We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of New Steine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Steine Hotel
Ranked #51 of 95 Brighton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The day before I was due to arrive, I called to ask if I could have a room for that night as well. The same room was not available for the extra night, but the manager could not have been more helpful - not only found me a room but rearranged other bookings so that I only had to move across the corridor for the second night. And they moved my case across for me while I was out for the day. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review - we pride ourselves on the service we provide and I am so glad that we delivered above expectations on this occasion.

We look forward to your return to our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 402 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

Based on reviews on Trip Advisor we stayed at the New Steine for 3 nights and had a sea view double room. The room was very clean and up-to-date, a bit small but perfectly fine for a young couple. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was locally sourced with many selections. We had 2 very nice steaks cooked to perfection for dinner at the New Steine Bistro. Within a block there were excellent charity shops and restaurants.The Aquarium, Pier and North Laine are all a short walk away. Had a great time, I would recommend the New Steine.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank teamwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I have just returned with my partner from a one night stay in Brighton at the New Steine. We recieved a very friendly welcome and were escorted to our room.
The room we were staying in was a delux double with a sea view. The room was very comfy, a little small but well furnished.
The only complaint about the room was the bathroom which was very small. However, it was very clean and well kept.
The next morning we were late to breakfast (oops) but the manager (?) made sure we still got some a full english with as much as we wanted... nothing was too much trouble!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Staff were excellent, had minor problem with bath, sorted very quickly and very efficiently, staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much bother.

What I would call Real Customer Service.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilfrid s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate that issues can arise during a stay but it appears our service standards were achieved in dealing efficiently with yours, which I am glad of.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We'd stayed at the New Steine 2-3 years ago and always had fond memories of the place. This time we were stuck in room 102 - avoid this room like the plague. Tiny, noisy with the smallest bathroom I think I've ever seen. This was not a bargain break either so I'd sugest you ask when booking whether there is enough room to swing a cat!! The hotel also ran out of hot water on our second morning so not ideal. All in all, not worthy of its self-penned description of elegant and fashionable, and certainly no indication of the "extensive refurbishment" referenced on the hotel web-site. Try elsewhere...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_05111961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Dear Guest,

I am so sorry that on your return visit to our property, that it did not live up to your memories.

As an older Georgian building, all our rooms are of differing sizes and layouts, and as such some bathrooms are smaller than others - unfortunately this is not something we can alter, but we are more than happy to show guests alternative rooms, subject to availability, as we wish to ensure the guest's are as happy as possible during there stay.

With regards the hot water, we did have an issue with our boiler on one side of our property, that unfortunately affected a few rooms. We did get the plumber out as soon as possible, but some rooms were affected in the morning, to which we are sorry. We try our best to pre-empt any problems but this is not always possible - I am sorry if this adversely affected your stay with us.

I do hope I have addressed your issues and we do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brighton hotels
1.1 km away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
0.1 km away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#6 of 43 in Brighton
846 reviews
1.4 km away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Gullivers Hotel
Gullivers Hotel
#76 of 95 in Brighton
295 reviews
0.2 km away
Sea Breeze Brighton
Sea Breeze Brighton
#36 of 95 in Brighton
520 reviews
0.0 km away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 95 in Brighton
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Steine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Steine Hotel

Address: 10-11 New Steine | Kemp Town, East Sussex, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range: $88 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Steine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Steine Hotel is an elegant and fashionable five-storey Georgian Townhouse in central Brighton. With a modern design of hotel that exudes warmth and style, a cheap boutique hotel right in the heart of Brighton city centre, with a hint of French influence, the New Steine Hotel offers exceptional value and cheap rates comparable to most hotels but retains the same level of service as any more expensive hotel in Brighton. New Steine Hotel's facilities and budget are suited to both business travelers and tourists alike who want a hotel in Brighton at the right price.New Steine Hotel is a boutique hotel right in the cultural centre of Brighton. Within a short walk of the hotel are the Royal Pavilion, the Brighton Museum and of course, Brighton Pier and Beach. We would class ourselves as a boutique hotel. Why boutique? Well, we are a small hotel with a difference, offering a personal service at reasonable prices. Contemporary, with lasting appeal, a statement in design that exudes warmth and style, delicious French food, wines and drinks, impeccable service 24 hours a day and original art all around you - The New Steine Hotel is all these things, and more.From the moment you walk through the door to our boutique hotel you are pampered and welcomed. Upon check-in your assistant walks you to your room and explains all the facilities your room has to offer. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. A personalised concierge service is at the guests' disposal 24 hours a day for all requirements and needs and each of the bedrooms has been designed to incorporate comfort with modern needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your New Steine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing