We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New Steine Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$171
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Grand Brighton(Brighton)
US$182
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
A Room With A View(Brighton)
US$181
US$148
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Strawberry Fields(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
YHA Brighton(Brighton)(Great Value!)
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$56/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel du Vin(Brighton)
US$121
US$108
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (687)
Filter reviews
687 results
Traveller rating
272
217
95
49
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
217
95
49
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotel next doorsea viewtop floorsea frontfull englishroom was clean and comfortablefriendly hotelhen partybrighton pierbreakfast was includedfew minutes walkdouble bedtown centrecooked breakfasttea and coffeegulliversseafront
Filter
Updating list...
424 - 429 of 687 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Based on reviews on Trip Advisor we stayed at the New Steine for 3 nights and had a sea view double room. The room was very clean and up-to-date, a bit small but perfectly fine for a young couple. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was locally sourced with many selections. We had 2 very nice steaks cooked to perfection for dinner at the New Steine Bistro. Within a block there were excellent charity shops and restaurants.The Aquarium, Pier and North Laine are all a short walk away. Had a great time, I would recommend the New Steine.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank teamwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I have just returned with my partner from a one night stay in Brighton at the New Steine. We recieved a very friendly welcome and were escorted to our room.
The room we were staying in was a delux double with a sea view. The room was very comfy, a little small but well furnished.
The only complaint about the room was the bathroom which was very small. However, it was very clean and well kept.
The next morning we were late to breakfast (oops) but the manager (?) made sure we still got some a full english with as much as we wanted... nothing was too much trouble!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Staff were excellent, had minor problem with bath, sorted very quickly and very efficiently, staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much bother.

What I would call Real Customer Service.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilfrid s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate that issues can arise during a stay but it appears our service standards were achieved in dealing efficiently with yours, which I am glad of.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We'd stayed at the New Steine 2-3 years ago and always had fond memories of the place. This time we were stuck in room 102 - avoid this room like the plague. Tiny, noisy with the smallest bathroom I think I've ever seen. This was not a bargain break either so I'd sugest you ask when booking whether there is enough room to swing a cat!! The hotel also ran out of hot water on our second morning so not ideal. All in all, not worthy of its self-penned description of elegant and fashionable, and certainly no indication of the "extensive refurbishment" referenced on the hotel web-site. Try elsewhere...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_05111961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Dear Guest,

I am so sorry that on your return visit to our property, that it did not live up to your memories.

As an older Georgian building, all our rooms are of differing sizes and layouts, and as such some bathrooms are smaller than others - unfortunately this is not something we can alter, but we are more than happy to show guests alternative rooms, subject to availability, as we wish to ensure the guest's are as happy as possible during there stay.

With regards the hot water, we did have an issue with our boiler on one side of our property, that unfortunately affected a few rooms. We did get the plumber out as soon as possible, but some rooms were affected in the morning, to which we are sorry. We try our best to pre-empt any problems but this is not always possible - I am sorry if this adversely affected your stay with us.

I do hope I have addressed your issues and we do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Me and my husband booked for one night based on the reviews and also the hotel website. We chose a deluxe room with side see view. We were really shocked on arrival to find a very cramped double room with an extra single bed squeezed in! The shower head held on with tape and half pint beer glasses in place of tumblers in the ensuite! Staff were ok, breakfast service slow and rushed through checkout.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerry78UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear Guest,

I read with dismay your review - as you can see from the majority of our reviews, we pride ourselves on standards and service - it is a shame you have not contacted us directly as we would have liked the opportunity to respond to your issues directly and look into any problems that occurred.

As an older style Georgian Property, all our rooms can differ in size and layout, and I am sorry that the arrangement of the room you had you felt was not as expected. Reception may have been able to show you an alternative room that may have been more suited to your requirements.

As for the maintenance issues, without knowing which room specifically you stayed in it is difficult for me to comment, however I have passed on your comments to our maintenance team, as well as your comments with regards the slow breakfast, to our Management team, to look into so that we can resolve any issues for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews