We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Montana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Montana
Ranked #25 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2017

Best welcome I've had in a long time. Beautifully decorated guest house, very clean and bright. Room was adequate, en suite, with a good sized wardrobe. On the ground floor which as a solo traveller was very welcomed. Good location as not far to the sea front. Parking five minutes walk away with cctv and cheap. Breakfast the next day was well presented and locally sourced and delicious. Overall a good place to stay and reasonable price too. Loved the concept of an honesty bar, didn't use it but used the front veranda to watch the world go by.

Room Tip: Room 4 is on ground floor so easily accessible and doesn't overlook the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank orangepepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L, Owner at The Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to write us such a lovely review. We are delighted that you were comfortable in the room and you enjoyed your breakfast. We also often sit on the veranda to watch the world go by - If you look down the street, you also have a sea view :) We hope that you think of us when you book your next trip to Torquay. Best wishes, Hannah, William and Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2017

My wife and I stayed at The Montana for one night and found a real gem.
From the booking, communication was very good and when we arrived, we were greeted by Hannah who showed us to our room.
The room was lovely as was the décor throughout the property and was spotlessly clean.
The Montana is situated only a 5 minutes walk from the seafront and 10 minutes from the harbour. Although there is no parking onsite, this is not a problem as there is plenty of free street parking nearby.
As I say, the property was very well decorated and there were nice touches including the option to purchase cokes and alcohol from an honesty bar downstairs.
Our room was situated at the front of the property but despite this, we had a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed.
Free WiFi is another added bonus.
Breakfast was lovely, a great choice of cooked breakfast to go with cereal, fruit, toast and tea, coffee and juices.
Hannah was a great host and we shall definitely be returning when we are back in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Attews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L, Owner at The Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

We really enjoyed reading your review of The Montana, Thank you! We are delighted that the pre-arrival communication was useful and that you felt welcome when you arrived. If you wish to stay with us again, for the races or for another occasion, we would be happy to arrange a 'returning guest' discount - simply call or email us directly. In the meantime, we wish you all the best. Warmest wishes, Hannah, William and Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

I stayed here with my husband and mum and dad last Saturday, and we loved it. The house is beautifully decorated, the beds very comfortable and Hannah was so helpful prior to and during our stay. She also accommodated our vegan diet with lovely almond milk, cooked breakfast and gluten free bread too. Thank you. We look forward to staying with you again :) Amy

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AliandAmy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L, Owner at The Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Amy, thank you! I am so delighted that we were able to meet your dietary needs. We pride ourselves with a good breakfast and happy that the Gluten Free bread and almond milk was to your liking. We are also happy that you like our newly refurbished guest house - we are always finding ways to improve the look and feel of this beautiful Victorian building and delighted it's to your taste! We look forward to your next visit. Until then, best wishes from Hannah, William and Charlie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

My self and my husband stayed for 3 nights at The Montana in June, on arrival we had a very warm welcome from Hannah. The Montana was very clean tidy room was excellent and breakfast was very good. We would diffinettly stay there again. The Montana was in easy reach of the sea front. The Montana has recently had a refurb which is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L, Owner at The Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Thank you, Debbie! We are so happy that you had some lovely feedback of The Montana - We look forward to welcoming you back. Book directly for the best price :) Best wishes, Hannah, William and Charlie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

5 of us came to stay at the Montana for the young farmers agm 2017. Admittedly we definitely do not have the best reputation but Hannah and Will were so accommodating to us and we cannot thank them enough. The food was fantastic (just what you need after the previous night) and the rooms were incredibly luxurious. We will 100% be back next time yfc are in town. Once again thank you so much!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L, Owner at The Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2017

Thank you, Tom, for leaving a review on behalf of you and your friends. We must admit, we were a little apprehensive of the YF AGM as allot of our neighbours had some stories to tell about the biannual event - however, we feel we had a great bunch stay with us - thank you for being so respectful to our other guests and our home - you really are welcome to come and stay with us for the next YF AGM! Best wishes, Hannah, William and Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 km away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#28 of 85 in Torquay
139 reviews
0.4 km away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#16 of 85 in Torquay
412 reviews
0.1 km away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#27 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 149 in Torquay
430 reviews
1.2 km away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#5 of 149 in Torquay
809 reviews
0.2 km away
The Morley Guest House
The Morley Guest House
#82 of 149 in Torquay
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montana

Address: 21 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $90 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Montana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Reviews, Great Food , Great Place. we could be just what you're looking for. The Princess Theatre is also just a short stroll away & offers many of the latest Musicals, Comedians and pre-theatre dining. A warm welcome always awaits you. The Montana is a beautiful Victorian building offering quality bed and breakfast accommodation, situated 500 metres from Torquay's beachfront, and one of the closest establishments to the Riviera Conference and Leisure Centre, and a short stroll to the harbour with its many cafes, restaurants and bars. It is an ideal base for exploring any of the attractions of The English Riviera. We could be just what you're looking for. The Princess Theatre is also just a short stroll away & offers many of the latest Musicals, Comedians and pre-theatre dining. A warm welcome always awaits you. We are also only 500 metres from the South West Coastal Path for the more energetic among you. We offer FREE pick up and drop off to rail/coach stations. There is FREE on road parking available in the surrounding area, and a reasonably priced pay & display car park within a few yards. Enjoy one of our delicious Award Winning full english breakfasts or for the smaller appetite we have many more options available. We are delighted to be able to comfortably cater for those with Gluten Free Breakfast requirements and this has seen us recommended on the Coeliac UK website by guests who have been especially happy with what we can offer. Special offers always available especially mid September - December & January - March, check our pages or if you can't find what you are looking for we are always happy to accept e-mail or telephone enquiries. Our philosophy is to make your stay as comfortable as possible and offer all of those extra personal touches. We are a completely family run business, and pride ourselves on good home cooking, using fresh locally sourced produce where available. Whether you need a relaxing break for the two of you or coming on holiday with the children, we can provide what you're looking for, with Standard Double Rooms, spacious Superior Rooms, with some rooms big enough to accommodate an extra bed or travel cot. The Montana retains many of its original features, and we are continually refurbishing all areas of the building whilst retaining some of its original charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your The Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montana Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing