We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Montana
Nearby Hotels
The Marstan(Torquay)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Haytor Hotel(Torquay)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Imperial Torquay(Torquay)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$302
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$123
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Burleigh House(Torquay)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
80
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightsea frontlovely ownersguest housefree on street parkinghonesty baryoung farmersour room was spaciousshort walkgreat place to stayjust returned from a night staybreakfast was excellentamazing hotelnew ownerslocal produceperfect hostschecking out
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Visited The Montana for one night with my mother for my first visit to Torquay. Hannah and William have done a beautiful job decorating the hotel - modern and traditional all in one (I particularly like the hall lights)!! It was lovely to see how much they care about their family business. The room was clean and the beds were super comfortable - ear plugs were also provided which was a thoughtful (and sensible) addition as our room was by a busy road. Breakfast was fab too, it's a shame the fridge for the Honesty Bar had broken but hopefully that's sorted now as it's a great idea. The location is great, everything (e.g the beach, the harbour, the abbey, the train station...) was only a short walk away so it was an ideal base!
Thank you Hannah for being so friendly and welcoming. We hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bagelbabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L, Owner at The Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you so much for writing such a detailed review of The Montana. We are so happy that you chose to stay with us for your short break in Torquay in our Twin Room as you were both such lovely guests. We have an engineer booked in for this week to fix our wine fridge - stocked with local beers, wine, cider and soft drinks. We very much look forward to your return visit. Please book direct for the best deal! Best wishes, Hannah, William and Charlie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a night away with a friend for a girly break! I have never been in a hotel so clean, friendly and reasonable! From arriving to leaving everything was perfect!! Would HIGHLY recommend to anyone! Can't wait to go back!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 746hollyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L, Owner at The Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a fantastic review! We are so happy that you both were happy! When you recommend, please ask your friends/family to book directly for the best price :) In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Best wishes, Hannah, Will and Charlie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

I spent one night at The Montana with my husband and what a great place to stay. Comfortable, cleaned, five minutes from the beach and with a great breakfast included.
Definitely staying there when we return

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L, Owner at The Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you! We are so delighted that both you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. We are very close to the beach - which is always good when the sun is shining! We look forward to your return visit - Please book directly for the best price! Best wishes, Hannah, William and Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

Me and my partner visited torquay for the weekend. Reading reviews of the montana it didn't disappoint. The hosts were friendly couldn't do enough for you. Lovely hotel nice little walk to the sea front, curry house or thai not so far away. Lovely room great shower. The breakfast was superb too

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank stuiel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L, Owner at The Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review - We are delighted that we reached your expectations after reading the other reviews prior to your stay. We must try out the Thai restaurant you recommended! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you both back, including your son! Best wishes, Hannah, William and Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Loved my stay at the Montana. It's only a small B&B, but it has all the mod-cons you could wish for. The rooms have all been recently refurbished, so you get modern conveniences in a grand old Victorian building. Breakfast is great, it's just a short walk to the sea-front and the town centre, and there's plenty of free on-street parking nearby.

Best of all are the hosts. It's a genuine family-run B&B, and Hannah (of the Montana: a coincidence, apparently!) really makes you feel welcome.

So: great people, great location, great breakfast and good price :)

Room Tip: Avoid the ground-floor room if you want to sleep in, as it's next to the breakfast room.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L, Owner at The Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you! What a delightful review - we very much enjoyed reading your feedback. We are so happy that you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed your time here. If you are ever planning a trip to Torquay again, please think of us! We hope to see you again in the near future. Best wishes, Hannah (Montana....), William and Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews