We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
251
45
17
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
251
45
17
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crows nest full english residents lounge small hotel town centre bottled water main bedroom the pub the ground floor minute walk bus stop double bed b and b bed and breakfast tea and coffee making facilities breakfasts were excellent warm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

I had a short two night stay at the Castleton hotel Swanage in June. The single room was very comfortable and clean, very good value, staff were very helpful and a good breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Stevegibbons2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Thanks for the review, hope you come back and visit us again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

The Castleton is in a really convenient location being only yards from the beach and the lovely restaurants and shops of the pretty seaside town of Swanage. Our room and en suite were spotlessly clean and well-equipped, and the hotel breakfast was fantastic - catering for everyone's taste from fresh fruit and homemade granola to a delicious full English. With some stunning walks right on the doorstep, we feel it is the best hotel we have ever stayed in and will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Windows can be left open in second floor rooms without any noise disturbance.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sjm292018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Great review! 'Best hotel you've stayed ever' is fantastic to hear, thank you so much! See you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Well located close to the seafront. Comfortable, clean room with nice little extras - shower gel, body lotion, bottle of water. Really friendly and accommodating staff. I would return for my next visit to Swanage.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank LoisS271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Thank you for your review! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

We stayed here for 2 nights, room was clean and bed was comfortable. The bed was very squeaky so we didn't dare move. Breakfast was good . It's situated away from town with a 15-20 minute walk for those more able. Town is lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pjtBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Thanks for this feed back, its great to let us know these things and we will be looking into the squeaky bed! Glad the rest of your trip was good. hopefully see you again (with a quieter bed!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

We had a bad experience at this hotel. The bed in our room was broken. The slats kept coming off at random meaning we were woken several times during the night & had to keep fixing it. The tv was so tiny & so high up that it was impossible to watch. Also the DVD player was not working. I have emailed the hotel twice with my complaints and have been ignored. Please save yourself the trouble and not stay at the Castleton!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank melelston83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca K, Owner at The Castleton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

We are sorry you had a bad experience, we had never had this problem with the bed and a new one has arrived. Thank you for the feed back on the tv we shall reevaluate where its positioned and will be replaced with a new one. Thank you for letting us know about these issues and apologise once again from all of us here at The Castleton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews