We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Jurys Inn Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel du Vin(Brighton)
US$282
US$246
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$245
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Atlantic Hotel(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Pelirocco(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$169
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$157
US$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Alston House(Brighton)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Baggies Backpackers Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$51
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,705)
Filter reviews
2,705 results
Traveller rating
734
1,013
594
224
140
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
734
1,013
594
224
140
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewsea frontceiling fanlovely hotelcar parkbox of chocolatesnoisy at nightearly hoursstreet noisesuperior roomshort breakpublic areasthird floorbrighton seafrontone night staylovely roomgood nights sleep
Filter
Updating list...
969 - 974 of 2,705 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We decided to book a hotel last minute (the day before) so we did pay a bit of a premium for this but never the less we got a sea view room. Which was nice. But we didn't want to stay in the room much as it was very hot. They did provide a fan which was good.

It has a great location. Which was the main reason for us staying there.

I've put it down a star as it doesn't have free parking so we had to pay near on £30 for the night. And also it didn't include breakfast.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Laceyp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Dear Laceyp123

Thank you for your review.

Being in the city centre all parking is chargeable but next time you stay book a rate that is breakfast inclusive as we always have those available.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

The hotel occupies a prime location, ideal for whatever reason you may be visiting Brighton. The front of house staff, entrance and check-in areas are very nice. The hotel is tastefully modern and the reception staff were excellent. It bests most other hotel (and certainly B&B) accommodation in Brighton on these areas alone. However it was downhill from there...

The rooms are pleasant and maintain the pleasing aesthetic of the common areas. I only stayed in a standard room, whilst a little too warm due to the lack of AC, it was well appointed, a good size, and extremely comfortable. The water pressure in the shower was only just sufficient to wash the soap from the skin and not befitting the standard suggested. There was also some old chewing gum which a previous resident had deposited in the soap tray that the housekeeping staff had failed to clean.

The bar area looks out to the seafront, which is lovely in the afternoon and evening of a fine day. The young bar manager informed me if I wished to order food, I should do it urgently as the kitchen was about to close... at which point he and the other member of staff promptly disappeared for 5 minutes! When the barman reappeared, I asked if there was popular or a stand-out meal, only to be informed "I'm a vegetarian". As needlessly unhelpful a remark as that may be, and delivered with the sort of pomposity and a smug, wry grin you might expect of naive, 1st year student; I promptly lost my appetite.

(Nothing against vegetarians, but if you have to validate your life choices by needlessly volunteering them in such a way that is of detriment to the establishment you work for, perhaps a re-evaluation is in order?)

The breakfast is a buffet and - like many other hotels in Brighton - is a weak point. The food seems to be of a good quality, but it is obviously cooked en-mass and left under the heat lamp for much too long. Perhaps they just overestimated the attendance, but this wouldn't be an issue if they cooked less quantity with greater frequency, which would result in hot (rather than lukewarm) food that wasn't dry, or, in the case of the eggs, anaemic and sitting in a pool of cold grease. The juices are from concentrate, the pastries are dry and unappealing. If given the option, save the money and opt out of the breakfast and walk 2 mins to the lanes where there are numerous boutique cafes and coffee houses that offer excellent quality, cooked to order options.

There are a couple of small, antiquated lifts in the hotel, but worth bearing in mind for some that I still had to traverse some stairs in order to get to my room. The corridors are quite tight also so those with accessibility requirements should make them known at point of booking.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms command a premium price, but even the standard rooms are quality
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Dear Keith1664

Many thanks for your review and I will be using your constructive feedback with my team.

Kind regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely character hotel with spacious rooms (family room) with plenty of natural light. Beautiful decor and clean bathrooms. The staff was welcoming and friendly, always greeted us with a smile. The outside seating was nice, enjoyed the sunshine in the morning right after breakfast. Although it was part of the bar we felt comfortable sitting there during the day with our little baby. The chefs have to be complimented for the amazing breakfast!! We really enjoyed the good quality sausages and tastiest hash browns we have ever had! The croissant was also perfect! The reason I have rated 4 and not 5 star is because as we approached our room there were bottles and empty wine glasses left from the night before outside the room area. Also, and I appreciate that it adds character, but the old lift needs to be replaced and more lifts need to be added... Otherwise a great hotel! I'd return!

Forgot to mention, perfect location on the beach front and close to the hustle and bustle of restaurants bars and the lanes.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank binibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Dear binibu

Thank you for your great feedback.

We have got planning permission for a new lift to be installed into a iight well but now it waiting for the right time to install them.

I am sorry you saw empty bottles along the corridor. These are cleared on a daily basis as they are emptied out from departing rooms by housekeeping.

We do hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a two night stay. We were in the deluxe seaview room which was nice and spacious and comfortable. A bit dusty and dog hairs on bed cover but overall an enjoyable stay. Breakfast was very good and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Noisy at night but to be expected on the seafront in summer. Would come back again

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Everella 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Dear Everella2

Thank you so much for your review.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

No qualms with the hotel, the staff were friendly and the room was adequate. Perfectly clean throughout our stay too. The room could do with a refurbishment though. All of the furniture and decor was very dated. Had a brilliant time here and the location is second to none.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Dear Alex C

Thank you so much for your review.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Paul Wright
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews