We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Jurys Inn Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Waynes Place(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$308
US$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Pelirocco(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel du Vin(Brighton)
US$282
US$247
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$344
US$317
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Atlantic Hotel(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$158
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Alston House(Brighton)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (2,706)
Filter reviews
2,706 results
Traveller rating
734
1,013
594
224
141
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
734
1,013
594
224
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewsea frontceiling fanlovely hotelcar parkbox of chocolatesnoisy at nightearly hoursstreet noisesuperior roomshort breakpublic areasthird floorbrighton seafrontone night staylovely roomgood nights sleep
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 2,706 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

This very nice hotel ticked most boxes for me and my colleagues. Nice rooms, comfortable beds, and spacious bathrooms. The breakfast is a delight and very tasty, a full buffet of hot and continental food. The only negative was some noise from the streets but earplugs are provided. The gym could benefit from a pool / spa but hey you cant have everything. There are a lot of passageways and stairs in and throughout the hotel so that could be an issue for those with mobility issues. Otherwise a very nice and clean hotel which has some of the loveliest restaurant staff around.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Watty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Watty G,

Guests with walking disabilities are allocated in a part of building without any stairs, if these rooms were requested.
Being the oldest hotel in Brighton there will be lots of stair cases, which are the most charming part of these old builds.

It was lovely to learn, that you enjoyed the hotel and found it being in the central location for your purpose.

Kind regards, Miriam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Thank you for an absolutely fantastic time, we couldn’t of wished for more. From start to finish everyone was nothing but accommodating and lovely. We were a party of 18 celebrating my sisters hen, so as you can imagine it was pretty manic. There was no issue with putting our table back an hour when half of party were running late (might of had something to do with the sunshine & the hotels brilliant bar and live singer). The ambience and attention to detail in the private dining room was amazing, I couldn’t of wished for more. Thank you for making our weekend so special.. We are hoping to all make this an annual trip so we’ll see you next year x

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank gemmckuur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear gemmckuur.

Thank you for your time to share this great review.
I was pleased to learn, that we could accommodate your request and postpone your celebration dinner for a later time.

It would be wonderful to welcome you back to the hotel once again.

Kind regards, Miriam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

My dad and I stayed here for one night and we booked two double rooms. As he's a wheelchair user, I booked an accessible double room for him and a standard double room for myself. We requested rooms near to each other, which we were given.

The accessible double room was perfect in every way. It was room 204 on the second floor and very close to the lift, which was just what he needed. He loved the walk-in shower and everything else in the room was perfect. It had recently been decorated and was modern and clean.

My room, on the other hand, was slightly disappointing in comparison. The carpet was old and the room was in need of an update. Both rooms had tea and coffee making facilities.

We paid an extra £10 for breakfast the following morning, and we were very pleased with what was on offer. There was plenty of choice, both hot and cold, and the quality of the food was excellent.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel if you're travelling with a disabled person, but remember to book an accessible room.

Room Tip: Room 204 on the second floor is an accessible room with a walk-in shower
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kiplingcollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear kiplingcollector,

Thank you for your time to share this great review.

We hope to welcome you both to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards, Miriam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

The hotel was built in the 1700's and looked a bit like it. But in a good way. It creaked and groaned abit and and looked old in places, but added the overall experience for us. We were thrilled to stay in a hotel with so much history. On the second day, David took us for a tour of the basement and ball room. Magnificent. The hotel was in a good location opposite the sea and pier, around the corner form the Lanes and short walk to the Pavilion. The room was a spacious and the beds comfortable. View was over a lane next door which created some interest.

The service was good providing good advice and nothing was a problem. Breakfast was provided and was very hearty. Also we ate in the dining room one evening and the service and meal were excellent.

There was off-road parking under the hotel for a fee.

A campaign has started. Only 2 hotels.we stayed in all UK had fridges and this one didn't.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view ask for it.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reesy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear reesy60,

Thank you for your time to share this great review.
Fridges come as a part of Deluxe sea view bedrooms. Hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards, Miriam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Arrived in middle of day and queue for parking and while partner parked car I booked in and sat outside being ignored by waiting staff until I asked to be serviced. Nice room and big bed, no view but then we weren't in there long, came back from event wanting a sandwich and were told sorry only on room service and that was £7.50 before we ordered anything.so out we went again to restaurant. In morning my partner went for a smoke and asked for extra milk to be told no , but when he went down again someone else on and they said no problem think this needs sorting
In all though only there one night.so okay

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Jacqueline C,

I am sorry you were disappointed.

Any food or drinks are subject to a tray charge, as per room directory.

UHT milk is complimentary within rooms however sounds like you reached room service which incurs a tray charge if you are wanting room service, or a fresh milk to be delivered to your bedroom.

We hope you would not hesitate and stay with us again, as you found the hotel being close to your conference venue.

Kind regards, Miriam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews