We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed ”

English's of Brighton
Ranked #44 of 1,184 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$103
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

I had so been looking forward to a delicious fish lunch... what we got was stodgy, greasy and lacking in flavour. Won't be back

Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englishs, Manager at English's of Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Ana M
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I'm disappointed to hear we did not live up to your expectations and sincerely hope you give us another try in the future.
Kind Regards
Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017

Long my favourite place in Brighton, if not on the south coast. On this visit good sea bream, though the menu seemed a bit denuded and there is may e a slight drift to trendiness in some of the sauces which I hope they keep in check. Fifty pounds a head but you feel spoilt and the fish is beautifully cooked.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Howcaplefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englishs, Manager at English's of Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Howcaplefamily
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your recent visit to English's of Brighton and hope there will be many more to come.
Kind Regards
Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

Staff were amazing, patient and perfectly attentive, food was absolutely delicious and there was no rush, we had the 5 course set menu and a bottle of Laurent Perrier champagne so reasonably priced.

Thank SallyBallyWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englishs, Manager at English's of Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear SallyBallyWally
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your recent visit to English's of Brighton and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We ate from the set menu (£24.50 for three courses) and thought it reasonable value for what is an iconic restaurant. Particularly good was the 'salt and pepper chilli squid' starter. Our main courses of sea bream and salmon were fine as was the restaurant's take on tarte tatin. I do agree with an earlier reviewer that the additional £8.50 for 2 bread is overpriced. The house wine Chardonnay was fine and the overall bill was .
£86 (including service) .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nigel1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englishs, Manager at English's of Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear nigel1949
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your recent visit to English's of Brighton and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

After going to Hove for the last six weeks for back therapy
I wanted to celebrate the end of my treatment.Sat at the bar
and had oysters to start followed by a Dover sole,just what
the doctor ordered,loved it,wasn't to busy so was able to
have a nice conversation with the manager,would definitely
return,hopefully not for back treatment.

Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englishs, Manager at English's of Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your recent visit to English's of Brighton and look forward to welcoming you back soon. We all wish you a speedy recovery after you treatment!
Kind Regards
Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed English's of Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to English's of Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing