We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Montana
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South View(Torquay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Belmont(Torquay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
80
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightsea frontlovely ownersguest housefree on street parkinghonesty baryoung farmersour room was spaciousshort walkgreat place to stayjust returned from a night staybreakfast was excellentamazing hotelnew ownerslocal produceperfect hostschecking out
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

The Montana is a gem of a B&B in the heart of Torquay. Recently refurbished, creating a great boutique feel whilst retaining many original Victorian features. Hannah couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful and went the extra mile. Will definitely recommend and hope to visit again. Congrats to Will and Hannah!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L, Owner at The Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thanks, Jane! We are delighted that you like the feel of the newly refurbished B&B. We were conscious when we had the refurbishment to keep the original features such as the fire place in the dining room and mouldings/ceiling roses. In fact, we are aiming for the boutique look! We are forever updating the place, and hope you are able to come back to see more of the improvements. We hope that you had a relaxing break away. Hope to see you again soon, after all, Cornwall is only around the corner! ;) Best wishes. Hannah, Will and Charlie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in a perfect location, everything was spot on, hopefully see you next time the young farmers are in torquay :) Hannah and will were very helpful, I hope we weren't too noisy haha. Very close to the Riviera center and only a short walk from the harbour.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L, Owner at The Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Thank you, Edward and all your friends for leaving us such a lovely review. Best wishes, Hannah, Will and Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Stayed here with my boyfriend over the Easter bank holiday, couldn't fault it! Although they were full to capacity, Hannah was so helpful. Messaging us before we arrived to tell us about near by parking. The room was spotless and so modern, as was the rest of the place! We never made it down for breakfast but I am sure it was lovely as this B&B holds its self to very high standards.

The facilities were excellent, spotless modern en-suite bathroom in the room, free and fast wifi! Honesty bar was a lovely touch! (help yourself and write down what you had, pay on checkout, bar is open until 11pm)

Even as we were checking out Hannah was telling us of a couple that thought they had booked 10 nights but in fact was only 9 and even over the busy bank holiday period Hannah was ringing around other local b&b's to accommodate the couple. So helpful!


Would definitely stay here again as it was only a short walk from the seafront, bars and restaurants with easy access street parking and a large car park 2 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L, Owner at The Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thank you, Laura, for your very detailed review of The Montana. We were so happy that your found our pre-visit text message helpful. Thank you for your feedback on the cleanliness, we certainly take pride in keeping the place spotless. We are delighted you like the new decor - we are constantly making improvements to this beautiful Victorian building. As for the honesty bar, we stock local beers, wines and soft drinks - it's now open 24 hours due to our new licence! We are so happy that you wish to stay with us again! You were both such lovely guests - we look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, Hannah, Will and Charlie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We tyravelled as a group of 4 and I must say what w lovely B&B this is. Wonderful welcome and very clean and very well presented. My wife and myself stayed in room 10 and everything there was just about perfect. hannah was extremely welcoming and was a wonderful host. breakfast was excellent as was the service. On Belgrave Road so close to all amenities. Not much more I can say other than if you want very good value for money then go here. thankyou Hannah , william ,and Charlie for a very pleasant and enjoyable weekend

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ajprid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L, Owner at The Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review. You were all such wonderful guests! We take pride in our hospitality and our food, it really means allot to us that you felt we are good value for money. Hope to see you all again in the near future. Best wishes, Hannah, William and Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

We visited The Montana for a four night Easter break; Hannah communicated with us before arrival kindly explaining where we can park locally, there is plenty of off road parking near.
On arrival we were greeted by Hannah who was extremely welcoming and warm making us feel at home. The room was perfect, had everything we needed, clean and tidy with neutral decor.
The Montana is just up the road from the beach and Torquay town, probably around 15 minutes walk from centre of town. Hannah even kindly washed my partners coat after it was pooed on by a seagull! This was so kind we were so grateful to her.
Breakfast was excellent, served in a beautiful light room at the front. There was plenty to help yourselves to and the cooked food was presented and cooked to a high standard.
We had a wonderful time and we will be recommending The Montana to anyone who wants to visit Torquay. We will definitely be back!!

Thank you Hannah, Will and Charlie!
Amy and Joe x

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank amyxashton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L, Owner at The Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Thank you, Amy and Joe for leaving such a detailed review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your Easter break with us. It's really helpful to mention about the parking as it's reassuring to any potential guests reading our reviews. It was an absolute pleasure having you both stay with us - happy to help out to wash your coat! We very much hope to see you both again soon. Best wishes, Hannah, Will and Charlie :) x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews