We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Courtlands Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel du Vin(Brighton)
US$121
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Grand Brighton(Brighton)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$100
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$171
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strawberry Fields(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

YHA Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$44
US$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$54/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Pelirocco(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$111
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$92
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
68
138
117
76
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
138
117
76
86
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Arrived to be greeted by Lynn in the reception who offered me a good room on the third floor; additional requests for the room where provided immediately to my satisfaction.
The staff could not be more helpful.
I found the food of high quality again with friendly staff.
The management team, Rik and Pedro, make sure the hotel runs smoothly and is spotless.
I noted there are beautiful large rooms to hold wedding/parties and meetings/conferences.
I would strongly advise anyone wanting to stay in Brighton and Hove to take up residence at the Courtlands.Hotel.

Room Tip: Third Floor facing South
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2015

Well what can we say other than thank you so much

Pedro and his team are on cloud nine as a result of your kind words and could not ask for a more delightful guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2015

I was quite impressed by the price per night but was simply shocked by the awful twin room we got. bad beds, awful decor and smell, tucked away as if it was a dungeon room. they must be joking by even trying to charge these prices - if it was 60 per night, i wouldn't complain too much since i know that Brighton has become expensive but 110-130!?

Room Tip: probably not ...
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank eric n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2015

While we are obviously sorry the Courtlands did not hit all the right notes for this guest their main concern seems to revolve around price. However with two people sharing the room for two nights meant a rate of just £62.50 each. To me this sounds pretty decent value and with the hotel not completely full had we been asked, we would have done our best to find a room which may have been more suited to this patron's needs

Leaving a disheartening review, after the event, is sadly no real use to anyone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

Arrived late left early but a fairly comfortable hotel with friendly staff. Good price as it was a last minute thing and nearly everything else in the area was unavailable or silly money. It is a traditional hotel and needs some work but functions ok

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
Thank SlimBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Thank you for such a decent, no-nonsense review which means all the more coming from such a prolific and experienced TripAdvisor contributor

We were delighted the Courtlands could be there for you and hopefully your travel plans will allow you to visit again, before too long

Please accept our renewed thanks meanwhile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2015 via mobile

Just write we stayed in room 316 We book to arrive On 09/09/15 for ,2 nights. we booked via booking.com a few days before this. On arrival they told us there had been a mistake with the booking and demanded an extra £100 on top of what 165 which was already paid for; As we were tired and it was late we just paid it. The following morning at 11:00am. I went and asked for a refund for the 2nd night. As the room had no hot water and the toilet didn't flush, it was not up to the standard it showed on the website makes out, it is outdated and in need of refurbishment. The assistant manager said he could not authorise the refund, it would have the be the manager, we called him and the answer was no. We carried on with our day, shopping ect.. Around 1400hrs we got a call from the manager saying that there will be no refund and because, I can only assume, that us asking for the refund offended him because he then said that we had to get our things and leave the hotel. I was shocked and disgusted basically kicking 2 young girls(20 & 19) to the street far away from home. So at this point we left Brighton high St and headed back to the hotel only to find that they had removed our things from the room and put all our things in black bin bags, and said that we would only get our things back when we handed over the key. I tried to get an explanation and with no luck, I handed over the key. He stopped acknowledging me, he would even give me his name. The other member of staff I felt with also gave me fake names. At this point tired and exhausted from their total lack of professionalism we decided our weekend away had already been ruined by the hotel we cut our trip short. Upon getting home I have seen they have taken more money from my credit card after they kicked us out. To which I am now seeking legal advice. The grand total for one night was 346....

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
6  Thank vanessadenis94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

This is clearly an unfortunate review and situation - more so as the genesis of the problem was the guests - not the hotel - making a booking in error for mid October but turning up over a month early

We understand completely mistakes can happen when making bookings on-line and of course we did our best to accommodate these dear ladies. However the rate due for a mid-September booking, predicated on our summer tariff, is necessarily going to be appreciably higher than one for mid-Aurumn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

This hotel is quite run down and in need of a good refurbishment. It is expensive for what it provides. Our room, whilst clean, was very old fashioned and cheaply furnished, and looked nothing like the images shown on the hotels web site. Breakfast was really very poor. The one upside were the staff who have been friendly and helpful.
I cannot imagine this hotel receives repeat visits!
We will not be returning!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank markygee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2015

This review is disheartening with the guests not expressing the level of dissatisfaction on check out that is now apparent. While they elected not to take breakfast for today, no reason was given but they did ask if the cost could be offset against their parking - clearly this would not be an option for any hotel and perhaps this left something of a sour taste

nonetheless we are sorry their stay did not hit all the right notes

The Courtlands strives to offer some different and given its age and rich heritage will not confirm to the shape and form of a homogeneous, purpose built hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews