We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New Steine Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Elysian Hotel(Brighton)
View Hotel
Maison Ville(Brighton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kempton House(Brighton)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
A Room With A View(Brighton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legends Hotel(Brighton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Lincar Hotels(Brighton)
View Hotel
Blanch House(Brighton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (687)
Filter reviews
687 results
Traveller rating
272
217
95
49
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
217
95
49
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotel next doorsea viewtop floorsea frontfull englishroom was clean and comfortablefriendly hotelhen partybrighton pierbreakfast was includedfew minutes walkdouble bedtown centrecooked breakfasttea and coffeegulliversseafront
Filter
Updating list...
333 - 338 of 687 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This was our 2nd stay at the New Stein. It was as good as last time. In particular the staff are welcoming and efficient and the restaurant is outstanding. The room was clean and well equipped. Our dinner, bed and breakfast package was very well priced for our valentines night stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your valentine's evening with us.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

There are so many hotels and B&B's in Brighton its hard to know where to start but the New Steine, alomost on the sea fron, is fantastic. I highly recommend it.

The New Steine is very easy to find. Its a stone's throw from the big wheel on the sea front which means its close to the pier, a very short walk to the shops and Pavillion with sea views and a lovely green space outside the hotel entrance.

Breakfast was included with my room and there was a lot of choice - continental, full english and a hot vegetarian option that actually included more individual items than the full english. Toast, tea and coffee was unlimited and alcohol (to be expected) was considerably more expensive than surrounding bars.

I found the hotel was quiet, rooms very well maintained and the service was excellent. Staff were always available and very happy to help. The hotel was really bright and modern. I had a family room and although the bathroom was too small for a family we coped quite well. Bathrooms in London hotels tend to be small and it was worth it for the great location.

Be aware that there is one room adjacent to the shared toilet on the first floor that you probably want to swap if allocated.

Parking in Brighton is tricky. Especially at weekends. There is on street parking on the road that the New Steine is located on but spaces are usually taken and the price is VERY expensive. My advice is to park and collect a parking permit from the hotel reception. The price is £15 for 24h and works out much cheaper than the £7.50 p/h you have to pay on the street opposite. You get a map showing the two, long, double sided roads the permit is available on and both are a very short walk from the hotel.

I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try not to get allocated the room adjacent to the 1st floor toilet and remember to buy a parking permit from reception!!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for so much for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with, especially the breakfast which we pride ourselves on.

I do hope you choose to come and stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Discovered the New Steine hotel in 2012 when we looking to stay somewhere central in Brighton but also affordable. The deal we got back then, and again this February is fantastic value for money (£114 for room, breakfast and a 3 course dinner!).
Staff are very friendly, rooms are great, and both times we have stayed have been great experiences. We're looking forward to staying again next year, and would recommend the hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olddogrolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your reveiw and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are considering a return to us at some point this year.

We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I stayed in the New Steine Hotel the week end of 26th & 27th January, 2013 in a Single on a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast week end rate. Excellent value for money. A nice welcome upon arrival and the room was adequet for my needs. Shower and wash basin and toiletries. Coffee and tea making and a flat screen TV. Small bottle of water on writing table. The Restaurant Dinner and breakfast was made with fresh local products. Service as good. All the staff was friendly and was happy to assist to make my visit most enjoyable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do hope you return to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We first came across the New Steine last October when we used some Dining Experience vouchers we had been given as a gift. We had a 5 course tasting menu which was delicious. Our waiter, Stefan, turned out to be one of the owners - it is run by a Parisian family - and was a little star. After dinner we had drinks at the bar and booked a short break for January as we had booked to see a show.

We stayed in a nice little sea view room on the 2nd floor. Spotless and well equipped, if a little small. Bathroom was spacious though and the shower was hot and powerful.

Breakfast the next day was yummy, all sourced locally - the sausages are scrumptious! The dining room can get very busy though it is quite small and used by customers staying at their sister hotel - Gullivers - next door. So try an get down there at a reasonable time.

Recommened.

Room Tip: Sea view, 2nd floor or above.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelpie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulliversNS, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope we get to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews