We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best by far!”
Review of Amarillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amarillo
Ranked #27 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 January 2010

Having stayed in many hotels in the area over the past 6 months, I have finally found the perfect place. The rooms are like a boutique hotel and the hosts Rob and Paul are fantastic.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASH5JA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2010

For an overnight stay it would be adequate but certainly not for longer. This is my first Tripadvisor review though we do travel around quite often in this country. We were bemused at how the amarillo can class themselves as a hotel. It is even in their webaddress 'amarillohotel'. Facilities are limited and even the free Internet connection dropped out constantly and we were only on the first floor. There are no public rooms to sit so just the smallish bedroom. It twas annoying that many larger hotels were much cheaper with much better facility's.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diver69England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Beautifully kept, well-appointed, clean room + friendly helpful staff - what more could you want?

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

As soon as we arrived we received a friendly greeting from Rob. Who went on to explain about the hotel, the area etc and then showed us to our room, asked if we would like help with our luggage or if we needed anything else.
The b&b overall was very clean and well maintained. (Cleanliness being one of the most important things to me!) The room was spotless. A selection of teas, coffee and biscuits were provided. Plus bottled water on arrival. The hall and dining room also immaculate. The scented diffusers are a nice touch!
Our room (no 2) was at the side of the building near the street. I was actually surprised how little noise we heard; from outside and within the hotel. Apparently we were in one of the smaller double rooms, which again surprised me because there was plenty of space, with a fresh clean en-suite (the shower maybe a little small for some). My one and only gripe was that the bed was quite hard, but again some people like this.
The breakfast was delicious, 5 star! And well presented with sweet little pots for the jams and marmalade.
The hotel is situated on a quiet street, opposite a park, in an area which has a mix of houses and b&bs, but there are one or two run-down properties. It would suit singles & couples of all ages wanting to stay somewhere that is not right in the centre of town. Avoiding the noise of bars and clubs. It is not for stag and hens or similar. If like me; you still want to experience the night life then the restaurants and bars are around 10-15mins walk away, as are the shops & beach. The BIC and Pavilion roughly 20mins walk. So the location overall is very good. Or it is a short taxi (no more than £5) ride away if preferred. This will also avoid the under-pass, which is not for everyone late at night.
Plus only 5 minutes walk from the train station.
Overall the hotel was everything I had hoped for with the added bonus of such a nice host! I would recommend and we will be back again.
Thank you Rob!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyofSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

I stayed for four days in a single room which, on my arrival was immaculate as was every aspect of this small but fragrant and excellently maintained hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners and staff who were extremely caring, attentive, pleasant and helpful. If I ever wanted to visit Bournemouth again, I would certainly make this hotel my first choice if vacant. This revue is based on the tariff for staying there which is very reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ukmarine777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.9 km away
Bamboo Guesthouse
Bamboo Guesthouse
#24 of 131 in Bournemouth
242 reviews
0.8 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,618 reviews
1.6 km away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
220 reviews
0.9 km away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
2.2 km away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarillo

Address: 52 Frances Road, Bournemouth BH1 3SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $112 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amarillo 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an ideally situated guest house in a quite area just opposite the award winning Knyveton Gardens with Tennis Courts,Bowling Greens and Petanque. We are within easy walking distance of the beach, train station and the town centre. The Amarillo is non-smoking establishment. We offer you a comfortable and relaxing stay in a lovingly restored Victorian House with a contemporary ambiance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amarillo Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing