good too, plenty of choice, only negative-no mushrooms, my favourite.
Staff all friendly, especially one lady who was manning the bar/reception and making snacks all in one go on the Saturday afternoon. Our waiter was training and he was doing a wonderful job.The entertainment was good, bingo/quiz and a singer.
Our room over looked a lovely leafy suburban area, it was lovely and quiet.
Will definitely return when I get a weekend off.
After staying in around 8 different Bay hotels I personally believe this to be the best.

Room Tip: Standard plus is more than worth the upgrade, spacious and clean
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HelmarkCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary P, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Thank you for your review of the Tor Park Hotel, I am really pleased that your enjoyed your Bank holiday break and you enjoyed your meals and accommodation.

I will share your comments with the team her who do go the extra mile to make your staff as enjoyable as possible.

Kind Regards
Gary Price
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

My wife and myself went here for a short break, and we found the Hotel itself was in need of re-furbishing similar we have decided to most Shearings Hotels we seem to visit these days. Our room was reasonable room 57, but we had very noisy neighbours who persisted in slamming their doors of their room and the furniture itself, we later understood they had a Domestic which was the answer we had thought, they should have moved out of the Hotel and did it elsewhere instead of spoiling peoples hard earned Holiday Breaks. They were just ignorant people !! The food in the Restaurant was reasonable for breakfast, although it was Buffet Breakfast, and we are now used to Shearings Buffets, on the mmenu it clearly stated that Grapefruit Segments, Prunes, Yoghurts and fresh fruit were on the Buffet, we clearly never witnessed anything of the sorts. Yet more cut backs from Shearings no doubt. The 3 course Evening Meals were virtually in-edible and the cooking of them was a disgrace, the selection of vegetables looke diabolical and mostly in-edible once again. My husband actually lost weight whilst staying here, and this is not what a Holiday should be about, we shared table No 38 with another couple who felt exactly as we both did. We have been all over with Shearings and shoud qualify by now for a long term loyalty award, which we had been told we should have received, but have heard nothing further regarding receiving this. We shall now be considering other Travel Companies to be taking our 5/6 Holidays per year with including our Foreign Travel in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BALI2007BALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary P, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write you review of the Tor Park hotel, I am sorry you did not fully enjoy your break here and did not enjoy the evening meals. We do receive many positive comments about our food but I will share your comments with the chef's to see what improvements can be made.

With regards to the Breakfast service not all of the items on the breakfast menu are on the buffet (this is due to lack of space) but you should of been advised that these items such as yogurts are available from you Waiter or Waitress.

Thank you for your feedback

Kind Regards
Gary Price
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

Hotel clean and tidy but what a change with the food. Evening meals not as good as other visits. Very poor food and veggies very limited. very poor helpings would think again before going back!!!!! Hotel room was very small and had to complain as I am disabled and could not walk to the room, but they did exchange and new room OK

Room Tip: we paid extra for a front facing room
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoreenCl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary P, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Hi Doreen

I am sorry that you did not find your break as good as previous years.

From reading your Room Tip, I do believe that you stayed at our sister hotel the Bay Torbay hotel as we do not have any front facing view rooms as we are located in a residential area of Torquay.

Kind Regards

Gary Price
General Manager
Tor Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

This was our second visit here with a Shearing's mid week coach trip.
The hotel is about a 15 minute downhill stroll to the sea front and the shops and attractions of Torquay. The number 12 bus stops outside the hotel which is good if you don't want to walk back to the hotel from the town centre . For those without a travel card the fare is £1.20 .
The hotel itself was clean and comfortable and all of the staff were very welcoming , friendly and helpful.

Our room had a very comfortable bed which led to a great nights sleep.
The food at breakfast and dinner was good and everyone was attended to by the very hardworking staff who always made sure guests had everything they needed.
The evening entertainment was good and started with a game of bingo followed by a quiz and then the act , which changed every night.
Four free drinks vouchers per person per day is excellent .

For those who smoke there is a large smoking area with tables and bench seats set on decking at the rear of the hotel.

There were two free trips , one to Plymouth and Dartmoor ( this time we saw it as there was no mist ) the other a drive around Torbay with free time in Paington.
Thankyou to Roy our driver who was very helpful and informative .
We paid £159 each for our break which is outstanding value for money .

If you are thinking of going to Torquay then try the Tor Park , it may not look much from the outside but never judge a book by its cover , its a wonderful Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary P, General Manager at Bay Tor Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thank you David for a very detailed review which will be of great use to people looking to book a break in Torquay.

As you put we are a 15 min stroll to the seafront but we are fortunate to be situated on the main bus route which runs every 10 minutes to Torquay and our neighbouring towns Paignton, Brixham & Newton Abbott.

I am really pleased to see that you found every aspect of your holiday to be enjoyable and I will share your comments with all of the staff here at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Gary Price
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews