We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Montana
Nearby Hotels
Haytor Hotel(Torquay)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$274
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$147/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Marstan(Torquay)
US$106
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$105
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$126
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$124
US$101
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Burleigh House(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$70
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
80
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightsea frontlovely ownersguest housefree on street parkinghonesty baryoung farmersour room was spaciousshort walkgreat place to stayjust returned from a night staybreakfast was excellentamazing hotelnew ownerslocal produceperfect hostschecking out
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2017

My wife and I stayed at The Montana for one night and found a real gem.
From the booking, communication was very good and when we arrived, we were greeted by Hannah who showed us to our room.
The room was lovely as was the décor throughout the property and was spotlessly clean.
The Montana is situated only a 5 minutes walk from the seafront and 10 minutes from the harbour. Although there is no parking onsite, this is not a problem as there is plenty of free street parking nearby.
As I say, the property was very well decorated and there were nice touches including the option to purchase cokes and alcohol from an honesty bar downstairs.
Our room was situated at the front of the property but despite this, we had a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed.
Free WiFi is another added bonus.
Breakfast was lovely, a great choice of cooked breakfast to go with cereal, fruit, toast and tea, coffee and juices.
Hannah was a great host and we shall definitely be returning when we are back in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Attews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L, Owner at The Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

We really enjoyed reading your review of The Montana, Thank you! We are delighted that the pre-arrival communication was useful and that you felt welcome when you arrived. If you wish to stay with us again, for the races or for another occasion, we would be happy to arrange a 'returning guest' discount - simply call or email us directly. In the meantime, we wish you all the best. Warmest wishes, Hannah, William and Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

I stayed here with my husband and mum and dad last Saturday, and we loved it. The house is beautifully decorated, the beds very comfortable and Hannah was so helpful prior to and during our stay. She also accommodated our vegan diet with lovely almond milk, cooked breakfast and gluten free bread too. Thank you. We look forward to staying with you again :) Amy

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AliandAmy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L, Owner at The Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Amy, thank you! I am so delighted that we were able to meet your dietary needs. We pride ourselves with a good breakfast and happy that the Gluten Free bread and almond milk was to your liking. We are also happy that you like our newly refurbished guest house - we are always finding ways to improve the look and feel of this beautiful Victorian building and delighted it's to your taste! We look forward to your next visit. Until then, best wishes from Hannah, William and Charlie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

My self and my husband stayed for 3 nights at The Montana in June, on arrival we had a very warm welcome from Hannah. The Montana was very clean tidy room was excellent and breakfast was very good. We would diffinettly stay there again. The Montana was in easy reach of the sea front. The Montana has recently had a refurb which is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L, Owner at The Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Thank you, Debbie! We are so happy that you had some lovely feedback of The Montana - We look forward to welcoming you back. Book directly for the best price :) Best wishes, Hannah, William and Charlie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

5 of us came to stay at the Montana for the young farmers agm 2017. Admittedly we definitely do not have the best reputation but Hannah and Will were so accommodating to us and we cannot thank them enough. The food was fantastic (just what you need after the previous night) and the rooms were incredibly luxurious. We will 100% be back next time yfc are in town. Once again thank you so much!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L, Owner at The Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Thank you, Tom, for leaving a review on behalf of you and your friends. We must admit, we were a little apprehensive of the YF AGM as allot of our neighbours had some stories to tell about the biannual event - however, we feel we had a great bunch stay with us - thank you for being so respectful to our other guests and our home - you really are welcome to come and stay with us for the next YF AGM! Best wishes, Hannah, William and Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend & I have just returned to London after having a lovely weekend stay. The hotel has been tastefully refurbished, is beautifully clean,comfortable & our room had everything we needed. It is very well situated, close enough to everything but far enough away from the noise of late Saturday night revellers! Hannah & Will are a lovely couple, their breakfasts are fabulous & will definitely stay here again when we return to Torquay, we wish them all the very best with this lovely hotel.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank janman233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L, Owner at The Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thank you both for such a lovely review. We are so happy that you made it home safe to London. We agree, the distance is close to everything without being in the middle of it all. We love the fact the beach is only at the bottom of the road where you will find all the restaurants etc. We wish you both all the best and hope to see you again in the near future. Best wishes, Hannah, Will and Charlie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews