We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B”
Review of Amarillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amarillo
Ranked #27 of 131 Bournemouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Nice, clean and recently refurnished B&B in B'th.
It's very close to the train station, to the city center and the beach.

The rooms are modern and spacious (expecially the large double room with bowl window).
Bathrooms should be renovated, expecially the shower (an hand-held shower head would be more comfortable!).

Breakfast is very good with a nice choice of cereals, jams, yogurt and croissant. English breakfast is also available.

Amarillo Hotel is more a B&B than an hotel: great value!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikieema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 106 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2010

This is our first visit to the location, for pure recreation. We loved the breakfast, the room was really nice and well presented with some lovely touches added that we have never had in other places. Rob and Paul were lovely, chatty, sociable and inspire confidence and professionalism.

As some of the other reviews rightly state, there are no bars, which frankly is good. There were no stag or hen parties and so the place has an air of calm which is surely why you go away.

We can say that the accommodation made the difference and the hosting was second to none. If you want a lively, no sleep based booze up, Amarillo is not the place for you.

However, if you want a nice, quiet place to rest (in a room that is of quite honestly lovely) and have a delightful breakfast with some informal chat in front of the open fire, this is the place for you. We loved it for what it is ....... honest and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hp8674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

We stayed for three days in August to see the air festival. The reviews seemed largely favourable and so we booked. Although it's a clean building we felt very crammed in at breakfast as the tables are close together. The room was adequate but let down by the bathroom where the tower offered a trickle of tepid water, the same happened on all three mornings. We were told it was because the 'Hotel' was full up! Perhaps they need to have new plumbing. We also found it difficult to park as they only have two spaces. We paid £80 a night and expected more. I was also asked if I would help them by giving a positive review. Perhaps that explains the number of good reviews for the Amarilo.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canterburytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

A superbly run little Bed and Breakfast in a delightful square with tennis courts and bowling green in front of you.

Attention to detail is their forte, with tasteful crockery, fresh orchids on the table and clean fresh linen and tastefully decorated bedrooms. A warm welcome is there to greet you.

Remarkable value for money, excellent breakfasts and would have no hesitation in recommending to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TennisladyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

Having stayed in many hotels in the area over the past 6 months, I have finally found the perfect place. The rooms are like a boutique hotel and the hosts Rob and Paul are fantastic.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASH5JA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.8 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,654 reviews
1.6 km away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,111 reviews
0.7 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
2.1 km away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
3.4 km away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarillo

Address: 52 Frances Road, Bournemouth BH1 3SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Bournemouth
Price Range: $110 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amarillo 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an ideally situated guest house in a quite area just opposite the award winning Knyveton Gardens with Tennis Courts,Bowling Greens and Petanque. We are within easy walking distance of the beach, train station and the town centre. The Amarillo is non-smoking establishment. We offer you a comfortable and relaxing stay in a lovingly restored Victorian House with a contemporary ambiance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amarillo Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing