We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

The Coconut Tree Bournemouth
Get food delivered
Ranked #25 of 771 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Price range: US$14 - US$28
Description: Bringing Sri Lankan street food to Bournemouth, expect an explosion of flavours in our dishes, meats & fish. Sweet & fiery Cocotails... a naturally occurring vegan & vegetarian cuisine.
Restaurant details
Description: Bringing Sri Lankan street food to Bournemouth, expect an explosion of flavours in our dishes, meats & fish. Sweet & fiery Cocotails... a naturally occurring vegan & vegetarian cuisine.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really cool place with a great informal atmosphere. Greeted by the lovely staff, who explained the menu and gluten free choices. Completely safe for coeliacs and most of the menu is gluten free anyway. Lots of vegan too.
So much variety, so we ordered a selection of tapas type dishes to share and a hopper each. Everything was freshly cooked and all tasted amazing! We had a bottle of wine and you must have a couple of cocktails too. Definitely return and great to support an independent restaurant that offers such a fantastic experience.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank SargeantPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of the best meals out I have had in a long time. Super tasty tapas style sri lankan food with plenty of options for my vegetarian girlfriend too. Great vibes inside and the service was outstanding. Cocktails were also great! Highly recommend

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank danielsW8093ED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went on Wednesday (where it happened to be 50% off in a similar way to the Eat out to help out scheme)- Firstly it has a lovely atmosphere, very warm and inviting and with lovely smells emanating from the kitchen. Decor was modern and fresh, and the cocktail menu looked amazing. The food was really tasty- in particular the egg hoppers, the goat curry, and the chicken and cheese kotthus. Service was also very pleasant, would recommend

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank russellt946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Sri Lankan restaurants are rare in the UK and it's great to find one in Bournemouth. The lovely painting of Ella on the wall lifted my spirits on a rainy day. Service was friendly and efficient. I was a little disappointed by some of the food: the hopper was a bit too thick and not hot enough. But still glad I found the place.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank John_Conakry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Firstly the manager was extremely knowledgable and took the time to talk through the menu and make recommendations.
The food was delicious full of flavour, the menu very diverse and caters for all tastes.
We also enjoyed a Pinacolada for 2 which was very refreshing.
The atmosphere was fantastic with nice music playing in the background.
I would highly recommend this place!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Wolster999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coconut Tree Bournemouth also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to The Coconut Tree Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.