We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts!”
Review of The Montana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Montana
Ranked #25 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Montana with my boyfriend James for 2 nights early July, Hannah and William are both very welcoming and can not do enough for you! Found our welcome card as a fantastic touch! The rooms are newly refurbished and very comfortable with free wifi throughout. Breakfast was included and to a very good standard. Perfect location only a couple of minutes away from the beach and plenty of restaurant and shops! We are already discussing our next weekend away and are likely to come back to the Montana. Would highly recommend!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Becki-may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L, Owner at The Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thank you so much for writing us such a lovely review! We would love for you both to come back and stay with us. Remember to book direct for the best deal - returning guests receive 10% off their next booking :) We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Hannah, Will and Charlie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

Visited The Montana for one night with my mother for my first visit to Torquay. Hannah and William have done a beautiful job decorating the hotel - modern and traditional all in one (I particularly like the hall lights)!! It was lovely to see how much they care about their family business. The room was clean and the beds were super comfortable - ear plugs were also provided which was a thoughtful (and sensible) addition as our room was by a busy road. Breakfast was fab too, it's a shame the fridge for the Honesty Bar had broken but hopefully that's sorted now as it's a great idea. The location is great, everything (e.g the beach, the harbour, the abbey, the train station...) was only a short walk away so it was an ideal base!
Thank you Hannah for being so friendly and welcoming. We hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bagelbabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L, Owner at The Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you so much for writing such a detailed review of The Montana. We are so happy that you chose to stay with us for your short break in Torquay in our Twin Room as you were both such lovely guests. We have an engineer booked in for this week to fix our wine fridge - stocked with local beers, wine, cider and soft drinks. We very much look forward to your return visit. Please book direct for the best deal! Best wishes, Hannah, William and Charlie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a night away with a friend for a girly break! I have never been in a hotel so clean, friendly and reasonable! From arriving to leaving everything was perfect!! Would HIGHLY recommend to anyone! Can't wait to go back!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 746hollyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L, Owner at The Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a fantastic review! We are so happy that you both were happy! When you recommend, please ask your friends/family to book directly for the best price :) In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Best wishes, Hannah, Will and Charlie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

I spent one night at The Montana with my husband and what a great place to stay. Comfortable, cleaned, five minutes from the beach and with a great breakfast included.
Definitely staying there when we return

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L, Owner at The Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you! We are so delighted that both you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. We are very close to the beach - which is always good when the sun is shining! We look forward to your return visit - Please book directly for the best price! Best wishes, Hannah, William and Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

Me and my partner visited torquay for the weekend. Reading reviews of the montana it didn't disappoint. The hosts were friendly couldn't do enough for you. Lovely hotel nice little walk to the sea front, curry house or thai not so far away. Lovely room great shower. The breakfast was superb too

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank stuiel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah L, Owner at The Montana, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review - We are delighted that we reached your expectations after reading the other reviews prior to your stay. We must try out the Thai restaurant you recommended! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you both back, including your son! Best wishes, Hannah, William and Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 km away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#27 of 85 in Torquay
139 reviews
0.1 km away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#26 of 85 in Torquay
125 reviews
0.4 km away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#16 of 85 in Torquay
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Kings Lodge
Kings Lodge
#6 of 149 in Torquay
430 reviews
0.2 km away
The Morley Guest House
The Morley Guest House
#83 of 149 in Torquay
28 reviews
0.1 km away
Cranborne Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montana

Address: 21 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $88 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Montana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Reviews, Great Food , Great Place. we could be just what you're looking for. The Princess Theatre is also just a short stroll away & offers many of the latest Musicals, Comedians and pre-theatre dining. A warm welcome always awaits you. The Montana is a beautiful Victorian building offering quality bed and breakfast accommodation, situated 500 metres from Torquay's beachfront, and one of the closest establishments to the Riviera Conference and Leisure Centre, and a short stroll to the harbour with its many cafes, restaurants and bars. It is an ideal base for exploring any of the attractions of The English Riviera. We could be just what you're looking for. The Princess Theatre is also just a short stroll away & offers many of the latest Musicals, Comedians and pre-theatre dining. A warm welcome always awaits you. We are also only 500 metres from the South West Coastal Path for the more energetic among you. We offer FREE pick up and drop off to rail/coach stations. There is FREE on road parking available in the surrounding area, and a reasonably priced pay & display car park within a few yards. Enjoy one of our delicious Award Winning full english breakfasts or for the smaller appetite we have many more options available. We are delighted to be able to comfortably cater for those with Gluten Free Breakfast requirements and this has seen us recommended on the Coeliac UK website by guests who have been especially happy with what we can offer. Special offers always available especially mid September - December & January - March, check our pages or if you can't find what you are looking for we are always happy to accept e-mail or telephone enquiries. Our philosophy is to make your stay as comfortable as possible and offer all of those extra personal touches. We are a completely family run business, and pride ourselves on good home cooking, using fresh locally sourced produce where available. Whether you need a relaxing break for the two of you or coming on holiday with the children, we can provide what you're looking for, with Standard Double Rooms, spacious Superior Rooms, with some rooms big enough to accommodate an extra bed or travel cot. The Montana retains many of its original features, and we are continually refurbishing all areas of the building whilst retaining some of its original charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montana Torquay, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing