We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
210
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
210
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjanet andrewon arrivalevening meal optiontea and homemade cakenothing is too much troubleother guestshome made cakeslocal areaa wonderful stayhome from homefull english breakfastwarm welcomelovely hostsroom was spotlesslovely breaklittle gemeach morning
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2016

We were so fortunate finding this perfect venue for a short stay in Torquay. Excellent initial contact, prompt confirmation of package, friendly welcome, lovely well presented room and delicious breakfasts - home from home as Janet and Andrew were perfect hosts. We will be back. D and E

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 (a superior double) which was a quiet room.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

Overnight stay recently to attend a funeral, and were delighted with the welcome given to us and attention to our comfort given by Janet and Andrew. They went the extra mile to provide us with early breakfast and we're friendly and helpful. Would definately visit again

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank Inspire520445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2016

My wife and myself often stay in Torquay as we have business interests in Exeter so choose to stay in the Torquay area . We stayed at The Abingdon Guest House for the first time and found the experience great . Janet, welcomed us very warmly and offered Tea / Coffee and cake on arrival which was a nice touch . Taking us to our room, it was huge with excellent decor and the en-suite was a really good size. Back to the room with a super king bed, wardrobes , cupboards and every comfort you could ask for, including your own tea making facilities . We came and went as we wanted, with our own keys , as the location of the Abingdon was perfect as a base to look around Torquay on foot . In the morning we went for breakfast and met Janet and Andrew, the owners. What a lovely couple they are, they care for their customers very well and the breakfast was first class . We have been looking for a guest house that we can return to on a regular basis and have now found it . Lovely place, great owners and good prices. What more could you ask for . We loved this place .

Room Tip: We had room 3 and it was beautiful with a big en-suite . We would think all rooms are to this high standard
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bev J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016

We only stayed one night but Janet and Andrew made us as welcome as old friends. The room was lovely and had a fantastically comfortable large bed. Breakfast was delicious. A short but enjoyable stay.

Stayed: January 2016
Thank tarzanwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

My wife and I stayed at Abingdon House during Christmas and the New Year. The welcome we received was second to none. Jan And Andrew were really friendly, we were shown to our room which had everything you would need for a stay away from home. The hospitality tray contained the useual tea coffee and water, also mince pies christmas cake biscuits and sweets! The bedroom and bathroom were spotless. The breakfast was lovely. We would definitely stay again,

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews