We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
692 results
Traveller rating
336
200
81
45
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
200
81
45
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews agatha christie champagne bar sister hotel royal castle lovely hotel coaching inn double park bar food saloon bar daniel defoe four poster watch the world fish pie a small car park jacuzzi bath high street no lift
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 692 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

We always comfortable in this hotel even if it noisy. The standard rooms are nice but not big. The bathrooms though, can be quite small. This time with only a shower where the water only ever got to warm. The staff make this place. Always plenty of them and always willing to help. Make you really feel at home. Having said that the breakfast staff could do with a bit more training as they spoilt our breakfast by incessantly talking in loud voices. We know about their hobbies and their fitness regimes. In fact restaurant was poor on this visit - our non cooked pudding taking 30 minutes to arrive and my mille feuille turning out to be wafers and not pastry. My husband's cherries in kirsch were a disappointing three cherries. The pub good continues to be good with a lovely new menu. Nice burger and delightful ham platter. We really like this place and wholeheartedly recommend it. Every place has its off days and new menu perhaps needs better descriptions. Staff remain lovely and I'm sure my breakfast moan is a one off...it was lovely to be told to "take care" by same breakfast staff as I left. Little things like that make you feel looked after and that's what the seven stars does well.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TheAngeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSevenStars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we will pass these on to all our staff as well as reminding them that our guests do not need to be informed of their social plans..
The new Saloon Bar menu has been very popular since its launch last week, I'm glad you also enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, from everyone st The Stars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights recently on a Devon break. It's a historical hotel and is original and interesting inside. Our room and bathroom were both of a high standard and had all we needed. We booked a Spring Break which included dinner, which was really excellent. I ate one of the most delicious chicken dishes ever with mushrooms served in different ways and served on the creamiest mashed potato ever. A local cheese selection was also excellent. As the restaurant was very quiet, we had the full attention of a waiter who served us beautifully. The reception staff were helpful in trying to make sense of the bus timetable, which was out of date (not their fault in any way) and check in and out were simple. One slight issue was a very questionable kipper served to me at breakfast on our second morning. It was clearly past its best - shades of Fawlty Towers - but was still served to me in spite of having a strong bad smell. It was whipped away and replaced swiftly but I was still rather surprised it made its way as far as the table. Otherwise, a very pleasant stay thank you

Room Tip: we were at the front but the double glazing ensured peace
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank judithbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSevenStars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Thank you for your review Judith, the kitchen has been made aware of your breakfast experience but we are delighted to see your overall experience was of a lovely stay with us. We hope to welcome you back on your next Devon break, from all at the Stars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Came here by accident and was pleasantly surprised. Although the place was busy we were made to feel really welcome for lunch. Food was delicious and service was great. Will be coming back here again.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lizzie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSevenStars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Thanks so much for your comments & for taking the time to write about your visit, we look forward to seeing you again soon... All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Myself and my fiancΓ© stayed at the Royal Severn Stars this weekend as a late Valentines treat. It is our second visit there as I enjoyed it so much the first time.
Great spacious, clean and very comfortable rooms. The first time we visited we were lucky enough to get the large front facing room at the top of the hotel which has an enormous bath.
I also love the H2K of Harrogate bath products that they provide in the rooms. They smell divine. The restaurant is wonderful, and the breakfast is great too with a full continental selection and a traditional English if you so desire. I had the smokes salmon and scrambled eggs this time. Lush!
It goes without saying that the building has bags of character. The staff are very helpful, friendly and pleasant and the bar is always fully stocked! What more could a guest want!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSevenStars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Thank you Helen, we're all delighted to read you had such a lovely Valentine's treat with us. Although no mention in your review, it would be lovely to think you had the time to pop into our wedding fayre in the Ballroom on Saturday & spoil yourselves with canapes & Prosecco to add to your experience! We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel, very friendly staff. Lovely bedroom and the power shower was the most powerful ever!
The only problem was noise, hoovering whilst I was trying to sleep plus lots of noise from drunk people outside however this wasn't the fault of the hotel.
Very nice breakfast.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Melaaanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalSevenStars, Manager at Royal Seven Stars Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Lovely to receive your review, thank you & we hope to welcome you again soon... (All at The Stars)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews