We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb place to stay on the edge of Alfriston”
Review of Riverdale House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alfriston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverdale House
Ranked #2 of 6 Alfriston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We booked three bedrooms for two nights at the end of July as a base from which to attend a family friend's wedding. My husband and I were in the Heselwood suite and the family with partners had the Litlington and Attic rooms at the top of the house with a shared shower room. All rooms had lovely views with comfortable beds and top quality bed linen. Breakfast included a choice of fruit juices, muesli with yoghurt and fresh fruit plus a large selection of cooked dishes such as smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or full English. Riverdale could not have been more conveniently situated for our stay as the entrance to the wedding venue at Rathfinny wine estate was right next door. The whole weekend was a huge success despite the typical rainy British weather.

Room Tip: Heselwood suite was double aspect and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Claireypriggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2017

Four of us stayed here while walking the South Downs Way. The place is a little walk out of the village and we had to walk back to the village at night to get an evening meal. However, a stay here was worth it. The house is lovely and the hosts - Richard and Judy were excellent.
We had a ground floor room which had french windows overlooking the garden. Other rooms had wonderful views over the Cuckmere Valley, as did the lawned area with tables at the front of the house.
The quality of the rooms and furnishing was very good and afforded a great nights sleep.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of fruit, cereals and the usual array of cooked items.
A perfect stay.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed here whilst walking the South Downs way and what a setting Riverdale house is in!! Stunning views as you walk out of the front door and only a short walk into Alfriston. The room was very clean and comfortable and Richard was a perfect host and very helpful! Would definitely recommend!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 85walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Very comfortable and spacious attic bedroom with all amenities. The hosts were very friendly, and provided a fine breakfast the next morning. The only drawback for those on foot is that there is a bit of a walk into Alfriston to find a restaurant..something of a challenge after hiking all day!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front for a view across the Cuckmere valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cmcoulson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Visited for 2 nights in May with mum as we were walking this end of the South Downs Way. The hosts Richard and Judy were friendly, knowledgeable and extremely helpful. The room was lovely (Cuckmere Room) and spacious. Perfect to collapse into after a long walk. The breakfasts were delicious and generous and offered gluten free options. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jaq555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alfriston hotels
0.1 km away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
241 reviews
0.4 km away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 km away
Wingrove House
Wingrove House
#1 of 6 in Alfriston
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ye Olde Smugglers Inne
Ye Olde Smugglers Inne
#4 of 6 in Alfriston
84 reviews
2.6 km away
Rathfinny Wine Estate – The Flint Barns
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdale House

Address: Riverdale Seaford Road, Alfriston BN26 5TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Alfriston
Price Range: $147 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing